Any jobless/job seekers ard?

Peqasus

interesting to know what is salary range in singapore for 10years experience automatiom engineer/senior engineer?

My guess is 4-4.5k depends on company....

Automation is a dying industry in singapore liao... nv kena retrenched shuld "arm-chio" liao

If u have no relevant maritime cert or experience, then u got to start from right at the bottom. Abt US$1-2k tax free per mth.

bro,really so little ?

i used to do work onboard a drill ship

the technician from the owner side incharge of my team was a fresh NTU grad with 2nd class lower honours, we got along fine as

out of the 100souls on board the vessel, we are the only 2 sgporeans

he is drawing USD12k with no experience and his post is a technician !, 21days shore holiday every 6months

Edited by Ah_tee

Actually, I find that so far in this recession, the job situation is still not as bad as the one in 2001.

I remember then that the job ads in the papers for saturday was only 1 page..... and most vacancies were for the financial services industry.

Back then.... I kena retrenched and took 8 months to find another job, taking a 20% pay cut.

2001 ?I think is 2003 during the SARS period .I remember that time weekday ST classified got zero advertisment for jobs , only saturday then got 1 miserable page.

I was also got retrenched and only found a jobs after 9 months.Luckily my previous car loan all pay up liao so song song drive until 2005 .

My guess is 4-4.5k depends on company....

Automation is a dying industry in singapore liao... nv kena retrenched shuld "arm-chio" liao

a dying industry's engineer can get 4-4.5k [dizzy]

not bad lah, it's consider as low or high incom?

Yah I think that time SARS period 2003 was really bad. I was retrenched with about 10 years experience and no interviews for like 2-3 months. Then was offered a job less than 50% of my previous pay by one local big GLC, almost took it up lucky they very fussy say must do more due-diligent/background check before offer. Same weekend got another offer only 20% cut.

I have resigned again last year just one week before the Lehman brother fiasco (and subsequently the financial crisis), now doing some freelance work, not so bad can get back my previous pay level, just not as stable (but more free time). It seems like there are a lot of work to be done out there but due to fear, a lot of company don't dare to hire that's all.

Maybe Adrianli is referring to ordinary seamen or messboy. Actually that kind of pay is quite ok for them. It's like labourer/construction worker pay. unskilled workers.

For technician levels, sometimes their pay can be quite high. ie, last time when I went to a floating barge, I TCSS alot with a injured crane operator. He told me his salary was SGD7k. Suddenly my jaw dropped. Didn't realised skilled workers salary can be so high. But his crane operating experience is quite needed coz he needs to balance the boom along with the barge rolling...

i have sales job to offer! no experience needed, no qualification also accepted

time up to individual, earn up to 10k a month if hardworking!

When u still newbie, expect only US$1k per mth. After a yr or so then slowly increase one.

I ever met before 1 Master of a bulk carrier. Revealed to me he started off as a mess boy. Kept on studying during long voyage, sign off will go for exams. 25 years later, he became Master. I was like ...wow....so inspirational.

those crane operator can fetch such figure like u said in past ,now quite hard..all FT took over..

another is those operating construction crane..also easily such figures..

there's more shocking salary in unexpected industry one..but yet to explore nia..eg a vendor doing newspaper..can earn $20k+ a month...believe ma?lol

Where got so big frog jumping on the streets? Wait you ask me flykite...... [sweatdrop]

well sales is like that wat, you write your own paycheck

anyway, i also didnt believe until i did up this job

well sales is like that wat, you write your own paycheck

anyway, i also didnt believe until i did up this job

sales job is tough. challenging yet rewarding. $10k a month is quite a norm.

Wah...start off from crewmen to become

Going thru the chain of cmd...its really a long way to go but at least its a good pay job.

Crewmen normally rotate arond every 40-60 days.

While rigs will go longer even up to 100 days.

But it is a really no life job, practically on 24/7.

But at least it is rewarding in the pay.

Not only the crewmen gets high pay. Even thos project chief or rm or osm

Those are the ones earning big bucks. easily 1 mth us15k. But not easy to land the job and your network needs to be very big to know the right person to go in.

Which is y normally if someone enters O&G or Offshore Marine industry, they will stay for long.

And also stability is so much better than finance co, even got crisis, drillng is still going on just that production is reduced and belt tighten.

Too bad, I am only in forwarders in this industry. Now always keep a look out for vacancy from my customer. But still no luck. Have but too far....hai~~

wah seriously i'm keen to knw which industry you belong to...$10k sounds promising.....im sales in marine btw...

You are the real Gary84 ar?

So selling porn videos can earn $10k per month or not ar? :D

I was the total opposite..... reternched after 1 month of collecting new car. <_<

2001 ?I think is 2003 during the SARS period .I remember that time weekday ST classified got zero advertisment for jobs , only saturday then got 1 miserable page.

I was also got retrenched and only found a jobs after 9 months.Luckily my previous car loan all pay up liao so song song drive until 2005 .