Octane Booster

Ahbengdriver

What is a good brand of OB?

Let me ask also if I were to get direct 'race gas' ie 100 octane, where got sell huh? Garage-R?

Edited by Ahbengdriver

where to get toluene?

Homely Hardware Pte Ltd

1 Ubi Crescent #01-01

Number One Building

Singapore 408563

Tel 67482866

http://www.homely.com.sg/

Go to the paint section (where all the plastic pails are).

16 litre tong:

Kerosene $38.52.

Xylene $52.43.

Methylated spirit $44.94.

Toluene $51.36.

Have fun setting your car on fire.

Oh.... I forgot to mention that it is recommended to add abit of 2T oil to the mix (maybe a tablespoon).

I personally add FP60 as a lubricant. Not absolutely necessary..... but just being safe. (especially if you're adding 1:4 recommended ratio)

Do note that the exhaust is running very hot and becareful not to scorch yourself by standing at the rear just at the exhaust where the gas will hit you.

I used to use NOS Octane Booster on my 800cc and 1100cc bike before. For the initial tank of petrol, throttle response is very good and fast, with at least 5-10% improve. Engine very very smooth and less vibration under high speed (280). On my previous bike which is a 800cc V4 engine, my 3rd get achive 10km/h more when hitting red line comparing before pouring in the OB.

subsequent tank the "punching power" no more there, but engine will running smooth, response good and lesser vibration. iirc, last about 6-9 tanks.

Thank you for sharing and advice. Really appreciate. [thumbsup]

I probably wont use OB, and go straight to some 104 RON gas. This year economy not so good so no luxury overseas holidays over CNY. Instead, will use race gas to try n outrun those new MY TP EVO X up North [drivingcar][lipsrsealed]

Thank you for sharing and advice. Really appreciate. [thumbsup]

I probably wont use OB, and go straight to some 104 RON gas. This year economy not so good so no luxury overseas holidays over CNY. Instead, will use race gas to try n outrun those new MY TP EVO X up North [drivingcar][lipsrsealed]

Personal opinion... think just run your car on normal petrol will do. Unless you're planning to go on a Quarter Mile drag. Dont mess with the octane. It'll mess your car's combustion.

buuuuutt.... thats my opinion.... [drivingcar]

What is a good brand of OB?

Let me ask also if I were to get direct 'race gas' ie 100 octane, where got sell huh? Garage-R?

What is your car's compression ratio and is it turbocharged? u run it at what boost?

if NA then forget about octane booster..the only thing it boost is your ego

Personal opinion... think just run your car on normal petrol will do. Unless you're planning to go on a Quarter Mile drag. Dont mess with the octane. It'll mess your car's combustion.

buuuuutt.... thats my opinion.... [drivingcar]

I always use pump gas so far, good enough bcos our SG RON is quite high. Race gas only gu gu jit bai. No lah I dont drag race one, not so siao like those americanos...u see their cars also scared.

I only break rules when my compass needle points to the "N" [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Ahbengdriver

What is your car's compression ratio and is it turbocharged? u run it at what boost?

if NA then forget about octane booster..the only thing it boost is your ego

TC-ed. Probably 16 to 17 psi. Just a trial only lah. Normally run around 13 psi or so only.

The effects are a much quicker spool if you bump it close to 100RON. You'll also have boost spikes and boost seems to hold at peak longer before it drops. (That's for toluene though... not the VP RON104 which you're eyeing)

Also, it has a kinda errrr..... sweet smell coming outta the exhaust. [sweatdrop]

TC-ed. Probably 16 to 17 psi. Just a trial only lah. Normally run around 13 psi or so only.

The effects are a much quicker spool if you bump it close to 100RON. You'll also have boost spikes and boost seems to hold at peak longer before it drops. (That's for toluene though... not the VP RON104 which you're eyeing)

Also, it has a kinda errrr..... sweet smell coming outta the exhaust. [sweatdrop]

Yeah lor. Thats why this is good only up there. Back home better dont pray pray. Frankly boost spikes can be quite scary.

Not really scary leh.... just don't feel comfortable since car was not tuned for it.. and internal dunno can tahan or not. But can tell you... its damn shiok feeling lor..... (now I understand why people want to run extreme boost, but alot of thing to mod internally to take the abuse)

When I backside itchy changed a new wastegate..... the stiffer spring produced boost spikes upto 1.95 bar.... then a couple of such test sprints, CEL came out (but car did not go into safe/limp mode) That was a 0.45 bar increase..... had to get my tuner to reduce the solenoid duty cycle to bring it back to normal.

As for the Octane boost.... spike is not that much lah... maybe 0.2bar more.

Edited by Dwoon