Switching line

Mazda121

Hi bros, need some advise here, i'm going to be 36 this year and thinking of switching job but very worried and confuse. I'm in construction line for 12 yrs as a draftsman, recently my company is very unstable as alot projects finishing and till now still no project, i forsee retrentchment coming soon. I'm married with 2 kids and i'm the only person working to support the family, i dun wan to stay as draftsman forever, thinking of going into sales line, if i look for sales executive or sales engineer base on my experience what will my pay be? my pay now is close to 4k, if switch now will my pay be drop to less then 2k? Any bro here have any lobang? please help.... [blush]

try driving taxi for a while....i kid you not....it is still worthwhile

Drive taxi can earn arnd 3k plus if work smart i heard.

thanx for the fast replies guys, but i dun think taxi can earn so much nowadays as theres too many taxis on the road now, the competition is too high liao...

Hi bros, need some advise here, i'm going to be 36 this year and thinking of switching job but very worried and confuse. I'm in construction line for 12 yrs as a draftsman, recently my company is very unstable as alot projects finishing and till now still no project, i forsee retrentchment coming soon. I'm married with 2 kids and i'm the only person working to support the family, i dun wan to stay as draftsman forever, thinking of going into sales line, if i look for sales executive or sales engineer base on my experience what will my pay be? my pay now is close to 4k, if switch now will my pay be drop to less then 2k? Any bro here have any lobang? please help.... [blush]

I hav always like the car Mazda 121. Veri cute. Back to subject. Actually, u have been a draftsman for 12 years u can at least try to go to some other firms to apply for draftsman. Sales exec, if u mean in construction related industry, 2.5k average. Sales engineer arnd the same or higher by not more thn 20%......commission additional bt not easy to hit quota n nt huge amount. Tis is market norm frm wat I knw.

>2k is highly possible. Do get jobs that are relevant in order to maintain your pay level. As a draftsman, I assume your qualification is around Dip?

I hav always like the car Mazda 121. Veri cute. Back to subject. Actually, u have been a draftsman for 12 years u can at least try to go to some other firms to apply for draftsman. Sales exec, if u mean in construction related industry, 2.5k average. Sales engineer arnd the same or higher by not more thn 20%......commission additional bt not easy to hit quota n nt huge amount. Tis is market norm frm wat I knw.

thanx bro, but i dun wanna do drafting anymore, can't be draftman forever as when age, eyesight will be getting bad and also now market draftsman flooded with FT! back in their country they are either architects or engineers you know, and they are cheaper then local thats why its not easy to find drafting job now, most construction company prefer FT..... haizzzzz....

thanx for the fast replies guys, but i dun think taxi can earn so much nowadays as theres too many taxis on the road now, the competition is too high liao...

not true..

i know of taxi drivers who earns $5k a mth.

strict working hours discipline and no kopitiams or long queues

can earn. depends on how hard and smart u work

not really... since u are draftsman for so long and exp in designing, drawing etc... u shld try proj engr in other companies... of cos in the same field lah...

but i dun have the qualification lah bro....

>2k is highly possible. Do get jobs that are relevant in order to maintain your pay level. As a draftsman, I assume your qualification is around Dip?

no lah... i only ITE... [smallcry]

What kind of sales are you looking for?

Sales line is extremely competitive in Singapoe regardless of which products or services u provide. Mostly based on commission, income is subjected to your sales.

Otherwise, even if you are taking fixed salary, your performance will be scrutinise every month end, numbers do not tell lies so your sales figures will speak volume of your performance.

If you are really keen, I suggest you to join the property industry since it is at the moment gaining momentum, go for their night courses and take it a step at a time from there. However, you need to have a little savings to start off, else, you will be hindered.

Driving a taxi is a good idea, maybe you should do that as a temporary solution. Take the licence first in case.

What kind of sales are you looking for?

Sales line is extremely competitive in Singapoe regardless of which products or services u provide. Mostly based on commission, income is subjected to your sales.

Otherwise, even if you are taking fixed salary, your performance will be scrutinise every month end, numbers do not tell lies so your sales figures will speak volume of your performance.

If you are really keen, I suggest you to join the property industry since it is at the moment gaining momentum, go for their night courses and take it a step at a time from there. However, you need to have a little savings to start off, else, you will be hindered.

Driving a taxi is a good idea, maybe you should do that as a temporary solution. Take the licence first in case.

thanx bro for the advice, thanx everybody for the feedback and advice

no lah... i only ITE... [smallcry]

Then you might want to upgrade instead. The truth is you are a draftsman for so long that people would question your ability to change when it comes to job nature. Just a reference, I have been working for about 10 years. My pay is still below 4k, and not even close. I am an mechanical engineer with 2nd class lower honors. I have changed my job industry and nature for 2 times. So you really need to go back to what you are experienced in, else you are going to suffer tons of pay cut.

On a side note: I am earning lesser than a draftsman now... [bigcry]

Then you might want to upgrade instead. The truth is you are a draftsman for so long that people would question your ability to change when it comes to job nature. Just a reference, I have been working for about 10 years. My pay is still below 4k, and not even close. I am an mechanical engineer with 2nd class lower honors. I have changed my job industry and nature for 2 times. So you really need to go back to what you are experienced in, else you are going to suffer tons of pay cut.

On a side note: I am earning lesser than a draftsman now... [bigcry]

wow... you make me feel so lucky...

i got only 3rd class and i just changed industry but i had a pretty gd pay increment for my new job... hahaha

i guess sometimes working life needs a bit of luck

wow... you make me feel so lucky...

i got only 3rd class and i just changed industry but i had a pretty gd pay increment for my new job... hahaha

i guess sometimes working life needs a bit of luck

It really depends on your job nature la. Anyway, 3rd class so what. My class mate, only credit, engineering class, she cross 4k when she took a manager role 2 years ago.