Superman Track

Hyun

I cannot understand why the superman track should contain a bird flapping...let's hear it on Tues to determine what it really be...

If the lower freq is indeed from within the orchestra's concert hall, the effect that was discussed should have come from the front stage instead as all instruments in the orchestra are lined-up at the stage. This is the case for the organ as well. One other good track from Telarc is the Opera of the Phantom theme, anyone interested I can bring on the meetup for you to experience the WOW effect from the organ...astonishing...wink.gif

hmm.....interesting [inlove] whats the title of the Telarc cd you mention? Opera of the Phantom or ???

Oops...should have been "Phantom of the Opera", its called "The Very Best of Erich Kunzel", got it in Hong Kong...not too sure if avail in S'pore.

1. Sounds of the West 2. Strauss: Introduction to Also Sprach Zarathustra / Goldsmith: Main Theme from Star Trek (The Motion Picture) 3. Prima (arr. Newsom): Sing, Sing, Sing http://telmedia.telarc.com:8080/ramgen/tel...01/80401-3-m.rm 4. Steiner: Tara's Theme from Gone With the Wind 5. North (arr. Russ): Unchained Melody 6. Puccini: "Nessun dorma!" from Turandot 7. Bach / Stokowski: Little Fugue in G minor 8. Proto: Introduction / Williams: Main Title from Star Wars 9. Elfman Batman Theme from Batman 10. Grofe: Grand Canyon Suite: Cloudburst http://telmedia.telarc.com:8080/ramgen/tel...1/80401-10-m.rm 11. Barry (arr. Raine)"": From Russia with Love 12. Williams: Olympic Fanfare http://telmedia.telarc.com:8080/ramgen/tel...1/80401-12-m.rm 13. Opening Sequence from Chiller / Lloyd Webber: Overture to The Phantom of the Opera http://telmedia.telarc.com:8080/ramgen/tel...1/80401-13-m.rm 14. Rota (arr. McGurty): Theme from The Godfather 15. Mancini: Theme from The Pink Panther http://telmedia.telarc.com:8080/ramgen/tel...1/80401-15-m.rm 16. Puccini (arr. Bernsein, Kunzel, Beck): O mio babbino caro from Gianni Schicchi http://telmedia.telarc.com:8080/ramgen/tel...1/80401-16-m.rm 17. Strauss: Non-Stop Fast Polka, Op. 112 18. Traditional (arr. Krogstad): Honor, Honor / Do Lord http://telmedia.telarc.com:8080/ramgen/tel...1/80401-18-m.rm 19. Cybergenesis (arr. Bishop, Burgess, Letizia) / Fiedel: Terminator Theme 20. Jurassic Lunch

post-4-1153640708.jpg

This is the CD to the track, its on the first track: Superman...up up on the way...

1. Williams: Superman: The Planet Krypton 2. Silvestri: Back to the Future 3. Warp Drive 4. Goldsmith: Star Trek I: The Klingon Battle 5. Horner: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Main Title 6. Horner: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan 7. Humpback Whale Song 8. Rosenman: Star Trek IV, The Voyage Home: Main Title 9. Williams: Music from Space Camp 10. Horner: Theme from Cocoon 11. Mancini: Theme from Lifeforce 12. Williams: Return of the Jedi: Parade of the Ewoks 13. Dorsey: Dimensions 14. Conti: Music from The Right Stuff

post-4-1153641012.jpg

joking lah, not really like bird flapping. though on a non-premium sub, it might seem a bit like flapping cos the quality cant be compared with a good sub with nice control.

i din know pipe organ got pedal for 18 hz one. one pedal for each note on that subsonic octave? amazing ...

oh ya some of these CDs, if it's stated DTS Audio that means can't play on our ordinary CD player?

Edited by Hyun

The effective frequency range of the organ is from 20Hz to 7K Hz whilst piano is from 28Hz to 4.1K Hz...could it be the resonance or side effects of reverberation that produce beyond 20Hz???

Bro, if i may say so, i think you are getting too caught up with the technicalities liao. Just try to enjoy the music as a whole without dissecting it into Hz or farads [sweatdrop] . I'm sure you'll find it more enjoyable that way. My $0.02.

>>Bro, if i may say so, i think you are getting too caught up with the technicalities liao. Just try to enjoy the music as a whole without dissecting it into Hz or farads . I'm sure you'll find it more enjoyable that way. My $0.02. >>

WoW! bro, I like your this sentences! [thumbsup]

Hi Bro Hyun,

IASCA Track 6: Superman: The Planet Krypton (Telearc CD #80146 - 1987)

Instrument used is the Baldwin Multi- Waveform Organ

According to the IASCA booklet page 4, I believe it is the low freq pedal note that is blasting, away down to 18 Hz.

The ending crescendo ends with a short piece of low freq combination of tympani, string bass and organ that bro wahliao said like a runaway train!.

Hello brother,

Any idea where i can purchase this CD?

Hi Bro,

You can buy the IASCA CD from Wee Heng Auto Air-Con & Accessories @ 460/462 Upper Serangoon Road (Bartley Underpass / Braddel Road)

Contact No: 6281-6739 Ask for Mr. S.H. Kwek (or Ah Heng). The IASCA 2005 SQ CD selling @$50/ea and The rule book (photocopy) selling @$10/ea

we were talking about the track which was compiled into the IASCA CD (2004 and 2005 have the track). but as u quoted, the track came from IASCA Track 6: Superman: The Planet Krypton (Telarc CD #80146 - 1987) .. that Telarc CD code. so if u want the actual album u can hunt for it in all major department stores near you. if dun have ask them order lor.

Thanks! Always wanted to get a good superman track.

I bought a compilation CD of movie tracks a year away because there is Superman Track on the list but the whole CD sounds like sxxt!

Hi Bro,

Bro Sarong1 bought this StarTrek2 movie tracks CD and are you having this one? Tracks are listed below:

1. Williams: Superman: The Planet Krypton 2. Silvestri: Back to the Future 3. Warp Drive 4. Goldsmith: Star Trek I: The Klingon Battle 5. Horner: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Main Title 6. Horner: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan 7. Humpback Whale Song 8. Rosenman: Star Trek IV, The Voyage Home: Main Title 9. Williams: Music from Space Camp 10. Horner: Theme from Cocoon 11. Mancini: Theme from Lifeforce 12. Williams: Return of the Jedi: Parade of the Ewoks 13. Dorsey: Dimensions 14. Conti: Music from The Right Stuff

I think this CD was from TelArc.

Edited by Bobcatsysop