Car owners can encash PARF and COE rebates from September

Tyreboy

wayang only lah...trying to buy ppl hearts....knowing that the sentiments from citizens are not happy with the high inflation, ERP everywhere, high petrol cost...they are coming up such tactic so that ppl will say "zhen fu hao zhen fu miao zhen fu gua gua jiao"...only 66.6% of the voters will buy the idea

seems u are rather unhappy with the govt. ever think of migrating to a country which you think u can contribute to? [hur]

Agree. They will take back the money in another way and at teh same time make sporean feel happy. We r very easily happy ppl esp when given an amt of cash [flowerface]

"The rebates will remain transferable and valid for 12 months to provide flexibility to vehicle owners."

Just wondering, since we can now get cold hard cash, who would still want the paper rebate and get binded by some rules on rebate.

Just wonder how much they lose out in the end.

there's nothing for them to loose out on..... this issue has been ard for more than 10yrs.... car owners have been pressing for cash bac instead of a stupid paper that dealers take in at lower price....

unless u intend to get a new car, the PARF paper is pretty much lesser valued than its original worth....

now, this is only far to owners who had paid full amount for the ARF, taxes, in return this PARF amount should be returned fully to the owner if he wish to stop buying a new car....

i had on 2 occasion, lost some $$$ on this....PARF paper of $11.2k, but dealer take in at $10k crap...

I dun really like the miw much too but if they really did something rite, be it u-turn or scrapping/changing policies, then we should give them the due credit. Lets be subjective and judge such matters impartially.

DC

i'm quite ready to give credit where it is due too. but respectfully, the policy is unfair and wrong to begin with. when you right a wrong, where is the credit? if it was righted by a non-pap gahmen, then they deserve credit. in this case the greviences have not even been redressed. are they going to pay the thousands of people money to make up for losing money on the dam paper?

this cuts out the middle man isnt it [sly]

still, those who with negative equity on their cars still can't sell anyway

Abstract from CNA, http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../357513/1/.html

SINGAPORE: Car owners will now have the option to exchange their Preferential Additional Registration Fee (PARF) and the Certificate of Entitlement (COE) rebates for cash.

The change follows a government review of the rebates to make it easier for motorists to give up their cars and switch to public transport.

From September 1, registered owners of unused and valid PARF/COE rebates can apply to the Land Transport Authority for encashment.

Once their applications are processed, they will receive a refund equivalent to the rebate amount.

To facilitate the implementation of this change, PARF/COE rebates with expiry dates between July 1 and September 29 will be extended to the end of September.

Those affected will be informed of the revised expiry dates within the next two weeks.

Motorists who wish to use their PARF/COE rebates to offset the upfront taxes for a new vehicle can continue to do so.

The LTA says it will continue to issue rebates to car owners upon de-registration of their vehicles.

The rebates will remain transferable and valid for 12 months to provide flexibility to vehicle owners.

Transport Minister Raymond Lim had announced in March this year that the government would be reviewing the PARF and COE rebates.

This was to tie in with the overall effort to make public transport a choice mode for all commuters, including car owners.

they shd have spend more $$$$ to improve public transport first, rather than to do such minor stuffs ... pple will still drive ... rolleyes.gifrolleyes.gifrolleyes.gif