Leather shoes: Any recommendation?

Thermodynamics

I ever bought leather shoes that does not come with the non-slip rubber soles b4. Got to go outside Ppl's Park Complex to look for ah pek to install it.

yeah, i went there before. not bad.

also tried the cobbler opposite centrepoint, next to specialist shopping centre. can find him sitting just next to the traffic lights, on the pathway to sommerset MRT station.

Why no one mentioned Pedro ar? Have bought a few pairs and feel that they r quite comfy and durable. Most of all they got quite a variety of designs.. [thumbsup]

I'm on my 4th pair of Dr Martens thumbsup.gif one pair average can last about 3 years for me shocked.gif

multi-occasions, can even go off-terrain laugh.gif The sole usually outlast the leather shocked.gif

The only problem... the first week you will get really painful blisters dead.gif but once seasoned, the shoe just fit to your feet nicely and very comfy.

Bally and Timberland is good thumbsup.gif but every morning when you put them on, and step onto the floor, your heart pain dead.gif in our down pour, heart even more pain laugh.gif My Bally keep for wedding dinner and special occasion only now unsure.gif

Yes!! Dr Marten .... [thumbsup][thumbsup]

A good pair of leather shoes, get those with GENUINE leather upper, leather lining, leather heel, leather insole, leather midsole, leather welting. i.e. completely genuine leather type. This type of shoes breathe very well, all natural materials, good for your feet.

Cheap ones

LOAKE (made in England) available at Robinsons only

Johnston and Murphy (made in ??? Mexico?) available everywhere

AVERAGE

MORESCHI (Made in Italy)

Jeffrey West (Made in England) used to be available in Tangs

Expensive

AIGNER (U.S. but shoe made in italy), BRUNO MAGLI (italy), BALLY (Swiss), SALVATORE FERAGAMO (italy). PRADA (Made in Italy)

Good leather shoes last for life if you maintained the soles, get the best that you can afford. They are also made of better materials, e.g. vegetable tan leathers, instead of chromium salt tanned leathers.

Your neighbourhood cobbler very expensive, must be a very high class neighbourhood, I thought replacing the heel pads is less than $10 at neighbour hood shops, less than $20 at air con places. Last year, at one shop I replaced both the rear heel pads and front sole protectors for about $18.

I have a good recommendation for you, TAT LEE shoemaker beside Whampoa foodcentre, his prices are cheap and the quality are good. The soles he glued one never comes apart in the wet or dry. He is an old man. I got a made-to-measured shoe from him using leather upper and lining, with rubber sole. He is the cheapest shoemaker in Singapore.

Whampoa Food Market pathway clobber. [thumbsup]

This one not so good, TAT Lee shoe maker is better. There are 4 cobblers in the vicinity, he is the most expensive. Two at the shops (Tat Lee & neighbour shop) beside the Food Centre (the one that is not at the market), one at the shoe shop and one at the pathway.

Why no one mentioned Pedro ar? Have bought a few pairs and feel that they r quite comfy and durable. Most of all they got quite a variety of designs.. [thumbsup]

Most of its shoes are MIC(Made in China) [laugh] . I bought a pair b4. Not comfy at all, cos the lousy leather cut into my skin.

I rather pay more for MII(Miade in Italy)ones. [:p]

Americaya shoes are tough but comfort is as good as zero. I couldnt tolerate the 2 pairs i bought and force to "retire" them.

Most comfortable shoes are Rockport.

Americaya and Bally ....... [thumbsup][thumbsup]
Edited by Davidtkl

it got ripped off at the front after less than a month of continuous wearing. Maybe it's a lemon

post-15-1216195653_thumb.jpg

post-15-1216195654_thumb.jpg

post-15-1216195655_thumb.jpg

Edited by Venco25

haha.. no lah. mine is just a HDB neighbourhood.

yeah, for the 4 pieces, $20. you got a good deal at $18.

as i recalled its during CNY period. maybe around those festive seasons, all prices also go up. [;)]

If you have special requirements i.e. your feet have too high instep or too wide or too big or too narrow, different size left and right, you can have bespoke shoes (made to measured). The prices used to range from $65 to $300+, do not know if prices increased recently.

They usually fit better and dont need breaking in. But it is very troublesome, the shoemaker will draw an outline of your feet and take various measurements etc. They will then modify the last to be same shape of your feet then they will sew the uppers. etc. Then you have to go down for fitting, before the sole is attached. So I have to go down to the shop 3 times (measurement, fitting, collection) and it takes more than a month to make.

Edited by Siyexcalibur

If u happen to go Bangkok, buy from there. They got so many pattern plus sibei cheap and comfy.

I bought a few pairs from BK, really [thumbsup]

ok.. tonite bought a pair at Bata.. Calidad Garantizada Pinoso's Original.. made in spain. 100% lamp ladder.

beri nice and soft ladder.. chirp chirp. 5ct return after 2 x $50 change hand.