The horrible colleague / office politics thread

Ahtong

I see where the problem is.

This is a problem that can only be solved with time.

When the new guy / gal (cannot be sexy these days we must be evil to all fairly)

joins then give him / her / shim all the work you don't want to do.

This is what I did and now I sleep very well.

Haha. I guess it's the culture here.. it's an alpha male environment whereby the whole department has 2 females..

1 auntie who enjoy cooking, eating nuts during office hours.. waiting for retirement age..

She's the pioneer.. throughout the years, fat bonus and share options.

She can easily tired.. but still choose to work and relax at a corner..

Amazing, our office got cooker, a fridge and oven..

i am.usually the mediator, create love in the office space :D

The world need people like you

you are totally at conflicts with your words here!

if simplicity is beauty, while are you ranting here where your office environment is so superb with such colleagues and bosses?

work is about $, else its stil $, then its power else . . . . . its still $ & power

it is those whom are oledi beri comfortable with their $ and very stable with their "power" would say "got no big dream" . . .

and if you are neither the above, you jolly well wake up the idea and get back to your battling gear!

it is this mode that will keep you going up and breathe well....

Cheerios

Do let me have a channel whereby I can voice it out

I hardly talk in the office.. who can I talk to?

Everyone is so busy with our work..

Yes, I work for money but also for a living. I came in with a rank lower and pay cut, just to have more quality time with family.

Money is important but it don't allow me to do the things I want with my family.

The last job I had, a pay increment but long working hours plus got to stay standby 24/7 as I'm taking care of the MRO..

my current pay is the same as I had in 3 years back.. so does that make me someone who is comfortable with the current $?

Do the 3 As which can also be applied to other things in life.

Accept it.

Alter it.

Avoid it.

Wise words

95% of people think they are above average in intelligence

but only 50% of people really are.

We all cannot be victims of office politics

50% of us must be the perpetrators and

it cannot be only me right? Please share

how you make the life of your employees

miserable. Please don't be shy lah

Sharing is caring hor. [thumbsup]

Ok, since they don't want to teach or talk to me.

I also don't want to teach or talk to the prc.. anyway she always got my name wrongly.. and it pissed me off..

It's not curve, kurb, koh, khoo..

Can anyone share stories of the most horrible colleagues you have met?

My office is still ok but how do you handle tai chi masters, backstabbers, hot air balloons, prima donnas, blur sotongs and other difficult people at work?

My way is to quit the job and find ways to work for ownself.

I blame HR.

They should just hire competent people that are nice to work with.

If they cannot find then just hire nice looking ladies.

Both also don't know how to do.

To me managing people is the easiest thing in the world.

Just tell people what to do lah.

What so hard about that?

I had one colleague who farts openly. High pitch phoooooo . . . buay pai seh one. Lucky for everyone, he quit.

haha, this is ultimate..

I used to have an assistant, female..

in her teens and had terrible hygiene issue.. 

she had terrible, really foul B.O..

the whole escalator will stink when she is in it..

for sensitive nose like me, this is hell..

I recall that I had a session with my superior on this, talking about her and my sensitive nose..

To me managing people is the easiest thing in the world.

Just tell people what to do lah.

What so hard about that?

it show you got leadership..

I don't.. when my subordinates don't do the way or correctly, despite teaching them many times..

I give up and do it myself..

you can't teach old dogs new tricks..

Since it is only a few month.Things will get better as you transit to become lao jiao. You will realise some work might be unnecessary as observed on your "slack" colleague and doing everythung as in the job description might to abit too much.

Edited by Ender

decided to write something to vent my anger and unhappiness at work. Ranting only.. I need this job..

Joined less than a year, still happy with the organization, boss and work but don't really like my department colleagues.

Big team, around 14 staff, 1 A.M & 1 VP.

being new, get pushed around, living alone in my own environment.

A.M is a nice guy, got X factor and influential but don't dare to get too close with him..

somehow feel the rest of the colleagues might think I wanna rub shoulder with him..

hence most of the time during work, I hardly say a word..

while I try to maintain/meet to the request of my end user..

work load is hectic but still liveable and doable.. :XD:

the PRC beside me.. basically do nothing, spend 90% of her time playing with hp.. talking to her child etc..

somemore same level with me.. E6..

I working like a horse while she's in lala land.. Don't she feel bad or worried about redundant?

the malay chap behind me, find him irresponsible.. most of his work, is just sweep and go..

leaving unclear directions..

the other 2 chap, very promising, they are buddies since young. A lot to learn from them but sad to say, they don't teach..

living in this environment, most of the time, its assuming..

assume things should be done like this..

ok, back to work

Aiyah, quit lah. Just buy a property with 10% down and collect rental and in 25yrs you will own the property and be rich, rich rich.

But not i say one, i am just parroting those gurus in the property threads.

Muayhahahahah

haha, this is ultimate..

I used to have an assistant, female..

in her teens and had terrible hygiene issue.. 

she had terrible, really foul B.O..

the whole escalator will stink when she is in it..

for sensitive nose like me, this is hell..

HR didn't smell a rat during the interview?

They really need to sniff out the good smelling

candidates from the bad.

it show you got leadership..

I don't.. when my subordinates don't do the way or correctly, despite teaching them many times..

I give up and do it myself..

you can't teach old dogs new tricks..

No its not leadership.

Its cos I don't know how to do the job

that's why I have to ask other people

to do it. Best thing is I don't know what to do

but I always insist they must only do it my way.

I know it may sound stupid but many

managers do this too. We cannot all

be wrong right?  [thumbsup]

Edited by Jamesc

Recently I heard some office gossip.

The gossip going round is

Jamesc is a manager who does not

know what he is doing.

I was very upset to hear this.

Apparently it has been going around a long time.

Some people say since I join.

I know for a fact that this rumor is absolutely not true at all.

I absolutely know what I am doing.

Its just that I don't know what my staff are doing.

So you see I am very proud to say the office gossip is

all nonsense.

:a-happy:  

If you are a victim of office politics and

vicious false rumors just like me please

don't give up hope. Just remember office

politics is just politics and in my case its

because of jealousy. People are just so

envious that I am so smart, good looking

and capable.

HR didn't smell a rat during the interview?

They really need to sniff out the good smelling

candidates from the bad.

This also HR don't know how to do.

If they cannot get the good candidates

at least get the good smelling ones lah.

Poor people have to work with the stinky

ones.

How, can pretend to be

Not so smart 

Not so good looking and

Not so capable or not?

Like that less envy and stress

If you are a victim of office politics and

vicious false rumors just like me please

don't give up hope. Just remember office

politics is just politics and in my case its

because of jealousy. People are just so

envious that I am so smart, good looking

and capable.

• Praise 10

How, can pretend to be

Not so smart 

Not so good looking and

Not so capable or not?

Like that less envy and stress

Good idea but unfortunately 

I am not very good at pretending.

Absolutely hopeless in that.

Do let me have a channel whereby I can voice it out

I hardly talk in the office.. who can I talk to?

Everyone is so busy with our work..

Yes, I work for money but also for a living. I came in with a rank lower and pay cut, just to have more quality time with family.

Money is important but it don't allow me to do the things I want with my family.

The last job I had, a pay increment but long working hours plus got to stay standby 24/7 as I'm taking care of the MRO..

my current pay is the same as I had in 3 years back.. so does that make me someone who is comfortable with the current $?

Wise words

office politics is so much mickey mouse compared to corporate politics.

base on your desciptions, you have such a marvellous office that you can choose to be the hero or the villain . . . .

"Everyone is so busy with our work . . . . " - is this to be streamlined or just an excuse to let it stays?

MRO..... with experiences, you can start trending weekly2monthly orders thru' vendors, operational & processes, RCM etc. develop yourself data analysis and build the biz model to your bosses . . . . initiate such project, volunteer to lead and gather data/info from your colleagues in regular basis

timely reports with project meets..... not only you produce results, contribute savings, exercise leaderships and become manager in control to your colleagues' effort......   you distinct yourself among all instead, right?

of coz, above is where you MUST know what you are getting prior engaging in the battelfied - the worthiness vs the rewards!

and if you are still the person during your negotiation for that 3-yrs-back pay, thinking that you just wanna earn enuff for today

or this company's just worth for your day's thirst....  then you might as well join your colleagues and happy to sing that "声" . . . . .