New round of utility rebates

Ccssgm

FAMILIES living in HDB homes will receive utility rebates of up to $220 in the next six months, with those in smaller flats getting more.

In all, about $134 million will be given out to more than 780,000 HDB households this fiscal year, said the Ministry of Finance yesterday.

The rebates will be given in two stages: the first next month and the second tranche in January next year.

People living in one- or two-room flats, for example, will get rebates totalling $220, while those living in a four-room flat will receive $190, the statement said.

These Utilities-Save (U-Save) rebates were introduced last year, to be given out annually for five years.

Altogether, $550 million will be disbursed.

The rebates are part of a $4 billion package to offset the 2 percentage point hike in the goods and services tax, which kicked in last year.

Singapore Power will inform families of what they will get in their July utility bill. The sum will be used to offset a family's bill directly.

The ministry said that, for most families, next month's rebates were more than enough to cover this year's tariff increases when coupled with those given out in January this year.

So GOOD ? [idea]

The rebates are part of a $4 billion package to offset the 2 percentage point hike in the goods and services tax, which kicked in last year.

wonder how many billion income for them with 2% GST hike.. and i wont be surprised, some people will think this is an ang pow from MIW for the poor to counter recent inflation....

btw, they always say increase this not the way, reduce that not the way, "will help the poor to pull thru this inflation period, where is the action plan huh??"".... dont tell me this utility rebate is part of the plan hor..!!! [rolleyes]

FAMILIES living in HDB homes will receive utility rebates of up to $220 in the next six months, with those in smaller flats getting more.

In all, about $134 million will be given out to more than 780,000 HDB households this fiscal year, said the Ministry of Finance yesterday.

The rebates will be given in two stages: the first next month and the second tranche in January next year.

People living in one- or two-room flats, for example, will get rebates totalling $220, while those living in a four-room flat will receive $190, the statement said.

These Utilities-Save (U-Save) rebates were introduced last year, to be given out annually for five years.

Singapore Power will inform families of what they will get in their July utility bill. The sum will be used to offset a family's bill directly.

The ministry said that, for most families, next month's rebates were more than enough to cover this year's tariff increases when coupled with those given out in January this year.

So GOOD ? [idea]

Got rebate meh??

Didn't they just annouced that increased 5% somewhere next month??

Haha. very good at playing "plus" and "minus"

Got rebate meh??

Didn't they just annouced that increased 5% somewhere next month??

Haha. very good at playing "plus" and "minus"

I am also wondering that too ...

anyway I think those stay HDB 5-room or bigger will get worst ... bill rate increase + no rebate [shakehead]

Usually S'pore gov package is more benefit for low income... [thumbsup]

If you are middle-low income and above... you wont feel any difference [laugh]

Those just above the low income mark is most jialat... [sweatdrop]

Edited by Ncss

I am also subjected to

Personal Income Tax

Goods & Services Tax

Utility Tax

Property Tax

Road Tax

ERP Charges

and

alltheothertaxeswhicheverysingaporecitizenhavetopayfromcradletograve.....

I have also dutifully served my National Service and also did my reservist duties, keeping myself fit so that I could do the 2.4km run every year etc etc etc....

Why should I not be given a subsidy just because I can afford better housing!!!!!! NABEI!!!!!!!!

This is machiam like the GST credits... Pay you a bit and take more back from you...
rebate is always fixed amount, probably set at lower percentile, but raise in living expenses is variable. likelihood is that variable expenses is more than fixed amount rebate. so nett loss for many.