Pharmacy purchases in Malaysia

Genie47

can i take sgh prescription n go jb buy medicine?

Of course can. The pharmacists just wants to sell medicine. If you DIY, the pharmacist can also educate you. But some drugs they may not be allowed to sell to you.

No harm trying.

They have panadol and codeine here (not sure in JB)

called Panadeine.

Even have ultracet (panadol and tramadol --> stronger than codeine)

Note, tramadol and codeine are morphine-like chemicals.

MAY lead to addiction

Just be careful with etoricoxib. The main advantage it has is that it doesn't irritate the stomach. The bad thing is increased risk of heart attack.

Other than that, I do find its pain relieving power to be the same as..... diclofenac (Voltaren). Diclofenac will be my first choice if not for the stomach irritation. It not only blocks COX1 (making your stomach irritated) but COX2 is preferentially blocked 10X more (arcoxia is 168X more). Blocks lots of other stuff with makes it the most powerful IMHO.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diclofenac

wow. nice info. anyways. i hope they sell tramadol in there. sometimes if am in alot of discomfort i take 1 tramadol. KO me straight. 1 bad thing is it gives constipation... so i try not to take unless really necessary. [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Robo

Anarex, a mixture of 450mg paracetamol and orphenadrine citrate (muscle relaxant), MYR1.00 for a strip of 10.

nabei, just bot 2 strip frm my gp for sgd8.50 per strip.

wah piang eh. knn your gp chop u up liao lah! anarex is a very very cheap drug. i have e probably 100 strips at home. i can give u some if u want!

They have panadol and codeine here (not sure in JB)

called Panadeine.

Even have ultracet (panadol and tramadol --> stronger than codeine)

Note, tramadol and codeine are morphine-like chemicals.

MAY lead to addiction

It is not addiction. The proper word to describe such use is called dependance.

You are dependant on it to reduce pain.

i remembered awhile ago i was quite dependant on tramadol. den awhile later i realised i cant keep on gg like this. went on a 4weeks cold turkey den took mefanamic acid, arcoxia instead. realised it works well too. [scholar]

Another pharmacy to go to if you travel up and down Jln Tebrau.

Summit Pharmacy

No. 7 Jln Badik 1

Taman Sri Tebrau

Prices:

MYR150 for 100X 10mg amlodipin besylate tablets (generic Norvasc)

Made by Ranbaxy Malaysia.

BD Ultrafine II 3/10cc insulin syringes. 1 box of 100 is MYR53.

When searching for it with Google Maps, key in "7 Jalan Badik 1".

Any idea if I purchase prescription med from JB, do I need to declare em when I am at the custom. Cos if I am not wrong there are some HSA guidelines on bringing meds into Singapore.

You buy for personal consumption lah.

What are they going to do? Throw you in jail for drug smuggling?

Don't go and buy a boatload of stuff.

i'm a johorean. i wud like to recommend the pharmacy "inside" tesco hypermart tebrau. u can get most of the items @ much cheaper prices there (5~30%) as compared with watson/guardian/other pharmacies.

Went back and checked.

Mine is Celebrex, 200mg, tablet. 28 pills cost me S$46.20 at SGH. [sweatdrop]

How much is it in JB???

I was at Skudai and decide to check out Guardian pharmacy

For Norvasc 5mg, it is selling 1 box of 30 pcs at rm170 or rm5.6 per tablet.

I thought something wrong with the price. Then I walk over to PharmaCare across the road and bought

10 pcs at rm16.02 after discount or rm1.6 per tablet.

MyPharmacy was selling at rm1.8 per tablet.

That leads to a question of why Guardian is selling the same thing at almost 5x the price.

I wonder is there a question of fake drugs?

It's hard to believe the 2 chains of pharmacies are selling anything other than original.

MyPharmacy doesnt provide delivery right?

Looking to get retin-A cream.

I doubt they will do delivery. Medicine is quite a controlled item in many countries.

I can't ship medicine by DHL to another country without lots of paperwork.

Celebrex is MYR102 for a box of 30 tablets of 200mg.

After applying the member discount of 15%, the price is MYR86.70

Taking the rates as of today at SGD100 is to MYR237 this is SGD36.58.

BTW, I checked out the Tesco Pharmacy that is inside Tesco itself. It is cheaper. Aprovel after discount at My Pharmacy is MYR89. At the Tesco pharmacy, it is MYR85 for a box of 24X 300mg.