Boy arrested for slamming chair at MP Office

Sleepyman

A 17 year-old-boy was arrested by the police for slamming a chair against a glass door at a meet-the-people session at Serangoon North. This happened after the boy and his mom walked out of MP Cynthia Phua's office. It is not clear what transpired in the office to trigger such rage but in an interview with the New Paper, the mother said that Cynthia Phua had asked his son a series of questions : "Who are you? What are you doing? Why are you not working?". The mother explained that she wanted to answer the questions but was not given a chance. The mother and son said that they felt like they were "being scolded". The mother was working as a cleaner at $400 a month salary (Singapore has no minimum wage laws) and lost her income when she broke her wrist fixing a ceiling fan. As there is no comprehensive safety net in Singapore she had to go to the MP office wait in line for help. She goes to the MP office every month for aid. In this MPS, she had defaulted on her HDB loan and HDB threatens to repossess the flat and give her a rental unit but she cannot afford the $138 rental deposit & stamp duty. She was at the MP office to get MP Phua's signature for an appeal letter. Although the request was granted, the mother and son said they walked out of the office feeling like they have been put down.

"I had to ask some pointed questions about his employment status to understand the root cause of the problem, so that I can be more effective in helping them" - Cynthia Phua

"From what I understand, Madam Phua was being very motherly and very helpful inside the room with them" - MP Lim Hwee Hua

According to the New Paper, the 17 year old boy has low IQ and suffers from thalassermia which renders him weak and sickly. He may be charged in court for "committing a rash act" which carries a fine of up to $2500 and a jail term of up to 6 months.

according to TNP

boy has already wrote an apology letter but MP say this was not accetable.

"I made it clear to (the mother) that this is unacceptable behaviour. It is not justifiable in any circumstance. There's no excuse to be violent"

She say will let poilce handle.

Same woman who kena threatened....hmmm... smell a rat

Sorry...That one Denise Phua.....looks like most Phua ppl trouble finders [furious][furious]

Edited by RadX

I really don't know what to say on how this place is run...

When the gahmen does not feel the sorrow of the citizens, well, look around you...what is happening? [bounce1][bounce1]

media can write...a one sided story... to project good clean image.

we're not there.....so we dun know what is really happening...

hearing a 1 sided story...might not be fair to both sides

in last erection...votes goes to Aljunied GRC with ...Phua....

aren't they suppose to work..for the people....in meet the people session...

why not be graceful and let people off.... ( but saying...apologies not acceptable)

Edited by Lv3338

very sad lei...

mom poor, son sick,

imho just warning la.... like tat also call polis... how is the fine and jail term helpful to the family....

woah if u meet ur MP, dont slam the door, dont knock the table, dont slam ur HP, dont show any anger coz ITS NOT ACCEPTABLE AND U CAN BE CAUGHT BY POLICE!

Oh please,she should have gave him a chance. i think she might never understand or never been thru hard times like the poor ones.i think the boy was thinking that they were there to ask for help and not humiliated [shakehead]

Sad to say that the world we r living in only teaches ppl to earn money but not moral education like kong zi's teaching.

sigh.... mother working at $400 a mth as a cleaner????

result of "outsourcing" which the govt favours?? [lipsrsealed]

sigh.... mother working at $400 a mth as a cleaner????

result of "outsourcing" which the govt favours?? [lipsrsealed]

chicken and egg problem....

partly no protection to local work force...and FT have pressed down the market rate ...

the garment is not doing any to protect... the local...

too much protection to local is no good...

but...no protection to local is also no good.... should be balanced...

moral of e incident--if u need help, juz need 2 say 2 sentences,

1. Yes Sir/Mdm

2. sori Sir/Mdm

don xpect ppl up up up there to noe ur sorrow n s--t <_<

these jiak liao bee MPs, you think they really concern for the people?

don't make me laugh man, if not for the good pay you think they want to waste time at Meet-the-people session?

Be fair. If someone came into your office, started throwing chairs around, would you call for security and the police?

very sad lei...

mom poor, son sick,

imho just warning la.... like tat also call polis... how is the fine and jail term helpful to the family....

Jail term got free lodging and makan, if that's what the mpee thinks . . . . . helping also right? [sleeping]

MPs should already be prepared to face all sorts of people... why should she say that such behaviour is unacceptable. Normal peasant react in that behaviour is unacceptabel.... but know that the son is with low IQ... why hold it against him? fine and jail terms is not going to make the boy understand what is acceptable.