Australia: Adelaide to Melbourne via Great Ocean Road

Boyboy

It jammed for us. No choice. Had to avoid the Citilink else have to pay for that toll pass that costs AUD6 a day for nothing since we will go by it only once.

If you like taking off from the beaten path like me, you must remember this about snakes in Australia.

Black and white tiger marking snakes chase you. Just run. There is anti-venom available.

Brown snakes will stand their ground, back off. This too have anti-venom at ready supply from hospitals.

Black snakes are the most venomous but they are chicken and will quickly slither away. Just leave it alone. Sorry, you got bit? No anti-venom.

Forgot to mention the thing about Phillip Island. Bring more clothes for the penguin parade at night. Not joking. The winds from the sea brought temperatures down to 8-9. That is the upper limit of a fridge.

Light gloves, fleece jacket. Good hiking shoes since they protect you more. Scarf is good since it allows you to layer. No need for hat. If can bring in a blanket, please do! Saw some tourists doing that.

darn... i miss melbourne so much..

if taking toorak rd to bypass citylink. careful not to go during peak hrs. its jams like crazy. den my gf stays in the SE suburbans. taking toorak almost everyday to go crowns. [laugh]

nice memories.

I also took the toorak rd straight to puffing billy. [nod]

In melbourne i stay at city rd / short stay apartments. Just a 5 mins walk to Crowns.........wahhhhhhh....more asians gambling there then ang mohs. [crazy]

If you like taking off from the beaten path like me, you must remember this about snakes in Australia.

Black and white tiger marking snakes chase you. Just run. There is anti-venom available.

Brown snakes will stand their ground, back off. This too have anti-venom at ready supply from hospitals.

Black snakes are the most venomous but they are chicken and will quickly slither away. Just leave it alone. Sorry, you got bit? No anti-venom.

U encounter snakes there ?

Kangeroos are all over the place........ma chiam like our ga-lings in spore. So many of them!!!!! haha.

Even saw wild koala bears up in the trees on many occasions.

It jammed for us. No choice. Had to avoid the Citilink else have to pay for that toll pass that costs AUD6 a day for nothing since we will go by it only once.

yea i know that... bo pian. its unlike sg we pay per entry and its cheaper. their citylink toll is valid 24 hrs. but who travels citylink that many times to make the $$$ worth it. [laugh]

Forgot to mention the thing about Phillip Island. Bring more clothes for the penguin parade at night. Not joking. The winds from the sea brought temperatures down to 8-9. That is the upper limit of a fridge.

Light gloves, fleece jacket. Good hiking shoes since they protect you more. Scarf is good since it allows you to layer. No need for hat. If can bring in a blanket, please do! Saw some tourists doing that.

[laugh] i remember that place. my gf's friends went swimming somemore [hur]

i was a little sick that time. when i waddled in the water i almost died liao. its like ice kosong! the wind was crazy too. it was late apr den... so u can imagine!

I also took the toorak rd straight to puffing billy. [nod]

In melbourne i stay at city rd / short stay apartments. Just a 5 mins walk to Crowns.........wahhhhhhh....more asians gambling there then ang mohs. [crazy]

i realised its always the case in casinos around the world.

i stayed in my gf's place an area called berwick. bout 45mins drive to city. the roads r like so darn straight. imagine driving at 2am in the morning when u're so tired. wanna open window also cannot.

nevertheless if i can work in melbourne i will gladly go. love that place so much. cranky weather( i mean really cranky, u can xperience like 4 seasons with a day!) many a times but nice people and turtle slow pace of life(kinda irritating thou). den if u cook everyday, its actually relatively cheap to stay there.

also there was a rd called thomson road in the suburbans leading to frankston beach.

one fine night we had this idea to go there walk walk.

darn... it was the freaking longest thomson road 1 can every freaking travel. its around 150km long man! the road was totally dark! dont even have reflectors on the road. scary....

When driving to Hopetoun Falls. Saw the tiger snake slithering on the side of the road. I'm protected by car armor and I siam the snake like until the other side. [laugh]

Scared the snake is a 201mph snake and chase hunt me down.

Just been talking to my wife. Its been over two weeks and the ooohs and aahhhs have dissipated. Some insights on tourist traps.

1. 12 Apostles

It is a damn big tourist trap if you go at the wrong time. Should have stayed in Port Campbell and go to the 12 Apostles and very early in the morning. The problem withthe 12 Apostles is not so much the view but the army of Chinese shutter infantry that came by the bus loads. We arrived at a time that most of them arrived which was late afternoon. The 12 Apostles carpark was also very full with cars and tour buses. Scary!

2. Phillip Island Penguin Parade

This is another one marred by the army of Chinese shutter infantry. Very crowded. I was glad I bought the Penguin Plus because this brought us all away from the shutter infantry. Even though away, there was a Chinese (could be SGer or HKer who knows?) there who brought his son over to the front when the penguins came and blocked everyone's view. He got scolded by some other ang moh to go back.

Along the way on our walk back, the shutter infantry was out in force and filiming the penguins with their smartphones even though we are all instructed not to do so.

Now I've been informed if you want to see penguins, go to the Southbank in Melbourne and book the summer BBQ cruise. It brings you to the "lost secret penguin colony". Inqure at Federation Sq Visitor Info Centre at Flinders St.

If you intend to go to Adelaide, Granite Island at Victor Habour (1 hour south) has fewer tourists and more natural setting. Also gives you the excuse to drive touring Victoria all the way to Adelaide, South Australia. [laugh]

If you are very garang, there is another place to see penguins. Also a lost colony. It is at Warrnambool! Just go to the Breakwater. Wait for low tide. You can check their various weather reports online. Walk over to Middle Island when the tide is low. Wait till dusk but stay on the tracks. They will come. No Chinese shutter infantry will dare venture here with no tour guide. This is also illegal because the island is closed to the public.

Another thing I can also say you will see often. Foxes. I have seen them twice already.

When I was in Lake Fyans Holiday Park, I saw in the dark a fox cross the road over to the cabin next to mine. It was in the cover of darkness. The fox is indeed cunning. I can see him though but it was smart to use the dark shadows to cover its movement. It also moved slowly and confidently. Like our longkang cats. I was this close to it. I walked in its direction but it did not scamper off like our longkang cats. It moved confidently to the cabin's bushes and disappeared from there.

BTW, they kill seabirds, kangaroo, penguins, etc. Any Aussie wildlife they can get their hands on. Really the Amazing Mr Fox. The Aussies have a hard time killing all of them.

Digging up an old thread here.

Flying to Melbourne next week.

I was thinking that pick-up and drop-off at airport will be the most convenient arrangement.

Checked out Hertz, and its 378.13 AUD for a Ford Falcon XR6 for 7 days.

GPS is another 100.10 AUD.

Is it a fair deal?

Any other car rental to recommend?

Digging up an old thread here.

Flying to Melbourne next week.

I was thinking that pick-up and drop-off at airport will be the most convenient arrangement.

Checked out Hertz, and its 378.13 AUD for a Ford Falcon XR6 for 7 days.

GPS is another 100.10 AUD.

Is it a fair deal?

Any other car rental to recommend?

I was in Melbourne 14 Aug till 26 Aug got Ford XR6 too from Hertz best deal compare to all other major car rental. I didnt get GPS but ask for Melbway their road directory, but that is because I know Melbourne very well.

XR6 rate for me was AUD$33 per day exclude pick-up drop off airport charges and insurance

Edited by D3badge

I was in Melbourne 14 Aug till 26 Aug got Ford XR6 too from Hertz best deal compare to all other major car rental. I didnt get GPS but ask for Melbway their road directory, but that is because I know Melbourne very well.

XR6 rate for me was AUD$33 per day exclude pick-up drop off airport charges and insurance

Those specials are on every now and then. I just rented 1 XR6 for my parents (arriving today) for 10days and its around 500+ a bit. Not too bad lah. Pick up Brisbane but return Gold Coast. Without GPS also.