Local Singaporean speaking with fake fake angmoh accent

Thargor

I find it quite a turnoff actually. As I am working in a global MCS, I have more than my fair share of encountering Singaporeans that speaks normally to you...but the moment they speak with angmoh...goosh the accents become sooo fake. If they speak with a genuine accent, maybe I can still understand....but fake accents like that....

Hehe chatted with a few angmohs about this...they felt quite funny when they hear a singaporean trying to sound angmohish....the more playful ones will answer back with a singlish accents....

Gross out.... [thumbsdown]

Agree it can be quite awful. But from another point of view, some angmohs might not understand our accent that well and it is harder to bring across a point if we don't speak in an accent they can easily catch. I tend to find myself speaking in a more formal, less "Singlish" way with my Caucasian friends, but not to the extend of completely adopting a fake accent.

As for those who have studied abroad for some time, it is natural to pick up some of the local accent. What I find very irritating are people who have never studied or lived abroad who try so hard to speak with a fake angmoh accent even with their friends and family, and yet the effect comes across as totally fake.

I find it quite a turnoff actually. As I am working in a global MCS, I have more than my fair share of encountering Singaporeans that speaks normally to you...but the moment they speak with angmoh...goosh the accents become sooo fake. If they speak with a genuine accent, maybe I can still understand....but fake accents like that....

Hehe chatted with a few angmohs about this...they felt quite funny when they hear a singaporean trying to sound angmohish....the more playful ones will answer back with a singlish accents....

Totally agreed!! Also, one of the things i cannot stand is they think they are "ang mo pai".... Gosh, if a auntie speck to them in chinese, they will answer back in ang mo accent english.... come on lo....

I have some ang mo friends that like our english/singlish. They said we speak better and sound better than other asian counterparts.

I think all of us have our fair share of friends who went overseas for a couple of years and came back with an accent.

The difference is that some are real and some are forced.

and it's so clear which is which.

double gross out! hhah

Worst example is Ms Singapore World 09 trying to speak Singlish with angmo accent.

bee gee neee!

Somehow I think girls are more guilty of trying to impress with their fake accents.. at least from what I've seen.

I think all of us have our fair share of friends who went overseas for a couple of years and came back with an accent.

The difference is that some are real and some are forced.

and it's so clear which is which.

double gross out! hhah

I got a friend whom went to study in UK and came back with a Scottish accent and we could never make him stop despite telling him straight in the face to lose the accent! He will get annoyed or change topic.

How come someone living in Singapore for 20+yrs speak a typical Singapore accent pick up a Scottish accent in 4yrs there and never able to switch back?

[confused]

bee gee neee!

Somehow I think girls are more guilty of trying to impress with their fake accents.. at least from what I've seen.

For me I met more guys than girls trying to speak with fake accents, if I count in all the acquantainces I met throughout the years.

But among my own cousins who speak with fake accents, they are all girls.

Worst example is Ms Singapore World 09 trying to speak Singlish with angmo accent.

maybe she is trying to impress the judges, cos she want to sound more intellectual. right ?

Your observation is very true. Last time my female classmates can talk to me in Singlish then when an angmo shows up, they immediately talk with a potato in their mouth.

The funny thing is that only East Asians try to fake an angmo accent. The Italians, Greeks, Lebanese and Africans don't seem to care. The worst are actually PRCs. I ever interviewed this woman who kept speaking English, probably to prove a point. Problem is her English sucks and when mixed with a fake accent, it was incomprehensible.

Already see this type of people when I first start work back in the late 80's [shakehead] very fake [thumbsdown]

i have one new girl in my office who is like that... trying to slang like an american, but miserably failing...

I'm ok when someone puts on an accent and sounds good... but when it sounds bad... man, it's grating on the ears, like fingernails scratching down a blackboard.... shudder... [knife]

maybe she is trying to impress the judges, cos she want to sound more intellectual. right ?

She sounds like a streetwalker trying to hook an angmo sailor. "Harloe sailorr bhoy, you rike my zipbra bigini? Rawwrr!"

OMG... BeeGINI and leopard PREENS again!!!??!! [dizzy]

actually, i never like ang mor. they mostly think highly of themselves and they think of asian women are cheap and they look down on asian men. i never want to befriend with an ang mor. but it is my dream to bang an ang mor girl ..

Edited by Vextan

Take the public transport and listen to those uniformed girls talk and you can see that they are doing this at this age.

Imagine when they are out in the workforce.

Huat ah! All slang at your face!

[:|]

actually, i never like ang mor. they mostly think highly of themselves and they think of asian women are cheap and they look down on asian men. i never want to befriend with an ang mor.

now now, no need to be racist.

my two close schoolmates got angmoh wives.

not so bad what.....

i think many do that simply to think that they can blend in and mix around well with e caucasians. but fail to realise that no matter how hard they try, in e eyes of e caucasians, we sound just like them trying to speak chinese. awful!