Dental charges - is it too expensive

Hishercar

drinking water got fluoride

toothpaste got fluoride

if you sneek in chewing gum into spore - those professional cleaning teeth ones have fluoride also

I am not dentist but I do understand that there are certain limit the humba body can tolerate fluoride after that limit it becomes toxic

personally i think price is one thing but what matters is really the quality of work when it comes to dentists. I had heard of many people who went to cheap dentist for treatment, polishing and ended up with more pain and fustration. For these kind of things...what matters most to me is the quality of their work...price is really secondary.

Not visited a dentist for some time and when I did visit one late last year. It cost me SIN$120 ++ from one of the neighbourhood dentist. faint.....never tot it cost $100 plus to visit a dentist just for scaling and polishing.

The killer cost comes from the "Fluoride Application" to "protect" your teeth. The dentish applied this fluoride dark yellowish thing on my teeth for 15 min after the scaling and polishing. And it cost near 40 over bucks for it.....amazing.

so next time will remove this option when the dentist suggest it

my last visit to them cost me 230 bucks.

1) Remove and Replace 1 Molar Filling.

2) Scaling.

3) Antiseptic Spray

1 hour job... most expensive lady i met in my life.

Does anyone knows if the fluoride application is necessary?

Cost like $20. Seems to me it's a gimmick to earn profit.

Q&M charges $40 for it.

Dentist said it's optional after she suggested it,

which makes me think it's really not necessary.

asked her water, toothpaste got flouride also,

but she said the difference is the concentration.

I used to scratch my head wondering how dentist make an income, looking at the "traffic flow" in a dental center comparing to a GP clinic.

I finally know how, 6 months ago when I visited them due to a toothache, and pay $1.2k for a root canal. And for the patient before me, paid a good $4.5k for a implant.

come back office and shared the incident with my colleagues during lunch time talk. Then learn that a family member of my manager spend $16k to do 4 implant [hur]

Q&M charges $40 for it.

Dentist said it's optional after she suggested it,

which makes me think it's really not necessary.

asked her water, toothpaste got flouride also,

but she said the difference is the concentration.

I paid nearly a hundred bucks for a simple routine cleaning thats includes checking, scaling and polishing thats finishes in 15-20 minutes. The dentist somemore hurt my tongue with the equipment not specialist somemore. [crazy]

Some one suggested polyclinics which is cheaper, just did a check, they are only on advance bookings system as the appointments are always full. For immediate booking , the earliest available appointment date is in DECEMBER 2009. December? that is 9 months from now!!! And the operator will tell you, you have the choice to go the private clinics. KNN as a citizen I have the choice to go to government dental clinics, not as if it is dirt cheap or free??? [crazy]

Edited by Esprit

my fren who is a doctor said being a dentist is tough...coz everyday u need to look and smell ppl dirty mouth..!!

quite true...everyday look at ppl teeth...i think ur dentist know wat u put inside ur mouth better than anyone else. LOL.

I paid nearly a hundred bucks for a simple routine cleaning thats includes checking, scaling and polishing thats finishes in 15-20 minutes. The dentist somemore hurt my tongue with the equipment not specialist somemore. [crazy]

Some one suggested polyclinics which is cheaper, just did a check, they are only on advance bookings system as the appointments are always full. For immediate booking , the earliest available appointment date is in DECEMBER 2009. December? that is 9 months from now!!! And the operator will tell you, you have the choice to go the private clinics. KNN as a citizen I have the choice to go to government dental clinics, not as if it is dirt cheap or free??? [crazy]

Bro if you live in the west make a booking with Jurong Medical centre beside Jurong Point lah. The waiting list is only a few weeks time if I am not wrong... Dec 09... siao bo haha...

Routine dental usually cost me ard $45 or below so far.

Anything exceeding $60 for routine work is expensive but location also makes a difference.

went to my first dental visit in my life since pri sch. paid $70 to clear 30 years worth of s_h_i_t .

Edited by Dafansu

Ate chicken rice, accidental bit on chicken fragment, pain like hell.

When to see dentist just now to discover that my upper molar is split due to the fragment. Dentist said the molar is gone, and needed to extract. He suggested implant, all in rate $4500.

What an expenisve chicken rice.

Just did a normal regular 6monthly consultation, scaling, polishing at AMK Polyclinic Dental (2nd floor). Time taken quite chop chop 10-15mins max. I'm Singaporean. Price = $42.60.

Got subsidised meh? Like no difference from private dental. [thumbsdown]

The best job in the world.

I mean, how big can the biggest mouth in the world be.

Small work area and hugh bill size. [laugh]

I usually get 3 figure bill for each visit.

My tooth dont ache but I got heart ache [:(]

Just did a normal regular 6monthly consultation, scaling, polishing at AMK Polyclinic Dental (2nd floor). Time taken quite chop chop 10-15mins max. I'm Singaporean. Price = $42.60.

Got subsidised meh? Like no difference from private dental. [thumbsdown]

how do u fix an appointment at polyclinic dental? or is it a walk-in? any waiting?