Electric car Made by China available in 2009

Leepee

Reserved it NOW!! Selling like hot cakes!

http://www.xxxxxxx.com/news/news.php?view=1&newsid=911

An ambitious project to built a production ready electric car by 2009.

Officials from ZAP (Zero Air Pollution) and China Youngman Automotive Group announced their Joint Venture Company has initiated the RFQ (Request For Quotation) process for a vehicle project called the ZAP Alias.

The Joint Venture Company targets the Alias to retail at a price of $30,000 in a two-passenger vehicle with a top-speed of over 100 miles per hour and a range of at least 150 miles per charge. The goal is to bring an affordable, highway capable electric vehicle to market quickly to capitalize on surging interest for electric car technologies.

Reserve a ZAP Alias electric car through their website at www.zapworld.com and say good riddance to hefty petrol bills!

I doubt the feasibility of an electric car.

Electricity are mainly obtained by burning of oil/coal.

And the conversion is not exactly that efficient.

If most of the cars in Singapore are electrically-powered, the demand (and hence price) for electricity would increase tremendously.

We will still end up in a LPPL situation.

I think otherwise. Electric car makes perfect sense in an urban enviroment where the travel limits are less than 100km. Sg generates most of it electricity using cleaner burning natural gas & its conversion is much higher than an IC engine.

Its quieter, less polutive, cheaper to maintain. An electric car has almost of it torque at zero revs, meaning its suited for stop/start traffic and can be v fast as shown by Tesla. 0-100kmh in 4 secs. The only downside I see is that it may not be v efficient in its airconditioning esp in hot, humid Singapore. [sweatdrop] .

In due time the technology will get more efficient & cheaper. We have no choice but to go this route sooner or later cos fossil fuels which are required to make diesel/petrol running out.

electr cars not unlike petrol, u need a huge infrastructre to consider commerically viable. mmc is working in japan with various parties. yuasa and mhi to develop batteries for power it. plus with power operators to provide power kiosks for charging.

if it is anything tat innovative, sorry folks, the chinese needs to learn the rope fr jippun kia first.

I dont think its really a problem installing charging stations at carparks with individually metered stations. After drive home just park & next day u can drive off. If the cost is really cheaper say, 30% of driving petrol cost, many may opt to change.

This is of course an urban solution. If petrol price continue to escalate, there will be a push factor. Cars like the Volt with built in generator to recharge the batteries will address some of the range issues.

The question is whether we have a choice or not? I suspect not, cos in a 15-20 years time 1 liter of petrol may cost 2-3 times more as oil reserves decline [dizzy]

whether we hv a choice anot?

neber doubt the intelligence of mankind.

the earliest human revolution was to transform fr the role of hunter into a farmer, feeding fr hand to mouth, to ability to trade for more.

the next revolution was slavery. to harness the ability of other humans who work more intelligently and more flexible then animals tending farms.

then comes the industrial revolution.. where machine outdo humans.

now is the computer revolution, where machine control machine. machine performs 24/7/ 365 works beyond one's hand trangressing oceans.

in each level of crisis, human can procreate a new level of revolution. changes r likely to b in the next order.

so whether we have a choice anot...

aiya.. dun ask me this cheem qn leh. i only toylet janitor niah niah.

hw abt anyone willing to pay $1 per toylet entry?

aiyo whne all of us are long gone... maybe got flying car liao lor... somemore use trash as fuel.... kill 2 bird leh.... no more relyig on fosil and also no more trash to clear.... take all your trash pour inside your ride.... [dizzy]

Yup in the central parts of certain cities, if you wanna go in you will need to pay congestion charges, unless your car is hybrid or electric. It really makes sense to go electric in cities.

Imagine the peace! [flowerface]

zap is very cool too [cool]

but dont like three wheels [laugh]

consider buy their share too [laugh] maybe SingTel can joint venture with them and sell electric sport car like handphone [sunny]

SingTel up 10 dollars [laugh] huat ah [laugh]

1. I bought two china made electric scooters back in about 4 years ago. I used them to ride around the prviate neighbourhood when not driving. There is even a child seat option. Really ride like a mini gasoline scooter, machiam those on the roads and top speed is electrically limited to 20Km/h. got left and right signals, brake light and etc. They are not cheap. Attached an example on roughly how it looks like.

2. They all look good initially but parts started to disintegrate within a year. Very prone to rust and pain quality is sub-standard, sliver body paint actually faded with times. One of them, the battery malfuncted within 6 months, then brake started to spoil and I've to throw them away after a year. The repair cost is just not worth it since I can't be assured of its part reliability. Some may say, hey, it is just an electric scooter and old tech. But if this is the kind of product that china made then sorry to say, no go for me.

Regards,

post-1-1211592603_thumb.png

Edited by Kelpie

Using nuclear energy to power the vehicle using uranium to convert into electric power. [sweatdrop]

But it will never be approved. [laugh]

I dont think its really a problem installing charging stations at carparks with individually metered stations. After drive home just park & next day u can drive off. If the cost is really cheaper say, 30% of driving petrol cost, many may opt to change.

This is of course an urban solution. If petrol price continue to escalate, there will be a push factor. Cars like the Volt with built in generator to recharge the batteries will address some of the range issues.

The question is whether we have a choice or not? I suspect not, cos in a 15-20 years time 1 liter of petrol may cost 2-3 times more as oil reserves decline dizzy.gif

electric cars are not 100% emission free....... if those running lead-acid batts, they still give out some gases during charging/useage

the only 100% emission free transport is ur bicycle.......

or turn back to stone age.... use a bull-lock cart..... muahaha... but then again... if ur bull farts while on the move, its not emission zero as well.... lol

Edited by Dynaway