China: Beijing Holiday

Lufu

Hi Bro,

Best if u get familiar with the yuan, different colour & values.

Was passed a faked 100 yuan.

Food is cheap, travel around in taxis is easier & not ex.

Be prepared for traffic jams & spittings.

Enjoy

Many Thanks to all who repied with tips and tricks.

$20 ride is rather cheap. Any particular taxi company to avoid or only take specific taxi?

I recall in Shanghai, I was told to take only taxis from a major operator and avoid the rest.

I suppose they don't have the high speed train that goes from airport to the city unlike Shanghai.

Airport buses are available that goes to major downtown areas. I didn't take coz I'm on business trip and carrying a big luggage. Not so convenient and besides, the taxi fare is reasonably cheap.

I'm not sure if you should avoid any taxi companies in Beijing. I always take from the hotel (Grand Hyatt). Some taxis might not be that clean on the inside but I've not had any bad encounters where they try to cheat you....as long as you have a destination in mind. Taxis run on meter, you can ask for receipt for every trip.

In HK, it is quite convenient to take the airport train.

Hi Bro,

Best if u get familiar with the yuan, different colour & values.

Was passed a faked 100 yuan.

Food is cheap, travel around in taxis is easier & not ex.

Be prepared for traffic jams & spittings.

Enjoy

Not only 100 bill but 50, 20, 10 u name it they have it, in fake.

Spitting is one thing to be careful, If in the cab sitting behind driver dun wind down window, if driver Ka-pui, the back pax kana! [laugh]

Any bro in beijing during this time of the year...going there next week any things to take note?

wear mask.  polluted air.

wear warmer.  -3 degree

ENJOY YOUR TRIP!

Edited by Dleodleo

Any bro in beijing during this time of the year...going there next week any things to take note?

Bring N95 mask along & use http://aqicn.org/city/beijing/us-embassy/ to check AQI.

It is not necessary everyday we got wu mai.  Whenever Northern Wind comes, we are getting AQI < 50.

Bring down jacket & scarf along.  Temp can be btw -2 to 10 deg. 

Being someone from hot weather, it is not easy to get use to the cold weather especially on days with Northern Wind

If you need to know more, juz PM me.  I works here.

Bring N95 mask along & use http://aqicn.org/city/beijing/us-embassy/ to check AQI.

It is not necessary everyday we got wu mai.  Whenever Northern Wind comes, we are getting AQI < 50.

Being someone from hot weather, it is not easy to get use to the cold weather especially on days with Northern Wind

Alrite thanks for the assistance

wish you have a speedy immigration queue

jin jialat ar the queue??

Depands on your timing of arrival.  Usually 1 hr.

Rem to go Beijing airport early.  It could take up to 1 hr to clear both immigration and airport security.

Got lotsa atb to see leh

So bad meh ð

foreign passport counter no atbs

need to behave like the chevy driver.... ya its that bad

Edited by Enye

How do you maintain your running regime there?