Advisable to get the New Toyota Shield (Extended Warranty)??

Weixiang_06

Hi all,

I have just received a letter from Borneo Motors that I am eligible for the new Toyota Shield Programme which is basically an extension of warranty for Toyota Cars.

The original manufacturer's warranty is only for 3 yrs / 100,000km whichever comes first. Toyota Shield extends it to 5 yrs / 140,000km.

For me, i am a normal driver with annual milage of 20,000km. The extended warranty is fully transferable within the warranty period..

The extend of the cover is

The Extent of Cover

Essentially, coverage includes:

1) Engine - Mechanical

2) Engine - Fuel Supply System

3) Engine - Cooling System

4) Engine - Exhaust and Emission Control System

(due to premature failure)

5) Engine - Electrical and Electronic

6) Transmission

7) Front-wheel Drive

8) Rear-wheel Drive

9) Steering - Mechanical

10) Steering - Hydraulic

11) Steering - Electrical and Electronic

12) Front & Rear Suspension

13) Brakes - Mechanical

14) Brakes - Hydraulic

15) Brakes - ABS

16) Factory Air Conditioning

17) Factory Audio System

18) Electrical

19) Safety Items

20) Towing Charges (due to breakdown)

And the best deal is the cost of getting this extended warranty is $600

However, as i read further the terms and conditions as stated in the contract. They have added new conditions.. The original Toyota Manufacturer's warranty do not explicity state that you have to maintain, service, repair ur toyota with Borneo Motors. In the new toyota shield, this clause is added.. else warranty will be rejected.. and they are very strict about the servicing period.. the 10,0000km / 6 months whichever is earlier thing..

Brothers, if you were me. would you take up this offer? I intend to drive this ride for another 4-5 yrs.. Ride is > 1 yr old..

Understand that servicing at Borneo Motors is [knife] , and replacements of consumables and etc is even more [knife] at Borneo Motors..

At first glance, the offer looks enticing, but if you study the fine details.. Its apparently not so. So should I or should I not take the bite? [hur]

Edited by Weixiang_06

I won't take up the offer. Cause must go and let them service, basically at their mercy. Still have to pay $600 somemore. If go for the extended thingy, at least must pay $4-5k more. This sum of $$$ enough to cover for any major repairs(if it remotely happens) already.

i think so too.. was like wah.. so good $600 can go back claim this and claim that.. then read fine print.. die die must service, maintain, repair at BM, and follow the 10,000km/6month thing.. if u service say 7month or 11k.. your warranty void [mad]

the old warranty terms and conditions are fair.. and i claimed a number of things le.. this new one is [thumbsdown] dun think i will be going for it...

any toyota owners feel free to comment, even non toyota owners, u are welcome too [:)]

why did you buy a Toyota in the first place?

reliability right? yes, small stuff like trim and interior bits are only so-so quality, but the expensive parts like engine, transmission and so on are almost bullet proof.

don't waste money on the extended warranty lah, you can save money by going to outside workshops, and run the very very small risk of forking out money for expensive repairs...

i'm very certain that even if repairs are due within the 5 years, it won't come up to the additional cost put up for the ext warranty and servicing at BM.

some more, you may change car before the 5th year also!

Edited by Nine_eleven

Warrenty means only repair if those listed items are somehow broken at its own free will.

Seriously....how often does those things gets broken? Its like buying insurance, but you hope you will not die.

So does it mean that after paying $600, one can rev the engine like no tomorrow, and claim for a new piston/engine block for free? I think only the engine warrenty is well worth the entended package. So this deal is 'worth' for those who like to rev their car and drive agressively type.

For the other minor parts.....The labour charges at BM alone to replace those items may cost a bomb, compared to if you do it outside with parallel stockist item + cheaper labour.

The new additions to the terms and conditions include the following..

No repairs under this TSS Agreement will be considered unless during the period of both Manfacturer's Factory Warranty and the Extended Warranty Service Agreement cover, the vehicle has been serviced, maintained and repaired in accordance with the manfacturer;s recommendations by Borneo Motors (S) Pte Ltd. A maximum of 500km either side of the service mileage limits or 21 days either side of the service period (whichever is the sooner) is permitted. You must keep receipts and work orders indicating the date, mileage and service performaed. Failure to perfor the required maintanence will result in denial of coverage

The original 3 yrs manufacturer's warranty does not require to service at BM.. Now its explicity stated that you must service at BM if you take up this new programme and warranty shiled [thumbsdown] Like not very worth it..

Imagine you change brake pads and service is like [knife] at BM

The toyota shiled is applicable only to vehicles less than 33 months old or mileage below 60,000km whichever comes first at point of purchase. For vehicles 30-33 months old from date of registration, a pre-requisit check is required to determine the eligibility of the vhiecle of Toyota Shield.

Its also included in the new toyota cars now

My vios less then 1 year le.. =x mileage sure below 60000km

hahah maybe i go open my mail box today hahahah

Thanx

i thnk that its worth it la

but u die die must service with them leh.. u change anything also must service with them.. worth it meh?

like people change a pair of Toyota OEM front brake pads costs $75-80, with labour charges, you change at BM it will cost you $261..

See the difference in pricing? Not forget things like other consumables leh [mad]

its given free for new car owners.. mine is more than 1 yr old..

but think i prefer the old warranty... can service outside and still go back BM to claim.. this new one.. die die must service with BM, else warranty void.. just like KM and C&C [thumbsdown]

Ya.. somemore need to wait quite long. alot people servicing =x

hahahha but hor got free milo drink hahaha