Todayonline - MP had no empathy

Sleepyman

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/ED...-LOH-KIAH-MUAN

Online Only - MP had no empathy

Letter from LAWRENCE LOH KIAH MUAN

Updated 10:07 PM May 13, 2009

It started with Member of Parliament (MP) Seng Han Thong being set on fire. Then came MP Denise Phua who was threatened by a rag-and-bone man. Recently, MP Cynthia Phua was subjected to a display of violence by a constituent.

Although these incidents are disturbing and a cause for concern, I wonder whether the constituents are solely to be blamed.

Allow me to relate my personal experience.

In February 2001, my older son died in a naval accident whilst serving National Service. In that year, my younger son was due for enlistment. A friend, a very active grassroots member, suggested that I approach my MP, for help in exploring the possibility of getting an exemption for my younger son. I was reluctant but he went ahead to fix an appointment for me at the Meet-The-People Session (MPS). I subsequently relented and he accompanied me there. It was in March 2001. That was my first appearance at a MPS, and it was to be my last.

I waited until midnight before I could meet the MP. Prior to this, he was given the case paper which detailed the objective of the meeting and the circumstances of my case.

When I entered the room, his first remark was

actually, when you go mps, you wun be meeting the MPs personally. you'll meet their assistants who will then draft the letter of your appeal to whichever organization. All the MP do is maybe take a look at the letter and then sign. This guys is lucky to have even managed to meet his MP.

But what he said is very true. Some MPs are just there for the extra income, while there are also those who really serve.

Edited by Mdfaz

we have to recognise the fact that the vast majority of MPs take up the role solely for monetary and political gains. Care about their constituents ?? Yah...maybe...they'll 'pretend to care' during pre-election campaigns only lor.

It's a fact of life on this little red dot. Our 'world class leaders, talents' need to be 'bought' with pay packages that are out-of-this-world. The only thing that motivates them is $$$. Compassion for fellow citizens ?? Desire to serve and do good for the nation?? Can eat one or not ?

I'm not saying this is right or wrong. I don't like it either, but in the context of S'pore, perhaps this is a necessary evil. Compassion and emphathy count for little in the face of stiff competition and limited resources (at least that is what the education system seems to be inculcating in our children).

All these MPs are elites, most were born with silver spoons in their mouth and/or are already living a life of luxury. They stay in landed property, get driven around, and earn a five figure salary every month. From their ivory tower, do you think that they can emphatised with the men on the ground, the common folks???

I would think only a small minority can. The rest you can just dream on. This is what happens when MPs are CHOSEN based on their social standing (one of the criteria).

I have one CLOWN in my office who is a RC Member and makes it well known to everyone in the

whole company he's a RC member, even the boss. When company got something on, (he just joined not long ago)

he tells the boss he got RC gathering or dinner to attend. T&hen yaya papaya tell everyone he RC member like some big fark

and ask people their opinion about certain government issues, so he can bring back to the MP as his OWN idea.

RC member so what? we have to KOWTOW to him meh? I wonder how the MP of his area would feel if he knew what

was happening, because he will speak about the PROBLEMS he hears out in public during lunch, so people's problems, deem as

confidential, is never confidential!

Best is to deal with your own problems on your own if you can. You never know who's washing your dirty laundry outside. [shakehead] [shakehead]

Like this CMI idiot in my place. [shakehead] [shakehead]

I have one CLOWN in my office who is a RC Member and makes it well known to everyone in the

whole company he's a RC member, even the boss. When company got something on, (he just joined not long ago)

he tells the boss he got RC gathering or dinner to attend. T&hen yaya papaya tell everyone he RC member like some big fark

and ask people their opinion about certain government issues, so he can bring back to the MP as his OWN idea.

RC member so what? we have to KOWTOW to him meh? I wonder how the MP of his area would feel if he knew what

was happening, because he will speak about the PROBLEMS he hears out in public during lunch, so people's problems, deem as

confidential, is never confidential!

Best is to deal with your own problems on your own if you can. You never know who's washing your dirty laundry outside. [shakehead] [shakehead]

Like this CMI idiot in my place. [shakehead] [shakehead]

RC member realli big fark leh. No need to buy season parking, ur children wan to enroll in Pri school got privilege leh. This is what i am told, how true, i dun know but i believe to a certain extend is true

>>>>>What they need is a caring soul, a helping hand, a gentle voice, and words of hope and encouragement

I am surprised that there are still Singaporeans who would expect the above from MPs.

All these MPs are elites, most were born with silver spoons in their mouth and/or are already living a life of luxury. They stay in landed property, get driven around, and earn a five figure salary every month. From their ivory tower, do you think that they can emphatised with the men on the ground, the common folks???

I would think only a small minority can. The rest you can just dream on. This is what happens when MPs are CHOSEN based on their social standing (one of the criteria).

They claim some of the MP come from humble background wor...........

RC member realli big fark leh. No need to buy season parking, ur children wan to enroll in Pri school got privilege leh. This is what i am told, how true, i dun know but i believe to a certain extend is true

I know the parking is free, in their estate's MSCP, amothe rother things, like free

usage of the GRC Club at Yio cHu Kang. This guy has a face you would want to shove

your boot right in. So yaya, it even makes the term YAYA feel shameful. [thumbsdown]

I know the parking is free, in their estate's MSCP, amothe rother things, like free

usage of the GRC Club at Yio cHu Kang. This guy has a face you would want to shove

your boot right in. So yaya, it even makes the term YAYA feel shameful. [thumbsdown]

Your RC colleague sounds and looks like a right jack ass, why is he still having a job in your company???

that time my friend went to pub to drink with his friends

then got one yaya guy anyhow join them

then he distribute his namecard to lend support to his yayaness

everyone accepted his card out of courtesy

then my firend left the pub later and got harresed by ah gua

he gave the card to the ah gua and said:

i now no mood, call me on monday lah [idea]

[laugh][laugh][smash]

Heard that once MP retire or finish some terms in office, he can get pension. If this is true then some MPs are really collecting extra allowance$. I havent really met my MP before. Not that I need to see him, it's just that he doesnt show up till election time.

actually, when you go mps, you wun be meeting the MPs personally. you'll meet their assistants who will then draft the letter of your appeal to whichever organization. All the MP do is maybe take a look at the letter and then sign. This guys is lucky to have even managed to meet his MP.

But what he said is very true. Some MPs are just there for the extra income, while there are also those who really serve.

i really doubt it's for the income per se. probably the perceived status and some privileges that we common mortals don't get.

of course, i do believe some MPs genuinely care for the people.

MP insensitive ah? there are c0cks from all walks of life. including top politicians. just speaking generally [flowerface]

Had an RC "member" arrogantly pass me his namecard with one hand between two fingers. I didn't ask for it, I wasn't interested. Nvm.

I took his namecard with my left hand between my two fingers as well, and while he bragging all his BS to me, I listened intently but at the same time I started fiddling with the card, and eventually rolled it up into a mini "pipe" and fiddled with it for a while before leaving it on the table beside my used toothpicks.

He saw it, didn't look pleased, and that's when I told him a little of myself and he realised he was preaching to the choir.

What a loser.

Your RC colleague sounds and looks like a right jack ass, why is he still having a job in your company???

My boss has a high tolerance, and no jokes about it.

The whole company can't stand this clown, he's only been here a couple of

months and made enemies with almost everyone in management.

Says all our jobs can be out sourced. [furious]

Best of all, he sleeps everyday and in front of all of us, when the boss isn't around. [furious]