Pros and Cons of oil based, cotton based and Steel drop-in air filter

Kelpie

If back to agent servicing, they will change at 40K interval while air clean during the rest of the interval [gossip][gossip][gossip]

hi bro... no leh...so far i go back agent servicing (and ganna [knife] ), they changed my air filter every 20K... my last one servicing at 60K..they wanted to change...but they charge the paper air filter too ex... so i decided to use K&N air filter...

but the oiling i DIY and more careful...so far so good lor...

personally i think the range is like that..from best filtration to least filtration :

paper filter best, oil based filter (e.g. K&N) 2nd and filter (3rd)

of coz if u are looking at air flow...it's upside down...

S/S filter best, oil based filter (e.g. K&N) 2nd and paper filter (3rd)

Does an Oil based filter fares better than cotton based and stainless steel drop-in air filter? It supposes to trap dirt better and yet provide higher flow than the 2. Please comment.

Thank you.

Regards,

No matter what they say ... OIL BASED will Screw up ur MAF guranteed.

a good SS drop in will beat any CAI Open Pod

You sound like you have some experience with oil based air filter before? [wave]

If back to agent servicing, they will change at 40K interval while air clean during the rest of the interval [gossip][gossip][gossip]

That is what I thought so..... [nod][confused]

Generally, high flow and high filtering are mutually exclusive.

If you want one, you can't have the other.

Stay with stock paper filter, if you treasure your engine.

Change the paper filter at regular interval and you should get great filtering and good air flow too.

Depending on the driving condition, I find the paper filter should not be used for more than 20k.

It gets clogged up with dirt.

High flow filter may not look dirty, and that's bcoz they are not filtering....they are letting most of the dirt in.

Dirt is abrasive, it caused engine wear and tear.

hi bro... no leh...so far i go back agent servicing (and ganna [knife] ), they changed my air filter every 20K... my last one servicing at 60K..they wanted to change...but they charge the paper air filter too ex... so i decided to use K&N air filter...

but the oiling i DIY and more careful...so far so good lor...

personally i think the range is like that..from best filtration to least filtration :

paper filter best, oil based filter (e.g. K&N) 2nd and filter (3rd)

of coz if u are looking at air flow...it's upside down...

S/S filter best, oil based filter (e.g. K&N) 2nd and paper filter (3rd)

Air filter change at every 20K is quite [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] on your pocket [knife][knife][knife]

Switching to aftermarket re-useable ones is a wiser choise [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

[laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Mai put filter sure 'Tong Hong Ka Liao' [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][lipsrsealed]

Maybe 0-100 can achieve in less than 10 [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

Edited by Mzrmazda3