Lawmakers grilled executives from the world's five largest publicly traded oil companies

Cheekg98

Congress, critical of tax breaks, lays into oil execs Lawmakers criticize industry for taking tax breaks amid record-high prices while underinvesting in renewable resources.

Markey concluded the hearing with what sounded like warning - urging the oil companies to invest in renewables and do something to lower the price of gas before what he promised would be several more congressional hearings.

"To the extent that you don't have to take all of this as profit and you can lower your prices, I urge you to do so," he said. "My grandfather always said, you should try to start from where you know you'll end up." bug.gif

http://money.cnn.com/2008/04/01/news/compa...sion=2008040115

Edited by Cheekg98

it's a wayang..

btw, how come Ng Eng Hen not represented there. they sud let him attend leh. sekali he go, oil prices drop to $10 a barrel.

Dr Ng also called the Workers' Party a Wayang (or Theatre) Party - as it only wants to get Singaporeans riled up by focusing on criticisms and not solutions.

He said, "This is a Wayang Party, WP, not Workers' Party...Do they have solutions? Can they bring the price of oil down? Can they stop factories from pulling out of Singapore and find you jobs? Can they bring down the price of rice, a loaf of bread, a cup of coffee?

"What does the Workers' Party want?...You look at their ideas, when they came up with their manifesto; we say these are dangerous ideas, we expose them. But they say 'akan datang', wait, we talk about it in the General Election. Have they talked about it?"

Dr Ng has accused the WP for breaking down all that Singapore has built, so they can come into power and be the next government.

http://www.pap.org.sg/articleview.php?id=970&mode=&cid=23

he say himself one... he must b confident he can do it. i mizzed out the part of rice roti and kopi...

all parties are wayang la.. to be fair to both P*P and *P.

just a matter of who controls the stage for the wayang [sly][rolleyes]

just keep reminding pple of wat they claim they KSL kiang for their own guud lor...

eventually their words will go back to haunt them.