Car owners can encash PARF and COE rebates from September

Tyreboy

Abstract from CNA, http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../357513/1/.html

SINGAPORE: Car owners will now have the option to exchange their Preferential Additional Registration Fee (PARF) and the Certificate of Entitlement (COE) rebates for cash.

The change follows a government review of the rebates to make it easier for motorists to give up their cars and switch to public transport.

From September 1, registered owners of unused and valid PARF/COE rebates can apply to the Land Transport Authority for encashment.

Once their applications are processed, they will receive a refund equivalent to the rebate amount.

To facilitate the implementation of this change, PARF/COE rebates with expiry dates between July 1 and September 29 will be extended to the end of September.

Those affected will be informed of the revised expiry dates within the next two weeks.

Motorists who wish to use their PARF/COE rebates to offset the upfront taxes for a new vehicle can continue to do so.

The LTA says it will continue to issue rebates to car owners upon de-registration of their vehicles.

The rebates will remain transferable and valid for 12 months to provide flexibility to vehicle owners.

Transport Minister Raymond Lim had announced in March this year that the government would be reviewing the PARF and COE rebates.

This was to tie in with the overall effort to make public transport a choice mode for all commuters, including car owners.

Wow, one of those policy they always say no to, decided to allow it afterall...... Wonder if the the numbers will be big.

at least car owners who decide to hang their steering wheel up, need not worry selling cars away to dealers that undercut the value

wayang only lah...trying to buy ppl hearts....knowing that the sentiments from citizens are not happy with the high inflation, ERP everywhere, high petrol cost...they are coming up such tactic so that ppl will say "zhen fu hao zhen fu miao zhen fu gua gua jiao"...only 66.6% of the voters will buy the idea

"long over due", that's the only take away i get from your statement. and why is it long over due? because the policy is wrong to begin with and hence citizens in their heart know what should be right to begin with.

after so long than u-turn policy.. not sure what to think now.. wayang or not.. i'm sure if we keep being vocal of our displeasure, they have to u-turn many policies. otherwise we diam diam they take us for a ride.

if they u-turn many policies then they will come out even more money churning policies for them every now and then. Tampines and Pasir ris already implemented that cyclists can cycle on pavement so in no time, there will be a ERP trial in these 2 towns. shortie mah will be happy to officiate the ERP trial in tampines...government gives you $200 rebate but you have to pay $20000 back to government...so dun be silly as the 66.6% voters...give you some sweets and be a good child...LEE PAPA will FIX YOU

Edited by Tyreboy

cannot say like that lah...nothing done, u say they don't listen, things done, you say wayang...machiam 'head you win, tail they loose' leh...

actually you are wrong 'head you win, tail they loose' is applicable to government, they win everytime, we lose everytime. look at their contract tender clause, every single line is protecting themselves. for example, supply material, price must be fixed for 2 yrs, cannot increase. How to do busines like that when nowadays price is so violatile? unless you are the manufacturer cum supplier where you can control your own cost from raw material to manufacturing to transporting. you cannot factor in more profit to counter the 2 yrs uncertainty knowing that such contract tender will award to whoever is cheapest

wayang only lah...trying to buy ppl hearts....knowing that the sentiments from citizens are not happy with the high inflation, ERP everywhere, high petrol cost...they are coming up such tactic so that ppl will say "zhen fu hao zhen fu miao zhen fu gua gua jiao"...only 66.6% of the voters will buy the idea

They only 'buy your heart and mind' once every 5 years or so!...the rest of the time and in-between they eat your HEART! [sly][laugh][laugh][laugh]

but they didn't force you to tender what...if you think its a situation of 'head you win, tail you loose', then don't tender lah...so simple... [laugh][laugh][laugh] anyway, no point arguing...to each his opinion...

I agree... at least now the option is there without having to lose even that money... may encourage borerline car owners to give up and take public transport... save petrol, save the world, save the cheerleader...