Maintaining K&N filter/Hurricane/etc

Bieffe

Guys just got a K&N filter and boy am I impressed.

Passed on SS type becos I'm just not convinced. Anyway K&N even made filters for apaches used in the Gulf war.

Would like to find out when do we need to wash the filter?

K&N stickers says 50000 miles.....sure can be that long?

Remember some ppl here say 30000Kms.

What you ppl recommend?

Cannot lah 5000km very mah fan leh.

10000kms also very quick wor. Compared to K&N recommended 50000miles!

Don't use also can but damaged already how?

I suggest get the recharge kit lah....not too expensive mah.

Anyone know which workshop can wash and oil the K&N for us ?

Dun wan to buy the cleaning kit , me too lazy to DIY .

Rather pay for the pro to do it.

Think it should not be too expensive for them to wash the filter for us right ?

No workshop will do it properly for you.

Why? The cotton has to dry naturally and it usually takes a day or two for it to be completely dry.

Most workshops will dry it with compressed air and that will damage the filter.

Keep ur original filter when washing use back the old filter.

Can buy from a few shop. Go see at Hot Stuff Mag at petrol Kiosk.

Mcwell, Speedworks, Autobacs and many many others.

Should be $100 +/-. Is pre-oild just plug and play.

Lazy then use Hurricane lor....but I feel the filtering is not as good but less filter = more air= more power?

But I prefer K&N due to ruputation and packaging. S/S filters the packing so OEM see liao also sian...and price also same. Mark up sure quite high.

Haha, actually i'm using Hurricane on my previous ride , but find it abit too nosiy for me , so this time round decided to try the K&N , IMHO feels that K&N is better.

So who can advise me where is the cheapest place to buy the cleaning kit for my filter ?

Prefer somewhere in the west.

TIA

Just want to find out from those who used Hurricane on your ride, how long u been using and any problems to the engine while using Hurricane? [wave]