Recommendation for Badminton Racket

Kelpie

Hi all,

I've not touched the game for almost 20 years. I had a short 20 mins game with someone and found that my skill still somehow maintain [laugh].

Now tempted to buy a racket. Just wonder what brand/model to buy now. Last time only Yonex carbonex can make it, now leh? What is the new trend in the market?

Can get a decent one within a 80~100 bucks? or getting one in JB is more bang for the bucks?

Would the Guru advise me, please.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

JB, yup. Recommend a shop called Hong Li near The Store.

The owner will suggest Pro-Ace. As good as Yonex but cheaper. I have 2, will agree. Well within your budget, IIRC.

Been a while since I last played now that my partner is a father. D:

Hi all,

I've not touched the game for almost 20 years. I had a short 20 mins game with someone and found that my skill still somehow maintain [laugh].

Now tempted to buy a racket. Just wonder what brand/model to buy now. Last time only Yonex carbonex can make it, now leh? What is the new trend in the market?

Can get a decent one within a 80~100 bucks? or getting one in JB is more bang for the bucks?

Would the Guru advise me, please.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Yonex is in the range, from 10-100 also got, carbonex etc etc too many range, unless v v pro, if not v hard to feel the tension strength,weight etc etc

hmm new trend? Li Ning lor..whole China national team use it..but 200-500+ dont noe a Champion use brand is so ex sia..

Edited by Freestylers09

JB, yup. Recommend a shop called Hong Li near The Store.

The owner will suggest Pro-Ace. As good as Yonex but cheaper. I have 2, will agree. Well within your budget, IIRC.

Been a while since I last played now that my partner is a father. D:

The Store opposite the Carrefour? Before Jusco TC right?

Roughly how much? Pro-Ace from where?

Thank you.

Regards,

Yonex is in the range, from 10-100 also got, carbonex etc etc too many range

hmm new trend? Li Ning lor..whole China national team use it..but 200-500+ dont noe a Champion use brand is so ex sia..

Wow..200~500, overpriced leh if made in China.

What do you guys think of the WILSON KFactor KTour (RASMUSSEN) Badminton Racket? Saw it at ebay selling for around 80, brand new.

Regards,

Try Queensway shopping, some decent Yonex about $60-$70 good enough liao, if not Victor also quite good, nothing about $80 unless you want to play professional..... its the skill that matter, not the racket :D :D

I second ProAce as recommended by chewbacca. And also buying from Hong Li at JB.

I've been using ProAce since 12 years back and never have I thought of switching.

Price at Hong Li is reasonably cheap. I always get 2 identical "empty" rackets from them, meaning without free bag, free grips and free string. Converting back to SGD, the rackets cost about $40 each.

But do take note that everyone has his own preferences. Hence, it'll be better if you try out the rackets first (borrow from people you know) before purchasing.

Btw, just to add on, ProAce rackets are very durable.

Usually the other party's racket will break if there is an accidental clash. [;)]

y dont u try at batam, at penuin shopping centre got badminton shop selling racket, last time i bought a light racket yonex for about $70, until now still using, handgrip long, i like it!!

Wow..200~500, overpriced leh if made in China.

What do you guys think of the WILSON KFactor KTour (RASMUSSEN) Badminton Racket? Saw it at ebay selling for around 80, brand new.

Regards,

Wilson is only good for its tennis racket. The one Roger Federer use. But badminton racket...

If you want good feel and is serious with your game, Yonex is still a better choice.

The latest range is nanospeed or armortec. Lee Chong Wei is using Armortec 900. In case you are a fan of him.

It might cost $300+ a piece but is worth the every cent you pay.

I bought YangYang musclepower long ago for about 100 and same range from Yonex cost about 300. I can feel, I play better when using Yonex.

Sorry for the poison. [laugh]

can try this shop at Bras Basah Complex Ground Floor..they have a wide range for you to choose from, and the owner is very knowledgeable..try asking there..i bought my racket (Apacs) and shoe (ProAce) with bags for about 100+ bucks there..

Hi all,

Thank you very much for the recommendation.

I suppose Yonex is still in the mainstream league after all these years [thumbsup].

Yonex is just too common leh, wanted to try some underdog brands. Pro-Ace is one of those. What about brands like Prince? I used to owned one ages ago.

Regards,

Hi all,

Thank you very much for the recommendation.

I suppose Yonex is still in the mainstream league after all these years [thumbsup].

Yonex is just too common leh, wanted to try some underdog brands. Pro-Ace is one of those. What about brands like Prince? I used to owned one ages ago.

Regards,

A not so good one might hurt your hand, especially your fore arm if you smashes hard. I believe a decent one now cost 100 bucks and up for yonex. My friend bought one recently for $60, but it is just so lousy compare to the one I bought years ago at the same price.

I recognise that Yonex is one of those main brands around.

I believe you should have a budget on how much to spend on a racket.

Plus, in my opinion, badminton is a good exercise. If you intend to incorporate it as part of your lifestyle, invest in a good one is not too bad.

A not so good one might hurt your hand, especially your fore arm if you smashes hard. I believe a decent one now cost 100 bucks and up for yonex. My friend bought one recently for $60, but it is just so lousy compare to the one I bought years ago at the same price.

I thought the wrist would be the area most affected.

Previously, I was looking to get a racket too. Mustafa also has Yonex, B2. From cheap to expensive range.

Went to Jusco Tebrau and had a look. Its cheaper there but it does not come with any strings. However the shop assistant can string the racket for you on the spot, abt 30mins to 1hr.

In the end, I did not get as my fren stopped playing badminton and went into hiking + climbing. We used to play with a group at Civil Service Club every Sat afternoon. My fren and I are medicore players only.

I find it more difficult to book badminton courts in the CC, lots of advance booking by those regular groups. The badminton court at my HDB garden is dominated by the sepak takraw players. So in the end, me also gave up badminton, go jogging easier. Used to play at least 3 times a week for two hours during my SAF days. So much sports time given. [laugh]