Need Advice/Help ... Upstair Leakin water onto my Ceiling

Vodkeith

Hi fellow forumer,

Today just discovered dat mi kitchen ceilin was wet n leakin water, check n found water was leakin from sewage pipe link to upstair.

Had notified the owner upstair but as veri late at night now, gota wait till daylight 2morow. Any idea wat can I do beside gettin plumber to fix the leak 2morow?

Anyone gota good plumber to recommend? How to share the cost of repair? Is it 50-50 kinda thingy?TQ

yup, share cost, 50-50.

dun believe pls, just call HDB/ town council to confirm.

plumber? nah... get town council go his flat and check.

but ... take foto now for evidence of leak and extent of damage.

must b sure is a plumbing issue and not waterproofing.

i dare anyone to doubt me on this..

go to ur MP.. get letter sent to HDB

HDB will pay 50%

you and the upstairs will share half of the remaining 50% as in each of you pay 25%.

end of story

when ur pipe leaks to the guy below.. u pay 25% of his costs.. and the story goes on.

out of courtesy, u should inform upstairs first. get a plumber to check. cost depends, private housing and HDB is different. HDB is 50/50 while private is to be paid by whoever causes it.

TQ guys, now gota some idea n can discuss wif upstair owner, hop can resolv fast, otherwise all sewage water raining down ...sianz

good luck then.. my case drag very long. my top claims nothing's wrong with them.. i tu lan go BCA sue them.. my living room leak for 3 months.. yes living room.. but my home's a private.. and some owners are very kuai lan.. must go 1 big round to sue them and ask for compensation from them..

wah, sorri to hear dat brudder, mi must go do more good deed n improv on karma, hope no need 2 go big round big time... [grouphug]

Edited by Vodkeith

Not sure true or not but heard from friend a case where the sewage pipe leak. The top guy very kuai lan refuse to share saying it's not his problem - i don't have a leak, the leak is at your place, you pay & fix it.

Instead of sueing, the bottom guy have one last discussion with the top guy and his plumber. The top guy very adamant.

The bottom guy conceded and told his plumber, okay seal the damn pipe. No more leakage for me, all the sewage will overflow to this guy's bathroom. the sh1t overflow is not my problem, the overflow is at his place, he have to pay & fix it.

In the end they share the cost. laugh.gif

well.. in my case, its the upstairs' pipe gone blast hidden in the walls.. unsure of exact location.. so die die dont wanna to fix.. keep delaying and acting blur.. i talk to my MCST office.. also drag.. tu lan then sue upstairs lor.. and f the MCST too.. [laugh]