The Sichuan Earthquake Charity Show

UncleWolve

have u donated?

I just donated $1K

Thats nice of you. I will not donate to local charities until they clean up their act and their pathetic track records. Though this time round is for Sichuan earthquake, I did not donate through the phone call (but other ways) because I dunno how much is going where and how is it going to spend. I refuse to recognize the artiste efforts cause from what I see, the Taiwan celebrities did a similar show and donate personally. Singapore celebrities always do the first one, not the latter [thumbsdown]

"Singapore celebrities always do the first one, not the latter thumbsdown.gif "

This is slanderous. But I suppose you would only say this under a cybername, why not emulate the Liao Ning girl?

wow $1k, [thumbsup]

how much u pay for the admin/ artist/ Sing***?

better sign u check and bring it down to Red Cross lah [nod]

precisely [nod] the more we donate via this channel, the more $ gov will earn from the GST[furious]

I wonder what is the actual donation amount reaching the Sichuan people after going thru the "filters"? I feel better donating to Red Cross.

Edited by Tortoise777

not trying to stir up any trouble,

but does anyone realise that China is a country that can very well afford and manage this sichuan earthquake?

anyone thought of Myanmar?

this is one of the most touching sad stories...

When the rescuers found the mom, she had died, killed by the house that collapsed. She died in a very unusual posture. She was kneeling on the floor, the whole upper body stretched forward with her arms supporting her whole body. The posture looked like the kneeling Koutou etiquette in ancient China, but her body was completely distorted by the pressure. When people cleared away the rubble around her, they found a baby was lying underneath her body, wrapped up in a small red blanket with golden patterns. The baby was about 3, 4 months old. Because of the protection from his mother

never cried so hard in a long time...

I am very angry with the Chinese building contractors.

They cheated on the materials used for building of schools and public housings, resulting in a high death-toll.

damn..i saw this scene about Chen Jian last week on scv...he survived 3 days trapped,in the end rescued out after 6 hours...thank everyone who save him..but when escorted down to the base,he died.The captain did a cpr on him 2-3 times...in the end no more pulse...i saw this scene...tears dropped...wah...the rescue team very disappointed and a lady cried until v cham.... [shakehead] the captain said why he dun wan hang on since he already hang on till 3 days..yet gave up when he kana rescued [smallcry]in the end his body was faced to the East...dont know for what reason also.. [shakehead] and waited for another team to collect it

actually this world still fill with love...but fighitng still going on...

Its the a way how nature punish us... [:(]

damn..i saw this scene about Chen Jian last week on scv...he survived 3 days trapped,in the end rescued out after 6 hours...thank everyone who save him..but when escorted down to the base,he died.The captain did a cpr on him 2-3 times...in the end no more pulse...i saw this scene...tears dropped...wah...the rescue team very disappointed and a lady cried until v cham.... shakehead.gif the captain said why he dun wan hang on since he already hang on till 3 days..yet gave up when he kana rescued smallcry.gifin the end his body was faced to the East...dont know for what reason also.. shakehead.gif and waited for another team to collect it

http://youtube.com/watch?v=FvvM9VQ-uOw

never cried so hard in a long time...

I am very angry with the Chinese building contractors.

They cheated on the materials used for building of schools and public housings, resulting in a high death-toll.

it might not be the material.....

read a report abt why the richer school didnt collapse.... is becos their classroom size is smaller which equate to more walls to strenghten the building....

those poorer schools, due to too many students.... require a large classroom...... which equate to lesser walls to support the structure of the building......

Edited by Familymanz

Did you see yesterday Sunday Times, some tall building in Weng Chuan the epicentre is still standing! not much affected.

Uncle

You donated $1072.41, $70 GST and $2.41 admin.

What is the GST for in the first place ?? The more you donate, the more you pay for the GST ??

In this case, isnt the GST be flat here ?? The donater doesnt receive any goods or services, why GST ??

have u donated?

I just donated $1K

not trying to stir up any trouble,

but does anyone realise that China is a country that can very well afford and manage this sichuan earthquake?

anyone thought of Myanmar?

I agree with you Nine_eleven. My heart really goes out to the people in Sichuan who have suffered such a disaster.

However, I am not sure why is there so much hype about the earthquake at Sichuan. This is perhaps the first 'disaster charity show'(correct me if I am wrong) produced by Mediacorp. There have been so many other countries with disasters similar or worse than Sichuan's earthquake but none with so much media attention. I really wonder why. Could it be political reasons or Singapore having much vested interest in China? [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Jetabout777

"Singapore celebrities always do the first one, not the latter thumbsdown.gif "

This is slanderous. But I suppose you would only say this under a cybername, why not emulate the Liao Ning girl?

ok maybe i dunno anything you may know..but being transparent, I never seen such things. If there is any malicious content, im sorry..but care to elaborate?