Pet Dog Licencsing .... Have you done it ?

Mica_blue

Hi ppl

How many of you , dog owners have sent your dogs for licencsing with AVA? I read on the paper today , not many are doing it because of the fees ($70) involved [sweatdrop] , or fear of being slapped with a heavy fine ($5000) [:/] , if the pet is found with no license . Because of this , some have even abandoned their pets!!! [whip]

I have two dogs with no licenses now , and want to apply license for them ...but defintely dun want to be slapped with 10k fine [:/]

Edited by Mica_blue

better to register... if HDB and you have non-approved breed, then register under "some address" sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

AVA more concern with discarded pets, and unresponsible owners... shakehead.gifshakehead.gifshakehead.gif

wats $70 compared to the company rite?? wink.gif

some breed not approved in hdb as such the owner wont register for licence

Affirmative...some breeds are not allowed in HDB flats (if they are higher than 40 cm from front paw to shoulder). The list could be found under the Animals and Birds (Dog Licensing and Control) Rules.

AVA will not come after you for non-licence unless there is a complaint from neighbors either on noise or nuisance (pung sai and pung jio but onwer nvr clear up). Usually, it is HDB (also acting under complaints cos they dun actually go from unit to unit to find out if you have a dog) that will come after you for keeping more than 3 dogs (whether licensed or otherwise)in a flat. If they found unlicensed or unapproved breeds, they will refer the case to AVA for enforcement actions. Otherwise, HDB will only be interested to know how many dogs you keep in your flats (more then 2 must get HDB approval). If more than 2 w/o their approval, they will take enforcement action under their HDB legislation.

For neutered or spayed dog, the licence fee is $14. If you have unsterilised dog, under the recently amended rules, the price is $70 regardless of gender.

You can ask me further question if you're still in doubt; my buddy works in AVA (Head of the Animal Welfare Centre, Mr. M*dh*v*n)who incidentally is incharged of dog licensing and enforcement matters [flowerface]

Edited by Chickenfarm

but if they are caught then how?? kena fine and dogs sent to spca??

If you're caught by AVA officers keeping a dog w/o licence or an unapproved breed for HDB flats, they will:

1) fine you and tell u to licence your dog;

2) fine you and tell you to rehouse your dog (if unapproved for HDB).

If you fail to rehouse (give away of register under a private property) your unapproved breed within a given period of time, they have the power to come in and remove the dog from you. The said dog will usually be PTS (Put To Sleep) at AVA.

i thought new rule, now all 70 for both male/female??

Bro...under the new rules, only unneutered (male) or unspayed (female) dog costs $70. Neutered and spayed ones are $14. The higher price charged for unsterilised dog is to discourage breeding because it gives raise to problem of abandonment if owner can't cope. Hence, if you sterilise your pet, the licence fee is cheaper [nod]

Edited by Chickenfarm

my dog (4yrs old) not sterilized yet, still pondering if i should do it... not about the $70 but din feel comfortable with it...

do sterilized dogs live longer??

obviously he wouldn't like it... tongue.giftongue.giftongue.gif

I know what you mean cos my 4 yr old male Yorkie was neutered at 9 months old much to my objection. But he started marking everywhere and mounted my legs (to do the obscene movement) even when visitors were around.

I was of the opinion that they will bcome a sissy after their family jewels were taken away but my vet told me that they will actually live longer cos the risk of prostate (male) or cervical (female) cancer will greatly diminish once neutered. The risk of contracting cancer is high for unsterilised dog if you do not allow them to mate.

Anyhow, my dog's jewels were removed but he is still as naughty and active as he was but neutered dog tends to put on weight so you have to give more exercise and watch its diet [nod] And of course...he doesn't do marking now [thumbsup]

Edited by Chickenfarm

If you're caught by AVA officers keeping a dog w/o licence or an unapproved breed for HDB flats, they will:

1) fine you and tell u to licence your dog;

2) fine you and tell you to rehouse your dog (if unapproved for HDB).

If you fail to rehouse (give away of register under a private property) your unapproved breed within a given period of time, they have the power to come in and remove the dog from you. The said dog will usually be PTS (Put To Sleep) at AVA.

looks like no way out if your doggy is not approved for HDB.. [:|]