Tissue paper chopping table

these ppl is the worst loh

they die die wanna eat together in group.

occupy many seats empty, then slowly go source for food (empty table waste during that period)

when food come 1 by 1 , must wait until all eat finish, talk cock drink water abit then leave in group

(more seat wasted again)

not to mention some time table is not fully occupy but they refuse to let single share the empty seat

if no 1 chop seat, all take food share table, eat at go.

the need to ever shop seat wont arise in the first place.

I will avoid these places, 'see no evil' behavior [laugh]

I have never worked in CBD but always heard about how difficult it is to find seats or table in food center.

Perhaps they can think about having some table that standing with no seats.

Than everyone will leave after finishing their food, if want to gossip and rest, can go cafe or walk around the various shopping area.

If one is alone, how are you going to chope the seat and go buy food? Simple as that.

Personally, I find eating alone has the least worries of getting a seat. Just buy your food, chances of finding a single seat is high, if you don't mind sharing table.

Tissue chope-ing is rude lah. Most of the time they take a long time to return to the seats. During that time, someone who did not do that is without a seat even though it is empty.

Want to eat together means want to socialise while eating.

Want to socialise while eating don't be ngeow...go to an aircon restaurant where the whole table can be yours for the whole lunch hour. No wait....how to split the bill at the restaurant huh? Better go back foodcourt.LOL

My grandma taught me not to talk while eating...so I prefer to just queue, buy, sit, eat and F off rather than lunching in a group.

Shouldn't the thread title be "choping" instead of chopping?

This grave misuse of singlish should be brought up in parliament.

I have never worked in CBD but always heard about how difficult it is to find seats or table in food center.

Perhaps they can think about having some table that standing with no seats.

Than everyone will leave after finishing their food, if want to gossip and rest, can go cafe or walk around the various shopping area.

I have also never worked in CBD b4, I find working away from CBD very good

I don't read the MSM (don't want to pollute my mind), so I don't know exactly what the article said. But those who rail against seat "chope"-ing simply haven't considered the pain of having your hands full of hot food that's rapidly cooling but being unable to find a seat to eat, with people jostling you and giving you f**ked up dirty looks every few seconds. It's especially dire for someone who comes to lunch alone, having no one to hold the table or buy the food on his/her behalf. Groups aren't as affected by this. So is it really fair to penalise the lone lunch goer? He/she might have been working especially hard and therefore come rushing to have a quick bite right during peak hour before rushing back to work.

Isn't the practice of reserving seats exactly contributing to or increasing the likelihood that someone with hot food is unable to find a seat? At the root of this seat reservation practice is the 'me first' mentality - I want to ensure that I have a seat waiting for me immediately after I get my food.

So if the 'me first' mentality is acceptable lest the individual finds himself/herself in a situation holding a tray full of hot food with no seat to sit down on and the very real possibility of other jostling into him/her while throwing f**ked up dirty looks his/her way every few seconds, would it be acceptable if I apply it to, say, the roads or car park? 

​Yes that should be the way man. It is really not unsustainable...

​The irony part is that when goverment keep step in every little thing people complain, means more regulations added. More regulations added is equal to hurting business owner, consumers. Not only that, when government put in too much energy on all those little thing, equal less energy to focus on other important thing, plus they will need to expend goverment to due to increase in regulations. Government end up need to spend more, which led to increase in taxes due to spending increase in socialist policy..

He said call police....

police not under govt?

For private retail shops, I can understand the rent is expensive. So they need to create as many stalls as possible but as little sitting to maximize rent. Now hawker centre stalls are getting smaller and more stall. So naturally there isn't enough seats for the crowd.

With more hawker centres converting to food courts, CDB is going to be packed during lunch. This is also why our retail malls are not doing well. The crowd only comes during lunch and then after eating they rush back. Even if they return during non lunch hours, there is nothing to shop except F&B.

Using tissue paper to chop table are usually done by big group, but then I dun understand all must go buy together cannot have 1 person staying.

I lunch alone so no problem, I go to places that no need to chop.

i know where you go for lunch already

post-131345-0-77830700-1491132497.png :XD: 

pls dont ban me :D 

He said call police....

police not under govt?

Call police not so bad as government step in and set regulations. The most police ask them to settle themselves privately.

There are of coz basic services that need to function like police, fireman, nurse, doctor and etc. Government job is actually very easy, to ensure country law and order. The rest like dispute between people who chop the table and those who want to sit, dispute between people we met into accident or etc. Those are the thing government should never step in.

It is best for people to settle among themselves. If cannot settle, then see who got time and money and engage lawyer and fight in court lor. The out of expese is only for the involved party. If government step in, all these means increase in expenses and the out of expense now is shared among taxpayers money even for those many not involved and that is the difference..

Edited by Yewheng

Using tissue paper to chop table are usually done by big group, but then I dun understand all must go buy together cannot have 1 person staying.

I lunch alone so no problem, I go to places that no need to chop.

unker go atas makan places of course no need to chope seat  :grin:

I stay away from OL, they are very politic, you duno what you gossip with them will come back to haunt you [sweatdrop][laugh]

mcf also got old uncle gossip

someone you bao said one

Call police not so bad as government step in and set regulations. The most police ask them to settle themselves privately.

There are of coz basic services that need to function like police, fireman, nurse, doctor and etc. Government job is actually very easy, to ensure country law and order. The rest like dispute between people who chop the table and those who want to sit, dispute between people we met into accident or etc. Those are the thing government should never step in.

It is best for people to settle among themselves. If cannot settle, then see who got time and money and engage lawyer and fight in court lor. The out of expese is only for the involved party. If government step in, all these means increase in expenses and the out of expense now is shared among taxpayers money even for those many not involved and that is the difference..

wow, 153 words