Fwd: Genting highlands: Beware of this Restaurant

Vtim

I got this email from a friend, not sure if it's true or not confused.gifconfused.gifconfused.gif

======================================

Dear All............

Last week, I brought my guests to Genting Highlands. After a day 'above

the clouds', we decided to have dinner at the Gohtong Jaya area on the way

down.

We ordered some dishes and decided to have a steamed fish as well. So the

captain recommended 'sultan fish'.

The steamed fish came. HALF, and plain steamed. Good & fine.

But when the bill came, it came to over $500 !! We were shocked !! We

were told the fish was 1.4kg ( & please bear in mind, its ONLY HALF A FISH

) at RM 320 per kg! RM 420!! This was daylight robbery. We were not

informed by the Captain that a kg of the Sultan fish would cost us RM 320

and there was also no signs of such pricings anywhere in the restaurant.

When we checked with the cashier, she told us, its correct !!

Of cos, it was our mistake for not asking the price first.

Anyway, on the way back to KL, we stopped at Unique Seafood,PJ, where one

can choose a live fish. The most expensive Soon Hock swimming in the tank

is RM135 per kilo. Asked them about the Sultan fish, it is going for

RM100 a kilo.

Will be sending this letter to the newspapers, Tourism board, etc etc; and

friends, pls pass on to all on yr email list.

===========================================

any comment wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

post-77-1217592860_thumb.jpg

Very true.

My neighbour kena before. Chinese restaurant (or shd I say, kopitiam zhu chao stall). Cut robert with the stupid fish. Also warn some bros in another thread, but dunno if they patronised the stall or not.

I was thinking of eating there during Sept Genting trip, looks like I'll give it a miss sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Dun ever order the Soon Hock in MY.. The price is based on season pricing and there is no season for it..

that's why i hate eating fish outside cos the bill will then be very expensive.

but this one is really over the board....

I was thinking of eating there during Sept Genting trip, looks like I'll give it a miss sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

That wil be a waste just becoz of a chain email. Along the trip from singapore to Genting, Gohtong Jaya is probably the last stop for a good meal before you enter the real chop carrot food court of genting highland.

The poster didn't check before agreeing on the fish, and if you looked into the bill, the price of the other dishes are pretty ok. I didn't patroninsing the shop menitoned in the email, but another one which I can't recall the name. Usually spent about RM$50 for a meal(2 meat and 1 vege) for 3 person. No fish though. Beside can buy fresh fruits from there to bring to hotel.

ANd just last year went in a group of 8 adults, and 2 children. More dishes with steam fish, not more than RM$200.

I ordered soon hock in Kuala Selangor's River View Seafood Restaurant (@ Pasir Penambang) but never get ketok leh.

Everytime go there eat until stomach almost burst and total bill about S$60-70 nia nia (for 3 pax).

Soon hock pricing is about S$6-10 per 100 gm.. But depend on how sotong and how carrot the person look also..

You know how some singaporeans like to show off at a foreign country..

Above is SG pricing.. May be cheaper a bit in Bolehland

Edited by Beei

Funnie.... I also look damn sotong one but they never ketok me. Maybe they see me in slippers and T shirt know I poor man thats why pang so chance to me [:/][sunny]

you din show off your muscle to them, do you?? laugh.gif

Not all shops will chop carrot one.. Still have a lot of honest one around..

Dun ever order the Soon Hock in MY.. The price is based on season pricing and there is no season for it..

Got ah... there is the tourist season, and there's the chop-the-singaporean season