New 1.6 Japan or used Korea(Sonata, 1-2 years old)

Wadexu

New 1.6 Japan or used Korea(Sonata, 1-2 years old)  

30 members have voted

1. 1.

• Used Korea
    • New 1.6 Japan

I know it may not be fair to compare. but since it follows in the similar price tag(yearly depreciation around 5K-5.5K). Seek your advice on which one is more value for money.

Initially intended to buy a new 1.6 Japan car(Latio/Altis), browsed the sgcarmart and found some 2nd sonata's price is quite reasonable such as:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2EMKbH4-1000.html

Know the road tax is 1K/year higher for Sonata. Fuel will be higher around 1.2K/year for Sonata.

Will the insurance be much higher(male, 35-40 years old)? Any other disadvantage to get the bigger car(this case, sonata)? Thanks.

Depends on your needs. This comparison is not logical...

I will get a new 1.6 instead of a old 2.0 just basing on road tax alone.

If you are comparing a new 2.0 and a old 2.0, then I will go for the old 2.0.

i sat in my friends 10mths old Latio the other day back seat feels abt the same size (im very big size) [:p]

As for boot space smaller the my magentis 2005

And im paying abt $800+ for insurance (60% NCD),$700+ road tax (male, 35-40 years old)

Sonata/Magentis : good mid size car , 2L vs 1.6L , bigger boot

Hope this helps [:)]

Edited by Tukibird

me would prefer a sonata...

too many latio and altis to go round le...

carparks filled with these 2 makes...

while sonata is diff...less pple drive...

as for road tax and insurance..its a yearly issue..so um..

juz do ur maths rite..and i think that wont be a prob

I know it may not be fair to compare. but since it follows in the similar price tag(yearly depreciation around 5K-5.5K). Seek your advice on which one is more value for money.

Initially intended to buy a new 1.6 Japan car(Latio/Altis), browsed the sgcarmart and found some 2nd sonata's price is quite reasonable such as:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2EMKbH4-1000.html

Know the road tax is 1K/year higher for Sonata. Fuel will be higher around 1.2K/year for Sonata.

Will the insurance be much higher(male, 35-40 years old)? Any other disadvantage to get the bigger car(this case, sonata)? Thanks.

1.6L japanese? in Singapore it's very limited market, now 1.6L japanese in market only altis, mazda3, suzuk(??) and outdated sunny/lancer [thumbsdown]

if extend to 1.5L, you will have a big view [thumbsup]

old Sonata? road tax, FC, maintenance cost...etc, if your pocket deep enough, don't mind to enjoy the 0.5L power lah [;)]

yupz...many Sonata taxis around..

but um..muz be a reason to it as well..

dun see taxi companies using new models of japs (except for PI taxi operator)...

muz be some reason behind it..do u not agree with me sly.gif

2.4L mah...wad u expect...sly.gif

but ok lah..u get a mid-size sedan..not sure whether can use luxury or not ..

but it sure looks luxurious to me lor...and its still cheaper then a camry...

as for diesel..taxi companies oso lugi mah...

pay high road tax ..so um..actualli comes back to the same thing lor tongue.gif

i sat in my friends 10mths old Latio the other day back seat feels abt the same size (im very big size) [:p]

And im paying abt $800+ for insurance (60% NCD),$700+ road tax (male, 35-40 years old)

got 60% NCD meh? i tot the most is 55%?

Me, family need. The logic of comparison is forking out the same amount money...

then a new car is always better than old car isn't it? [;)]

If you are just looking at 1.6 then might as well look for cheaper alternatives. Money saved from car can be spent on family.

Just my opinion.

I agree with slowmo.

And yea, 1.6 is quite limited..

For 1.5 new : can consider Axio 1.5, 1.5G, 1.8, Allion 1.5, Belta, Fielder, Auris..........

I seriously do not think its an good idea to get korean cars because of their old resale value.. Get a japanese and esp a new one would help u and make u 3 years trouble free.

yupz...many Sonata taxis around..

but um..muz be a reason to it as well..

dun see taxi companies using new models of japs (except for PI taxi operator)...

muz be some reason behind it..do u not agree with me sly.gif

cos Jsp has not come out with the Euro IV emission for dissel in 2006. [:)]

got 60% NCD meh? i tot the most is 55%?

Thats what on my renewal form lei (50% NCD) +(5% Loyalty Discount) +(5% Other Discount)=60% NTUC

Edited by Tukibird