Motul V300 5W-30

Yewhiong

Dear Bros,

I am driving Honda Fit GE6 to Genting and KL on 16 - 18 Nov 2008. My mileage is only 3000++km. My current engine oil is Preston and my scheduled change of oil is 5000km.

I would like to get advice whether should I change my oil before I go for my trip?

Which brand of oil do you recommend?

What type of oil? 5W-30 or 5W-40?

Where can I get Motul V300 5W-30?

Regards,

Kent

Edited by Yewhiong

First - How fast do you drive on the NS?

I have driven to cameron highlands on a 5w30 - no problems whatsover. I think if you intend to sustain high speeds (>140) for long sustained periods (>2hours) then I think you should get at least a w30. I now only drive with w20 oils.

Secondly, the Fit is hardly a sports car - why splurge on Motul? I know many enthusiastic Honda owners swear by motul but to me it's like buying a truck to carry a pin. Amsoil, Mobil1 etc are pretty good oils at almost half the price to do exactly the same thing. Yes yes the double ester thing, but like i said, our cars well.... not sports cars.

[thumbsup]

Bro, i get my Motul 300V 5W-40 from a Motor Tiam at Alexandra [nod][nod][nod]

Drop me a PM should you need it [nod][nod][nod]

If i were you, i would change my oil liao before cheonging on the NS Highway [;)]

why change oil at 5k?

is it new car? if it is then ok.

did u go track? are u using SS filter?

Genting is really no big deal for any proper oil. suggest u head up and back, won't even reach 5k when u return to SG. then just nice to change ur oil.

I had heard that for the running in of new cars, best is not to constantly drive the same condition. Best is not to do a prolong highway driving just to add up the milage. something to do with not having a even burning in for the engine parts. Just my 2 cents.

Most of the suggestions thus far are pretty good.

You don't need such an expensive oil with your Fit.

Amsoil, Mobil are more than good enough.

The most I would go is Redline.

5w30 is ok for genting. I have driven at high speed with mobil 1 5w30 and also went up/down genting couple of times.smile.gif

just to share

i have a work colleague who has a mid-2007 stream rs-z. he used mugen's sae 0-20w rev-s oil. drove on the north-south highway in speeds in excess of 160km/h to cameron highlands. no issues, oil level remained the same... but he made an oil change after he's back in singapore.

not sure if it's justified to pay for the extra $ due to branding, but to him, it's peace of mind as the oil is recommended by mugen for honda vehicles. i am sure other 30w oil from other reputable brands (e.g. mobil, shell, caltex, etc if they have such an oil) should suffice...

Dear Bros,

I am driving Honda Fit GE6 to Genting and KL on 16 - 18 Nov 2008. My mileage is only 3000++km. My current engine oil is Preston and my scheduled change of oil is 5000km.

I would like to get advice whether should I change my oil before I go for my trip?

Which brand of oil do you recommend?

What type of oil? 5W-30 or 5W-40?

Where can I get Motul V300 5W-30?

Regards,

Kent

I seriously think you should worry more that your car may get stolen rather than use what engine oil...... Beware, especially in KL

true.. but the TS can vary his speed on NSH, though i'd recommend to stay below 120 if possible.

genting will be good for hard breaking in of the car engine [sly]

i have a work colleague who has a mid-2007 stream rs-z. he used mugen's sae 0-20w rev-s oil. drove on the north-south highway in speeds in excess of 160km/h to cameron highlands. no issues, oil level remained the same... but he made an oil change after he's back in singapore.

Is 0w20 really a good choice in that kind of speed and environment? I understand alot of "go thinner oil" comment here and at BITOG forum....

But in BITOG forum the environment is cooler than S'pore. Furthermore, if you do a search using "summer" in BITOG forum, most of the recommendation are 5w40, 15w40, weight, minium they'll recommend is 0w30 or 5w30 weight in summer.

Hope your colleague would use some common sense and not follow the thinner is always best guideline, especially if planning to go 160km/h in hot climate.

Thanks for the advice given by the brothers here. My main aim of changing the engine oil is to protect the engine as it is still new.

Last week, I went to Autobacs to look see the steering wheel lock. Those good ones is about $20. The "baseball" lock is about $10.

I'm thinking that I can go for my bicycle lock... Save that money...

Realistically saying, can the car thieves break those good steering wheel lock?

The thieves can break into any lock or even your immobiliser.... the locks are just to provide some inconvinence and hopefully to deter. For this, you need a lock that is higly visible.

My advice would be to pay those security personnel some kopi money to specially look after your car. Somemore yours is a honda fit, which is very popular in MY

no problem lah 5w-30. i am using redline 5w-30 with 7k mileage on the oil. went to melaka last wk. was constantly at 140-160km/h. oil lvl didnt even drop.

no pt getting motul its too expensive liao. try ows or redline. [thumbsup]