To quit or no to quit? What to do if job was offered?

Pss2

To quit or no to quit? What to do if job was offered?  

41 members have voted

1. 1.

• Throw in letter and leave without hesitation
    • Throw in letter and hope that boss will talk to you
    • Reject offer from new company regardless of better offer
    • Continue to work but in a very low profile
    • Continue to work but return to own self after my leave

I like this job and my boss treat me very well. Just because one new sales left and everyone started to blame me saying is my fault (although they don't say it but i know they spoke ill of me behind my back). I am quite used to all these and it doesn't bother me. Another sales guy told me that the one who left did told him that it is because of me and he said that my boss also agree that i always have problems with new sales which made me dissappointed. I used to be agreesive in work and when i know the new sales did something wrong, i must correct him but this new sales initially is very obedient and having good attitude (maybe due to inexperience having signing on in the force) and when i correct him too much, he starts to get fed up with me. But most of the time when i correct him, he starts to get defensive mode. I correct him because i want him to know where he did wrong so he rememeber but still the same old careless mistakes.

I also talk less to my boss after hearing that he agree with the new sales who left and i totally tone myself down and even to the extend of taking leave of one week to stay home. My boss also listen too much to operation side as they are busy at the moment and ask the sales department to stop taking jobs for the next 1 and a half mths (which i think is ridiculous) and did not even discuss with us for any solutions.

I am looking for jobs now and will have my first interview next thursday. If i got the job, should i leave or stay? i mean the job must be something which u think you might like and not to leave for the sake of leaving. I love my job and been putting all my hardwork in this company for 5 yrs but within me, i can't bear to leave. I just hope my boss will talk to me, not to counter offer, as he also knows that i am not this kind of person. Should i just jump ship and see his reaction? As i say, i just want to have a talk with him, i don't need any countering from him.

why let some emotional burden hold u down? if the new job suit u, pay is >5% to defray inflation, company has a future, the chiobu drops a couple of buttons, skirts a couple of inch shorter.

damn... dun take tat job. tell me, i go interview!!!

You have taken the 1st step to leave this job by going for interviews. Whatever the outcome of this voting, you have made a decision in your mind... [sly]

I agree pay may plays a part if new company got better offer but i am the sentimental type as i said that all my hard work put into this company, dare not say 100% as nobody can do that but i would say i have used 75% of my time and effort in this company. If i leave, new sales or current sales taking over me will enjoy all my "fruits".

i have a decision in my mind, yes.... actually i am also feel quite sick in my currect company but i kept telling myself not to bother abt others n do just my work n get paid end of the mth. All my colleagues those "star search" contestant types, will act very hardworking or busy whevener my boss in, if my boss not in, they will becomes like acting boss and some will be hanging on the phone then do OT. OT not claim but can show to boss that they are hard working... i felt so sick seeing all these people.

[wave] No offense meant. But I think you think too high about yourself lah. We all think like that in our first job or when we are young. Take it from me that I found out company doesn't collapse or suffer anything when we leave. Someone else will just take over. Your "fruits" will go down the waste bin. The new guy will develop new tools, new methods rather than adapt to what we left behind.

As for the sales vs. operation thing, this is a very old problem. Sales people like to promise the world, and end up with the ops (engineers) having impossible targets. Just like the situation in Dilbert comics...

The "people factor" is very, very important. Staff will not immediately resign over pay, but it is more often due to people problems. You sound like you have one in your current workplace.

Maybe indeed u talked too much?

SOmetimes let the newbies take falls by themselves is better.

The offered job has a pay increase?

5%? 10% Better future here or there?

Weight it bro. Weight it...

Is this your first job? Not to sound harsh to you, but the reality of the workplace is as what you have described. Hardwork in itself will not guarantee you a good future in the company, you need to be street smart and learn to wayang as well. Those who can carry balls and wayang, make the boss happy are the ones who do well .... in general. [sweatdrop]

i do tell my boss that nobody is indespensable in the company including my boss so i never thought of i m indespensable.

I don't over promise customer but if we kept rejecting regular customer, customer will just go to another of our competitor and it will be hard to bring back the customer.

Yes, people factor is important, i would say everyone is everyone's 小人 to be fair to everyone.

I also think i talk too much so i tone down... but if i don't correct him, quotation done wrongly then how? he must be independent enough n not to depend on me too much

Not my first job.... my boss is a little different... i don't sweet talk him but i kind of say "true things/reality" to him and i even throw temper at him if i disagree with him. I agree those who wayang and suck up to bosses do perform better but i think not in the long run as time will tell. They wayang cos they don't know abt their work.

just do your own job and heck care the rest.U gain nothing by being so aggressive toward fellow colleagues and boss.Correctin them in such way doesn't benefit u.Tone down and u feel better this way.

Based on your use of word, i felt that your PR skill is not very good. Basically, you cannot put yourself in another person's shoe. When a employee make a mistake, you should correct him, and give him some breathing space at the same time.

Your new sales guy did not talk about his unhappiness with you. Does it show that you are unapproachable in his eye?? Did you think about that?

You are considering leaving your current job, for unknown reason.. You are considering jumping ship and see your boss reaction. If you are truely unhappy, just go. DO NOT need to see any reaction.

i have to admit my pr skills not very good as i m a straight forward person n don't act like others did. Thanks for ur advice.

actually a little confused now but maybe just let nature leads its path.

I am in charge of the sales department.

Sometimes, I kind of giving up talking to my boss or attend the company meeting. Nobody in my company follow rules and nobody will get warning.

I have read a book before, "if you cannot change the culture after a few proposal, then you are the problem. If you still propose and can't get your idea through, then you are the problem if you don't leave."

Edited by Pss2