Put Euro Style Licence Plate Some More Lah

Nohnemwan

For all those who like Euro plate, small plate, chrome plate, SMLJ plate....You will get caught:

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...626-150974.html

Hundreds caught with illegal plates

Over 700 motorists hauled up in first four months of this year alone. -myp

Fri, Jun 26, 2009

my paper

[top: A 7 series BMW that spotted the Land Transport Authority's (LTA) disapproved Euro car plates at Bencoolen Street. More car owners are using Euro car plates which are considered illegal as their font size and colour do not conform to the LTA's vehicle licence plate requirements.]

By DARYLL NANAYAKARA

THEY are bright, stylish - and illegal.

And they are hot, so much so that some car owners are willing to risk a jail term of up to three months just so they could have number plates that look good even though they do not conform with Land Transport Authority (LTA) stipulations, such as European Union-style ones.

The LTA told my paper that 726 drivers were caught in the first four months this year for such offences. For the whole of last year, only 2,039 were caught.

Car workshops told my paper that such licence plates are still flying off the shelves despite the severe penalty.

On the average, the workshops said they each receive between 35 and 50 requests per month from drivers wanting to switch to the illegal licence plates - which can cost between $40 and $65 each, depending on the size and design.

Mr S. L. Teo, 32, from Autozone Motoring, said: "There will always be a demand for the nicer ones that are illegal.

"The approved ones have too many restrictions in terms of how they should look and how big they should be."

Another workshop operator, Deck Carcraft's Jackson Kang, 27, said: "Customers are willing to take the risk even after we tell them the plates are not approved ones.

"To them, how their car looks is more important."

Another reason smaller plates appeal to drivers is to avoid detection by the authorities.

Illegal plates that use reflective fonts and contain ornamental marks alongside the vehicle's registration number may make it difficult to read the car's licence number when the vehicle is moving, for example, when it is involved in a hit-and-run accident.

A staff member of a workshop, who declined to be named, said: "The majority of the drivers come with heavily modified cars they use in illegal races and the smaller the plates, the harder it would be for the Traffic Police to read them."

According to LTA guidelines on the One.Motoring website, approved licence plates should have letters and figures that are 70mm high, 50mm wide and 10mm broad.

However, illegal plates usually have fonts that are between 10mm and 15mm smaller than stipulated by the LTA.

A spokesman for LTA said drivers caught with plates that do not conform to requirements face a fine of up to $1,000 or a jail term of up to three months.

In addition, the drivers would have to have the defective plates made good within seven days or risk facing a maximum fine of $2,000 or six months' jail - the penalty for repeat offenders.

[email protected]

Wat so nice abt euro plates ahz? Pay 30 to 60 bucks for it and risk paying more in fines if get caught.

Look at the number plate all know its from spore de. [confused]

how come ang mo can see the numbers on the number plate in their country.. but locals here eyes too small cannot see

actually i have a fren who doesnt know anything abt cars couldnt believe that the chrome number plates are illegal. she says SG gov is really very strict.

Yar...really funny WHY people keep saying raised chrome number is illegal.

In fact if you see the taxi/lorry, they are also using raised number.

Also long time ago in the 80's, Singapore cars all use raised chrome number as well.

As long as the chrome/silver is used with black plate...then it should be Legal.

our LTA sibei bo liao, bloody reckless dangerous drivers they dontnknow how to catch, this type they catch until oo say .

how come ang mo can see the numbers on the number plate in their country.. but locals here eyes too small cannot see

Don't have to compare with far way countries. Locally can already....if can see bike's reg plate....I don't see how they cannot see those 'euro' font.

My guess is that some of their equipment cannot read these foreign fonts.

Edited by Silver_blade

people usually find the easiest route to anything

is it easier to catch those euro licence plate or reckless driver

those that break the rules intention already know that have to pay the consequences

like if we park illegally we already factor in that we have to pay the fine but if we dont get fine than it is a bonus

road killer get a small fine no jail term

chrome number plate and get potential 3 months jail

somehow it encourages more road killer around

time to buy a safe car

IMO, LTA is too strict with the whole vehicle modifications guidelines...

i buy the car with my hard earned monet, what i wanna do to the engine is up to me..spoil also i spend my own money to replace..why they have to kaypoh so much..

if they are scared that heavily modded vehicles are used for illegal racing, then instead of putting "*yada yada mods* may lead to premature failure of the engine and other related components. Hence, this may also adversely affect the safety and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle and is therefore not allowed.", might as well put "*yada yada mods* may lead to illegal street racing and therefore are not allowed"

It's a whole lot of bull. Those so-called illegal plates are difficult to read? In case people use the cars to commit crime? Please lah! If I wanted to do something really illegal, what makes the authority think I'll even put my real license plate number on my car? I'll put a very legit looking plate, but false number. Really no sense at all!

And for hit and run cases, people either can see or cannot see the number plate clearly, and if they can see, whether they can remember is another story. And there's no such a thing as the chrome letterings cannot be caught by cameras.

They are just being anal and fine happy, that's all.

Wat so nice abt euro plates ahz? Pay 30 to 60 bucks for it and risk paying more in fines if get caught.

Look at the number plate all know its from spore de. [confused]

I read the article first few lines also want to start laughing :D What's so stylish about Euro plates? Ang-moh from Europe also laugh to know that their common license plates are considered stylish here...

It's all about trend and popularity..... just a fad, if you want to think of it this way.

Why don't we start a movement to make legal singapore license plates 'cool' [cool] until ang-moh overseas start installing 'illegal' singapore-style license plates in their own countries :D

Possible! If enough of us start to make it popular...

road killer get a small fine no jail term

chrome number plate and get potential 3 months jail

somehow it encourages more road killer around

time to buy a safe car

Hell yeah... Damns! [crazy][thumbsdown]