Anyone knows where to repair chipped windscreen?

Hoppie24

Hi anyone knows where to get good workmanship of repairing chipped windscreen (Front)

Ok you may wanna ask me why dunwan go claim insurance, the reason is becuz for AIG it cost $100 to change and does not include the solar films, solar film company wanna charge me $200+ for the front only. So total damage will be about $400 after GST.

If you know any shop or FL that can do a good job, do let me know. Thanks alot.

You got PMed.

He is FL btw. He came to my block's mscp to repair it for me. IIRC he charged me $50 in 2007. But dun expect your windscreen to be flawless like it used to be. The repair will prevent the cracks from growing into bigger cracks and eventually give way. You will still see fine cracks under sunlight. But it's still better dan all the trouble to change the whole windscreen.

Yup, "repaired" my cracked windscreen by Mr Ng.

Here's the before:

IMG_2706.JPG

IMG_2707.JPG

And the after:

IMG_2713.JPG

The small translucent dot is the resin that he had to put in place of the missing glass.

Cost me S$50. Money well spent, if u ask me.

Cheers!

Edited by Azrielsc

From my little knowledge on glass, do not recommend repair on wind screen as they have gone through heat treatment. chips in general have weaken the glass and it is dangerous.

Best option is to buy wind screen insurance the next time. For small minor scratches, leave it alone. I may be wrong.

i also got a chip few days back. realised that the chip is slowly becoming bigger. i think it's still better to change the whole windscreen for safety. mine is under AXA if i'm not wrong free windscreen and for tinted film u can do for less than $100 for front windscreen.

dsc0006a.jpg

dsc0001ag.jpg

I tried to repair a chip on the windscreen a few years ago at a shop in Ubi. It cost me S$80 but the chip is 100% visible with just silicon or whatever compound filled in. No point and went straight to claim insurance for a new windscreen. But Azrielsc's pictures of his repair is damn impressive!

I was quite amazed too. Cuz it was a crack with a few lines and the machine used by Mr. Ng basically sucked out the air and squeezed the cracks back together again.

my cracks got worst on sat while travelling on cte. went to tuffi tech pte ltd on same day. they specialised in windscreen repairs for axa and ntuc. no need to pay anything but the tinted film not covered

Haiz.....my badluck....my pica windscreen kena a flying stone from nowhere when I was on my roadtrip coming down Cameron towards KL. At first the crack was only a little w/o puncture then slowly it started to be more obvious. [smallcry]

When came back 3rd day there was a 7cm hairline crack forming and was thinking that will send over for some sort of repair but was tied up with work..today when I was about to park at maxwell carpark, heard another "pop" sound and immediately saw another 2 more 10 cm cracks forming...xim tiah ar... [bigcry] total got 3 cracks liao...think Mr Ng http://eglass.bravehost.com also cannot help me liao...immediately call NTUC and they ask me to go down tuffi at sin ming there for the replacement tmr. Lucky got stock for my pica windscreen. [sweatdrop]

Btw any bros and sis here know where can do cheap tinting for the windscreen?the top part of my windscreen has a 15cm sun-strip from left to right to shield off the sun (cover the rear view mirror too as it was sticked to the windscreen). was thinking of gg paya ubi there got a tinting shop...but need bros out there to recommend and if have discount lagi better la. hee... [rolleyes] broke liao...really is 破财消灾。。。 [:|]

I think you must have received from here good advices as NOT to repair on the front wind screen.

Look, if repair cost is $50-80, you might as well pay slightly more $120 - 200 to replace the whole screen via insurance benefits.

Moreover, as many had said - the 'scar' will still be very visible after its flawlessly repair.

Even if its not visible thru' naked eyes, you will still notice the different shade (a blurr patch) especially when viewed against opposite headlights at night travels.

And it can be dangereous if its positioned from your view to the lower front.

Thus, my advice is as above.

Trust me.

Done up my replacement of chipped windscreen today at 10am at Tuffi Sin Ming. Wonderful job done! [thumbsup]

Claim NTUC insurance and paid $107 with GST and also add $15 for the sunshield strip.

The reception told me if do up the window tinting film will cost $90, but since I have already done the sunshield strip, will not be nice to just patch over it and need to remove the strip again so will need to top up another $15 since the strip cannot be replaced back. [sweatdrop]

Wonder is it true?any bros here has done the same thing?I had lobang outside can do the tinting too but still asking around for quotes. [gossip]