Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint Speciale

Jgoh

Calling all Alfa Romeo affecionados/fans/owners! Any stories to tell about this model???

post-3-1053290179_thumb.jpg

post-3-1053290180_thumb.jpg

post-3-1053290181_thumb.jpg

"Any stories to tell about this model???"

Hi! there, JGoh,

This is not a Giulia.

It's a Giulietta Sprint Special by Bertone, introduced in 1957. It started out as a project to compete in the sprint races. But it didn't work out, as the car was too heavy, even with the aluminium prototypes.

To run it against the unofficial Zagato versions, which were "beating the pants off the factory's lightweight Sprint Veloces".

Here's the specs for the 1956 SV lightweight

1956 Sprint Veloce Lightweight, with alloy panels and sliding windows. The doors weigh 7 pounds(3.2kgs). the 1300cc 750 series veloce engine developes 131 hp at 8300 rpm and it will pull 7000rpm in top gear. That pushes this 1600 pound car right along.

To get this horsepower at 8300 RPM is what allows that 1300 cc car to pull a genuine 7000 rpm in fifth gear at over 140mph(225 km/h). That's not a common feat in a 1300cc coupe.

The styling was considered very wild at that time for a luxury 2-seater tourer.

I don't have my Alfa Romeo Bible with me at the moment, so the above was taken off the Pat Braden Alfa Romeo History site.

Pat Braden's written a few books on Alfa Romeo, and the Alfa Romeo Bible is a must have for Alfa drivers. Sadly, he passed away in August 2002.

Rgds

Paul Yong

wow 8300 rpm using 50's technology, that's amazing. even more amazing, 131 hp for a 1.3l. why dont they make cars like that any more. bet the engine must be very rough? anyone riden on one of these babies before?

"Alfa Romeo Master of MCF have spoken"

Hi! there, Vtim,

Come and I'll let you see the light that's dimmed on you. [sunny]

Firstly, get down on your knees when I approached. [sly][laugh][laugh]

Rgds

Paul Yong

"walking Alfa Romeo Bible..."

Hi! there, Saaber,

I can't accept such an accolade, even if I'm very sure that I'll recognize an Alfa model if I see one. [shakehead][shakehead]

Unlike Pat Braden, I don't keep, maintain or race any Alfa cars. Which makes my copy of the Alfa Bible a treasured item from such a great Alfista, and it's saddened many in the world of Alfistas. RIP [bigcry][bigcry]

Rgds

Paul Yong

"you can be AR SE"

Hi! there, S2P2,

I don't think the Alfa agent in any part of our world will employ an SE, who'd take 1 of their new cars for a test-drive with a new potential customer, then come back 1 week later, after supper in Ipoh for hor-fun. [laugh][laugh]

Rgds

Paul Yong

"anyone riden on one of these babies before?"

Hi! there, Waipor,

You want a ride? My car's using the same 750 series engine as the cars of the 1950s. It's also one of the smoothest engine around, as it has 5 main bearings. So, basically what the car in 1950s has, mine too. That's why there's not a problem with parts for an Alfa Romeo.

Rgds

Paul Yong

"phang chance leh!"

Hi! there, Vtim,

Okay lah.

You don't have to stop your car by the roadside, get out to kneel, until I pass by. [nod][laugh][laugh]

Rgds

Paul Yong

wow 8300 rpm using 50's technology, that's amazing. even more amazing, 131 hp for a 1.3l. why dont they make cars like that any more. bet the engine must be very rough? anyone riden on one of these babies before?

never had chance to ride in the 1950s alfa cars, but driven those 1300cc and 1600cc '60-70s alfa GTVs, no problem revving smoothly all the way to 7-8k rpm, those cars got no rev limiter ...

"you can be AR SE"

when you left this as reply, i somehow caught a view of how AR SE put together means..laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

"walking Alfa Romeo Bible..."

Hi! there, Saaber,

I can't accept such an accolade, even if I'm very sure that I'll recognize an Alfa model if I see one. shakehead.gifshakehead.gif

Unlike Pat Braden, I don't keep, maintain or race any Alfa cars. Which makes my copy of the Alfa Bible a treasured item from such a great Alfista, and it's saddened many in the world of Alfistas. RIP bigcry.gifbigcry.gif

Rgds

Paul Yong

No lah, you really deserve it..thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif...and BTW, don't forget to buy me a drink on Friday meetup hor...laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif