New BMT programmes for a more effective SAF

Berncsp76

Heard from the news earlier that the BMT programmes have been changed. Some are shortened and some lengthened to another few more weeks.

Heng are I already completed BMT almost 10yrs ago liao. Was in the obese programme and went for 15weeks at Tekong. [sweatdrop]

Posted: 04 Dec 2009 1330hours

Report by Ong Hong Tat

Starting from December 2009, changes to the Basic Military training (BMT) programmes will be implemented progressively.

As BMT is likely to be their first experience of the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) for most Singaporean males, training must also focus on integrating recruits into the military and instil a greater sense of purpose towards defence. This was a point made by Chief of Army Major-General (MG) Neo Kian Hong during a media brief on the new BMT programmer on 4 Dec at the Central Manpower Base.

While the purpose of BMT will continue to be training combat-ready soldiers for the SAF in a safe and professional manner, there will be changes to the duration of BMT and the Physical Employment Status (PES) for some groups of enlistees.

A recruit's PES will determine his role within the SAF. For example, PES A and B recruits can expect to be deployed in combat and combat support roles within formations such as Combat Engineers, Artillery and Signals after completion of BMT, PES C and E recruits will take on roles such as storeman, military logisticians and administrative clerks.

Key changes to the BMT programmes are a new 19-week BMT for obese recruits, a four-week BMT for PES E recruits, a nine-week BMT for PES C recruits, and a new nine-week BMT for PES B2 recruits.

PES B2 is the new name for the current PES C1 for consistency between medical classification of SAF soldiers and their subsequent deployment to combat and combat support roles. The nine-week BMT programme for these recruits will include customised physical training and basic combat training.

Explaining the changes to the BMT programmes for obese recruits, MG Neo said: "The revised BMT for obese recruits is based on careful analysis and research which indicate that we are able to achieve an optimum fitness level and weight loss at around 19 weeks. Data also shows that weight loss becomes natural after about 19weeks in BMT. " Under the old BMT system, obese recruits attended either a 15-week or 26-week BMT, based on individual levels of obesity. Under the SAF medical classification system, a pre-enlistee whose Body Mass INdex exceeds 27 will have to attend the obese BMT programme.

The revised 19-week BMT for obese recruits will start from February next year, while the nine-week BMT programmes for PES B2 and PES C recruits will be taking effect from June. The four-week BMT for PES E recruits will also commence in June.

http://www.mindef.gov.sg/mindef/publicatio...dec09_news.html.

Edited by Berncsp76

Whatever way it works out, people will keng to go into the easier jobs and do and f off.

If they adopted the Taiwanese way, which is regardless of what medical condition you are, you sort of draw lots to which unit you will be posted then that will be a different story. Die die, kana go to Spec Ops, kana is kana, cannot run away one.

Whatever way it works out, people will keng to go into the easier jobs and do and f off.

If they adopted the Taiwanese way, which is regardless of what medical condition you are, you sort of draw lots to which unit you will be posted then that will be a different story. Die die, kana go to Spec Ops, kana is kana, cannot run away one.

haha yalor yalor...seems like very siong to those taiwan armies...

duno those computer test that we do during the medical check up got any influence on the PES and the vocation that we go??? :blink:

Dunno why the fit looking guy can get pes c pes e.... My friend pes e during army days, now can go train for thai boxing.... I pes b cannot even pass my ippt.... I should be the one that get pes e, i so unfit [bigcry]

Yeah, I was there training with their army. Saw Arty, Armor and infantry, the training drills they do, over and over and over and over again, until they almost drop (my time, got probable conflict with China) as compared to our army's "Ti dah apa" attitude now. [shakehead]

Err..my time no computer test, you turn left, cough, balls shrink and expand, knn, you tio bah pio, go Infantry cheong swa in Telok Paku Infantry depot (now no more, it's where the present CAAS club of office sits, just after the bridge to Tekong Ferry terminal) or to some other unit, or worse to that god forsaken camp in named district *Hed* before Changi Village. (BTW Carpark is pau now by lau Kar Chng aka Picnic06, he do night duty there. [laugh] )

*Sigh* the old days, and my very first words learned from the army...........

"FARKING CHOW RECRUIT KNNBCCB!!! WALK ACROSS PARADE SQUARE DROP 50 NOW!!!* [bigcry]

Ah......yes....the good old days........ "SIR YES SIR!!" One, two, three.......and the sweat droplets falling onto the sun baked gravel road........Sun on your back.....sound more liek the song 'Hotel California"

Hahahaha........ [laugh]

Dunno why the fit looking guy can get pes c pes e.... My friend pes e during army days, now can go train for thai boxing.... I pes b cannot even pass my ippt.... I should be the one that get pes e, i so unfit [bigcry]

The MO, (not me hahaha) see you drop pants and cough, got potential [laugh]

Promote you to combat status. The Medical Officer didn't squeeze your butt and gave you a wink did he? [laugh]

(Joking hor.)

Edited by Mazdaowner

Not enough NSMen, so force those PES C one up to PES B for combat.

That's how I see it.

Every Mother-Father son will be heading to see the MP and making appointments to a

Mount E/SGH/NUH/A&E (24hrs, last minute)/HSA (last resort) specialist to keng kah kow kow.

The things people will do to NOT have to suffer.

Last......My religion does not allow me to bear arms. [rifle] [rifle]

I see this as an attempt to cure inherent medical problem for pes B2, C1 and E with longer irrelevant training. This is some sadistic scholastic KPI that, that everyone who is a parent should be concern. We are not talking about unfit soldiers but rather young people with undetermined medical condition. This is also the common SAF mentality that all soldiers 'keng' and should be treated with as such. Basically, the SAF do not have confidence with you being a soldier, but then the feeling is mutual. And with the general rule that all SAF system will breakdown (except the IPPT appt system), this will not turn out good.

So PES A & B will have to bear training to be more 'gilak' because with change in PES grading lesser and lesser combat fit.

But this should be in line with the shift towards the 3rd generation armed forces.

Now so much more on electronic gadgets and system warfare.

Hope to see no soldier dying suddenly during training with this change.

taiwan no pes C....

all combat fit....

slight injury all kena filtered out already

i heard of this case from my fren

during med check up

when pull down pants

the mo told the enlistee,

turn ur head and cough

the enlistee turn his small head and cough...

hahaa

i heard of this case from my fren

during med check up

when pull down pants

the mo told the enlistee,

turn ur head and cough

the enlistee turn his small head and cough...

hahaa

knn, hahahahahaha.... That's really a good one! Almost

fall off my chair when I read this. [laugh]

yeah, very funny.

btw, wats wif the turn head and cough thing?

if i can turn my head n cough, i will be Rambo material?