Family monthly incoming $4k to $5k, what car is comfortable?

Quantum

like this siao liao lah.... no need to save meh? [laugh]

next time need money then KPKB?

tertiary education is not cheap leh! [laugh] 2 children some more...

they dun need to go back to china to visit relatives meh? go back can just go back $$$ strapped meh? [laugh]

$4-5k... i think the best is to get a [thumbsup]

Edited by Weixiang_06

ask him buy lorry

engine capacity bigger, more power also, seats >10pax also

===========================

[smash][smash][smash][smash][smash][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Later when nobody watching, can go pasir panjang buy vegetables in bulk.

4-5K afford wife/kids/maid/house ?? still wan civic??? out of mind...

ur frenz also has to consider petrol/milk powders/utilities etc ...

Edited by Kanchelsk

Hee..hee.. Don't forget $4-5K is their official source of income.

They may have other sources of income which you don't know...

Take home $4K to $5K or Gross $4K to $5K? If they have loaded parents, then ok. In my company computer data centre, there is a computer operator, believe his salary only at most $3K gross, bought a Civic FD 1.8. I was pretty shocked [hur]. In the end, heard that his dad sold away land for $6 million and give $1million to each child. For your friend, 2 kids + maid [sweatdrop] ....Maybe a Getz/Verna is good enough, if got free money drop from the sky, then consider Civic FD....

Edited by Amazon777

I have a China friend just got class 3 Licence and his wife got class 3A licence too, he plan to buy a car, wanted me to recommend suitable Japan family Car, I propose Latio but he prefer Civic FD, IMO based on his monthly family incoming $4k+, and family members, it is quite tight to afford Civic FD [sweatdrop] , family member: my friend couple + 2 school age kids + Phili maid, and 5R HDB flat.

How your thinking [confused]

If he can tahan using the car for 10 years -

Annual expenditure

Depreciation $5000

Road tax $950.

Insurance $1500 (no ncb 1st yr)

HDB parking $1080.

Car maintenance $900 (assume no repair & change of major parts/accident)

Petrol $2800 (assume travelled 20k per yr)

Hourly parking/erp etc $120

Fine?

Accident?

Change tyres/battery/brake pads etc.

Etc Etc Etc

Just the above is more $1000 per month or 20% to 25% of his family income.

Then, his maid takes away $600 per month. How much is left for Tsingtao?

He will be slave to his car. He will lose more if he decides not to use car till end of 10 yrs.

wats more there are so many civic FDs on the road now. With so many ordering, 6 mths time its gonna be like toyota corolla common...

Salary - $4500 (approx)

Housing - $500

Own exp - $500

Food - $800

School - $200 (assume lower primary)

Maid - $300

Car - $2000 (assume 0% NCB, petrol, taxes etc per month)

Balance - $200

His annual savings would be $2400. Minus income tax etc, he wouldn't have much left, not to mention saving for his kids.

If this is not tight, I don't what is!

Advise him to live within his means. Money in the bank is better than face value.

Just my dua puluh sen worth. [;)]

Yes, but maid levy is deducted from the bank... kua boh one.

But it's a valid point... cos that'll wipe out his whatever $200 that's left... still got to toh-tiap every month.

So I'd say with his income level, the new Honda Civic is out of the question.

Thanks for pointing that out.[;)][scholar]

Hee..hee.. Don't forget $4-5K is their official source of income.

They may have other sources of income which you don't know...

========================

Ya lor. Maybe they make fishballs & sell to N*UC on contract.

It seems that they have adapted completely into our society.

Welcome to Singapore and live the Singapore way! Not enough $$ can always sign credit card.

I would say Matrix would be a good car for their needs.

It takes just a moment to sign on the dotted line and ten years down the road to reflect on that moment.

Edited by Perrier

Though it is generally accepted in the society, the notion of no-money-got-card is pretty scary [:p]

Yeah, a comparatively affordable Matrix or even a smaller car would do just as good!