• Reply to this topic
40 replies to this topic | 0 praises

Posted 26 January 2010 - 03:12 PM

Revolc81
  • Revolc81
    3rd Gear
    Author Image

Received a forwarded email. Not sure if it’s true, but no harm heeding this.

No wonder more folks are dying from cancer than ever before. We wonder where this stuff comes from but here is an example that explains a lot of the cancer causing incidents. Hmmm. Many people are in their cars first thing in the morning and the last thing at night, 7 days a week. As I read this, it makes me feel guilty and ill. Please pass this on to as many people as possible. Guess its not too late to make some changes

Car A/C (Air Conditioning) MUST READ!!!
Please do NOT turn on A/C as soon as you enter the car.

Open the windows after you enter your car and turn ON the AC after a couple of minutes.

Here's why:

According to a research, the car dashboard, sofa, air freshener emit Benzene, a Cancer causing toxin(carcinogen - take time to observe the smell of heated plastic in your car).

In addition to causing cancer, Benzene poisons your bones, causes anemia and reduces white blood cells.

Prolonged exposure will cause Leukemia, increasing the risk of cancer.

Can also cause miscarriage.

Acceptable Benzene level indoors is 50mg per sq.ft. A car parked indoors with windows closed will contain 400-800 mg of Benzene.

If parked outdoors under the sun at a temperature above 60 degrees F, the Benzene level goes up to 2000-4000 mg, 40 times the acceptable level.

People who get into the car, keeping windows closed will inevitably inhale, in quick succession, excessive amounts of the toxin.

Benzene is a toxin that affects your kidney and liver... What's worse, it is extremely difficult for your body to expel this toxic stuff.

So friends, please open the windows and door of your car - give time for interior to air out -dispel the deadly stuff - before you enter.

It does not matter how slowly you go so long as you do not stop.

Posted 26 January 2010 - 03:20 PM

Agentwilson
    Agentwilson
    4th Gear
    Author Image

yea...i know...

in fact, new car leather smell is carcinogenic too~
i rem in uni, environmental engineering lecturer told us this

new car smell...
but apparently, many ppl love tat smell....siao liao~~~

what matters our creative endless toil...

Posted 26 January 2010 - 03:29 PM

Babyt
  • Babyt
    Author Image

normally i on window first den let aircon blow out the initial smelly air den after a while, off window liao.

Posted 26 January 2010 - 03:37 PM

Steelthng
  • Steelthng
    Clutched
    Author Image

Thanks for the info. Better be safe than sorry. nod.gif
It's not what you drive, it's how you drive it..........
Signalling saves lives.........

Posted 26 January 2010 - 03:38 PM

Shimada
    Shimada
    1st Gear
    Author Image

the theory is reasonable.

however, eat well, keep fit, die anyway...

Posted 26 January 2010 - 03:48 PM

Dtitan
    Dtitan
    2nd Gear
    Author Image

thanks for your info, bro
sometime also I confuse whether to on air-con or roll down windon when driving..
reason is that air-con (just knew) is no good,
outside air with dust and ....also no good
huh.gif

Posted 26 January 2010 - 03:58 PM

Mr_b20
  • Mr_b20
    Author Image

open window breathe in all the carbon monoxide in SG jams die faster tongue.gif

Posted 26 January 2010 - 04:01 PM

Revolc81
  • Revolc81
    3rd Gear
    Author Image

LOL. Some ppl SG Jam can wind down window and smoke . (Sometimes i also la, haha). Its like treating yourselves to a buffet of toxins.

--> Die even faster.

It does not matter how slowly you go so long as you do not stop.

Posted 26 January 2010 - 04:07 PM

Chilz
  • Chilz
    2nd Gear
    Author Image

Thanks for sharing pals..
Noted.
Chilz
Mitsubishi Lancer
Ralli//////Art
Evolution I

Posted 26 January 2010 - 04:10 PM

Watwheels
    Watwheels
    Author Image

I read about this quite long ago. If those who had watched the show "Pimp My Ride" from MTV, look at what was torn out from the interior and how the new interior is fitted... we are breathing all those stuff.

Anyway there's a link for the most toxic car....
Most Toxic Car Award

Latio owners, dun hold your breath....
Feel so rich. Or just an illusion?

Posted 27 January 2010 - 12:18 AM

PointyEwe
  • PointyEwe
    3rd Gear
    Author Image

Not only the smell from the plastics from your car are dangerous. It applies to most plastics as well, including baby bottles etc.

Plastics or polymers are produced from monomers and many which are petroleum derivatives.
During production stage, most of these monomers or volatiles are usually removed from the polymers using heat. It is not possible to completely remove all the volatiles in the polymer.
That's why after parking your car under hot sun, better to wind down windows to blow away the volatiles that released from the plastic.

Japanese and Europe manufacturers usually have strict control over the remaining volatile content in the polymers. Chinese producers usually do not care.
That's why we should be careful over country of origin baby bottles or "ni tu" and where these products are manufactured from.

God gives us alcohol as a social lubricant.

Makes Men brave, Makes Women loose

Posted 27 January 2010 - 12:28 AM

Ken4555
    Ken4555
    NOS-ed
    Author Image

thanks for your info, bro
sometime also I confuse whether to on air-con or roll down windon when driving..
reason is that air-con (just knew) is no good,
outside air with dust and ....also no good
huh.gif

safest is to drive with oxygen tank...
==FEMALE ORGASM TIKO RANGER== because the gal MUST cum....

Posted 27 January 2010 - 12:29 AM

Ken4555
    Ken4555
    NOS-ed
    Author Image

the theory is reasonable.

however, eat well, keep fit, die anyway...

wahahahahahahahahahaaha................ laugh.gif ......... will die anyway...... bigcry.gif

Posted 27 January 2010 - 12:32 AM

Ken4555
    Ken4555
    NOS-ed
    Author Image

normally i on window first den let aircon blow out the initial smelly air den after a while, off window liao.

u do this every day??? i only do this on hot days when car was parked in the sun for while.. actually to let out hot air really.......

Posted 27 January 2010 - 12:35 AM

Ken4555
    Ken4555
    NOS-ed
    Author Image

the air con will surely contain the carbon monoxide present around the cars in the jam... just that your aircon air is filtered so you cant smell as much... where you think all the air is coming from your aircon when you're stuck in a jam?

Posted 27 January 2010 - 08:34 AM

Yuan
    Yuan
    Author Image

Received a forwarded email. Not sure if it’s true, but no harm heeding this.

No wonder more folks are dying from cancer than ever before. We wonder where this stuff comes from but here is an example that explains a lot of the cancer causing incidents. Hmmm. Many people are in their cars first thing in the morning and the last thing at night, 7 days a week. As I read this, it makes me feel guilty and ill. Please pass this on to as many people as possible. Guess its not too late to make some changes

Car A/C (Air Conditioning) MUST READ!!!
Please do NOT turn on A/C as soon as you enter the car.

Open the windows after you enter your car and turn ON the AC after a couple of minutes.

Here's why:

According to a research, the car dashboard, sofa, air freshener emit Benzene, a Cancer causing toxin(carcinogen - take time to observe the smell of heated plastic in your car).

In addition to causing cancer, Benzene poisons your bones, causes anemia and reduces white blood cells.

Prolonged exposure will cause Leukemia, increasing the risk of cancer.

Can also cause miscarriage.

Acceptable Benzene level indoors is 50mg per sq.ft. A car parked indoors with windows closed will contain 400-800 mg of Benzene.

If parked outdoors under the sun at a temperature above 60 degrees F, the Benzene level goes up to 2000-4000 mg, 40 times the acceptable level.

People who get into the car, keeping windows closed will inevitably inhale, in quick succession, excessive amounts of the toxin.

Benzene is a toxin that affects your kidney and liver... What's worse, it is extremely difficult for your body to expel this toxic stuff.

So friends, please open the windows and door of your car - give time for interior to air out -dispel the deadly stuff - before you enter.

Thanks for your sharing. I will take note of this.
|1994|Legum Baccalaureus-Legum Magister|Financial Prudence|HDB|MedisaveApproveIntegratedPlan-Insurance|Manchester United FC|Genuine Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) Specifications-Parts-Accessories|Suzuki Swift GS|Mitsubishi Lancer CS 3|Volkswagen Golf MKVI|Audi A4B9|

Posted 27 January 2010 - 08:34 AM

Yuan
    Yuan
    Author Image

yea...i know...

in fact, new car leather smell is carcinogenic too~
i rem in uni, environmental engineering lecturer told us this

new car smell...
but apparently, many ppl love tat smell....siao liao~~~

How about leather cleaner and conditioner that we use for maintaining our leather seats?
|1994|Legum Baccalaureus-Legum Magister|Financial Prudence|HDB|MedisaveApproveIntegratedPlan-Insurance|Manchester United FC|Genuine Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) Specifications-Parts-Accessories|Suzuki Swift GS|Mitsubishi Lancer CS 3|Volkswagen Golf MKVI|Audi A4B9|

Posted 27 January 2010 - 08:36 AM

Yuan
    Yuan
    Author Image

LOL. Some ppl SG Jam can wind down window and smoke . (Sometimes i also la, haha). Its like treating yourselves to a buffet of toxins.

--> Die even faster.

Wear N95 mask. sweatdrop.gif drivingcar.gif

Posted 27 January 2010 - 09:26 AM

Jamesc
    Jamesc
    Author Image

Not only the smell from the plastics from your car are dangerous. It applies to most plastics as well, including baby bottles etc.

Plastics or polymers are produced from monomers and many which are petroleum derivatives.
During production stage, most of these monomers or volatiles are usually removed from the polymers using heat. It is not possible to completely remove all the volatiles in the polymer.
That's why after parking your car under hot sun, better to wind down windows to blow away the volatiles that released from the plastic.

Japanese and Europe manufacturers usually have strict control over the remaining volatile content in the polymers. Chinese producers usually do not care.
That's why we should be careful over country of origin baby bottles or "ni tu" and where these products are manufactured from.

Not only car, Benzene is given off by carpet and paint in office buildings also.
Say no to harsh artificial chemicals

that pollute the earth

and go natural. [thumbsup]

Posted 27 January 2010 - 09:47 AM

Weewee1976
    Weewee1976
    4th Gear
    Author Image

The claims above is just an urban legend:

http://urbanlegends....zene_in_car.htm

Back to General Car Discussion  ·  Cars Top Reply to this topic
SgCarMart Quotz

Quick Reply

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users