Hurray! Achieved 12.88km/L for 2005 auto cerato HB!

Whyeme

finally! my 5th tank of SPC92 returned 12.88km/L...but i did try my best to let the car roll (neutral gear) down slopes whenever possible...I drive 70% of the time, wife 30%. She dun care abt FC and rams engine to 3.5k-4k RPM change gear... [sweatdrop]

dude, auto dun free the gear more dangerous than manual freeing it.

bro can elaborate more why dangerous? its rental car so i can experiment...haha

thks

finally! my 5th tank of SPC92 returned 12.88km/L...but i did try my best to let the car roll (neutral gear) down slopes whenever possible...I drive 70% of the time, wife 30%. She dun care abt FC and rams engine to 3.5k-4k RPM change gear... [sweatdrop]

Its dangerous as you have lesser control of the vehicle. Oh and if you keep the gear low enough (but not too low) down the slope, FC will be better than in neutral

thks for the advice bro...perhaps i am used to freeing to neutral gear for my previous starlet...i am guessing its dangerous as might not be able to brake in time? i only free to neutral for gentle slopes not steep ones...

how to keep gear low for auto? no sportstronic gearbox leh... [confused]

What's the big fuss over here. You can probably get 12.88km/L now and can see that you tried so hard to achieve that. I believe each drive is not an enjoyable for you because you will be thinking how to save more petrol.

Please abandon all your dangerous petrol saving techniques for the safety of other road users lah.

thks for the advice bro...perhaps i am used to freeing to neutral gear for my previous starlet...i am guessing its dangerous as might not be able to brake in time? i only free to neutral for gentle slopes not steep ones...

how to keep gear low for auto? no sportstronic gearbox leh... [confused]

If auto then just brake lor. no need to put to neutral. It should downshiftas you go along (though it will do it late to maintain smoothness),

rite mate. will take your advice not to free to neutral. thks for the constructive comments [thumbsup]

If you want to keep to low gear, shift to L, 1 or 2, depending on whatever is on the gear stick.. But I doubt it will be necessary in Singapore..

Edited by Beei

If you want to keep to low gear, shift to L, 1 or 2, depending on whatever is on the gear stick.. But I doubt it will be necessary in Singapore..

Yalor, for auto leave it to D unless you are driving a manual [:)]

save on the petrol end up paying more for your AT gearbox.. crazy right.. free rolling dun save petrol dude.. safety first.. enjoy your ride most importantly.. [smash]

Yup putting auto gearbox to N while the car is moving is the fastest way to kill the torque converter. This is exactly why auto cars cannot be towed with the driven wheels on the road.

How come you sounds like you are driving a manual transmission car when the car is auto transmission one.

For good FC for any car. Pump the minimium RON recommended in the manual, correct tyre pressure, plan your routes. Try and understand the traffic conditions, do not break unnecessary, this requires practice. Moving off, should slowly press the accelerator instead of slamming it.

For auto transmission, let the gear box do its job. Let the gear at D all the way even when stopping at traffic lights. The only time i use the neutral gear is when the car totally stop after parking, foot brake -> neutral -> pull hand brake -> neutral -> then let go foot brake -> shift the gear to P -> stop the engine. This is to prevent gerking of the gear box during the next startup gear shift.

Have applied that for the past 6.5 years on an auto toyota corolla, no problems encountered so far.

Hope this information helps.

Yup putting auto gearbox to N while the car is moving is the fastest way to kill the torque converter. This is exactly why auto cars cannot be towed with the driven wheels on the road.

fortunately i learnt this here bro. thks for the advice [:)]

How come you sounds like you are driving a manual transmission car when the car is auto transmission one.

For good FC for any car. Pump the minimium RON recommended in the manual, correct tyre pressure, plan your routes. Try and understand the traffic conditions, do not break unnecessary, this requires practice. Moving off, should slowly press the accelerator instead of slamming it.

For auto transmission, let the gear box do its job. Let the gear at D all the way even when stopping at traffic lights. The only time i use the neutral gear is when the car totally stop after parking, foot brake -> neutral -> pull hand brake -> neutral -> then let go foot brake -> shift the gear to P -> stop the engine. This is to prevent gerking of the gear box during the next startup gear shift.

Have applied that for the past 6.5 years on an auto toyota corolla, no problems encountered so far.

Hope this information helps.

great info mate! thks so much [thumbsup]

one question bro,

when stopping at traffic light, with the gear at D, is it ok to pull hand brake and let go of brake pedal?