Malaysian leader signals fuel prices set to go up as government subsidies are reduced

Nutty

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia (AP) -- Malaysia's prime minister said Friday he will soon reduce government subsidies in the clearest sign that fuel prices will go up, a move that will likely be unpopular before general elections expected in a few months.

"We have to restructure our subsidies. It is very difficult to maintain the current subsidies," Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said in a speech to his ruling party delegates.

Abdullah refused to give a time frame for when the subsidies will be lowered, but acknowleged many Malaysians would be unhappy.

"There is always some unhapiness. Not everybody will be happy but I think Malaysians are reasonable," he said. He also declined to say how the decision will effect the government's performance in elections.

The biggest chunk of government subsidies is spent on keeping prices of gasoline and diesel down.

Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak said Friday the government would have to spend 35 billion ringgit (US$10 billion;

Bad time for their gahment to remove the subsidy. Election is just months away.

They should learn from our leaders. [sly]

They should learn from our leaders.

[laugh] U have to see their kind of ppl who live there. Their pace of life so relag, increase fuel prices means that they have to work harder leh.

That's why their leaders also relag. If they learn from our leaders, their ppl will die or become broke.

abit jialat for people living there..

earn 2k ringit plus but petrol 2 dollar ringit plus ...

how to tahan ..???? [hur]

lets not talk bout their public transport.. [flowerface]

They should learn from our leaders. [sly]

i'm different. or weird

if our leaders do it "brightly and openly", i'll respect them for their sincerity.

now, i have close to no respect for them [rolleyes]

nah.. not at all..

we are small percentage.. i bet the thais do more "damage" to them.

maybe they shd have two tier pricing for petrol. one with subsidy for local cars, and one without for foreign cars [lipsrsealed]

i think i am shooting myself here [laugh][laugh]

Nah... They just 'tax' the foreigners/Chinese/Indians more ...that way the Bumis are satisfied and ruling party stay in power....

Another Malaysia Boleh... [sly]

Too many loop holes to by-pass this. But if it should happen, it will benefit Singaporeans even more.... should Sgp remove the 3/4 tank rule because of this so called safe guard in JB, then most Sgp cars going there will be able to get a full top up liao...... net savings can be even more

Its about time nod.gif

Hopefully the citizens are understanding enuff to accept this, or no choice blame Sg for regular top up at Jbee laugh.gif

blame sg for regular top up? too little to take much effect lah.... unless the whole of sg pump petrol there

Edited by Nkps

Don't worry. We are talking about the Malaysian government here. I am very confident that if they want to make Singapore the target of their citizens for this price hike, they can, because..............Malaysia Boleh [sly]

Edited by Scoots

Their citizen should be able to understand this.Unlike our gahment,not understanding at all.At the very least,their boleh gahment subsidies until cannot tahan then make noise.ours leh,didnt do anything and make so much noise.Respect them for so much increase,then wan to revise,unlike here,a bit up also cannot tahan.Taxi bad impression,cartels also bad impression liao. [mad]