Intelligent versus Standard Keys

Nothingtodo

Got interested in Latio due to its intelligent key that sense the driver presence. However, feels unsafe whether such sensing devices will breakdown or give problem in the long run or not. If suddenly goes konk... cannot work..... need to replace expensive or not?

Any bro/sis here can give info on such intelligent keys lifespan and breakdown possibility?

its $199 for fabricating a spare key for latio. So far no issues of keys not working yet, only few cases of the receiver unable to detect the keys but usually recitified after a visit to TCM.

[;)]

the receiver comes with a built in "standard" keys.....

only problem I face....after using an iKey..

Whenever I drive my boss Bora.... I always neither have the habit to take out the key to unlock the car nor insert the key into the ignition. [laugh][laugh]

the average lifespan of the battery depending on use is estimtated at 2 to three years for most advanced/intelligent tranducer keys - keyless/Go.

if helps of course if you take care of it as dropping it often can damage the electronics inside. most incoporate a normal key inside. [sly]

most of the time the danger is that the lithium battery in the key runs out. most cars have a contingency plan to help you get into the car and start it should this happen. at least mine does. [:p]

but it really tons more expensive should you lose the key ! never lose the key.

the cost of reprogramming the intelligent lock to prevent the person who stole your key from driving off your ride will be terrible. not to mention the cost of a replacement key ( usually they give u two keys from the start )

my fren had her key stolen and she puts a steering wheel lock now whenever she parks her car. she's paranoid that the person will look for her car and drive off.

Wat car u driving? TCM SE says Latio comes with only 1 intelligent key + 2 standard. That means if I am not in town but holding the ikey, my wife will hv to open using std key. Will the alarm go off without the ikey or not?

"my fren had her key stolen and she puts a steering wheel lock now whenever she parks her car. she's paranoid that the person will look for her car and drive off. "

In this case she cannot buy second hand cars, and some second hand car buyers must also be careful, else the original owner will drive off the car if he saw it accidently?

The latio intelligent key is really a must have gadget. If you are carrying baby or many parcels, pressing a small button on the door handle is very convenient compared to holding your key and press the unlock/lock buttons.

In the Lexus version you don't even have to press any buttons. The door unlocks and locks itself. But you still have to pull the handle to open the door lah!!

When will china cars incorporate this features?

If the thief is so lucky to exploit this opportunity, even accelerating off, the engine would shut down automatically after a short distance if it doesn't sense the I-key.

As long as the key is not in the car, owner is safe.

"....In the Lexus version you don't even have to press any buttons. The door unlocks and locks itself. But you still have to pull the handle to open the door lah!!..."

Anyone knows if Mercedes' or BMW's version of the keyless entry are the same as the Lexus or more like the Nissan in which one has to press the small button on the door handle?

Thanks in advance.

No No...the engine will NEVER shut down itself if the key is not sensed!

For safety reasons, this function can never be implemented!!

For Nissan, there are four receiving sensor for the i-key.

1)passenger door,

2)driver door,

3)rear boot door,

4)gear shift area.

The three door receiving sensor will allow the doors to be locked/unlock when the key is nearby.

The sensor at the gear shift area is the main sensor that will permit the car to start the engine. Only this sensor will give the permission to the computer to allow enginer start.

Once you start the engine, the engine will run no matter where the i-key is located. You can shut off the engine without the i-key being in the car.

Ok...in a theft case, if your engine is running and the thief somehow make off the car without the i-key, then the car will still be driven away, if the thief stop the engine. He can always make a master key to start the engine manually using keys. Or he just damage your ignition key hole and use a scredriver to start the car!

So you see, the i-key for nissan or renault is mainly for convenience! There is zero security at all!

In the lexus/bmw/mercs/camry case there is no key hole only a push button. Those are more secure type. Since there is no way the thief can fool the computer easily to start the engine.

Edited by Kiss29

ey helo, so who is right?

But I was told and read in the brochure abt this anti-thief feature of auto engine stall.

wah lau, if Kiss29 is right, then really this security got loophole leh??? [:/]

Think this wkend will go testout this feature....

Just curious, wat happens if in JB, U behind car boot talking or taking things, can someone come and press button and go into your car huh? can happen?

he can go in.... but he cant start the car.....

the key has to be inside the car