3M solar film - sucks

Pool100

Hi bros, is anyone of you using 3M solar film and find it really bad?

I have the supposed "premium plus" 3M film installed on my ford mondeo and I find the heat rejection really bad. Just 2 hours under hot sun and the whole car becomes an absolute oven... take about full 10 min to cool the car down with air con full blast. When I called 3M to ask why their product is so bad, they said it's already one of their top range solar film. When I enquired about their heat rejection rate, she said it's only 40% front and 42% rear. Doesn't sound very good to be honest. And I must say I had expected more from 3M products and services.

Now I'm seriously contemplating ripping off the 3M film and installing others... even if it's those no-brand films with high heat rejection rates.

Any that you guys can recommend?

Edited by Pool100

I have the supposed "premium plus" 3M film installed on my ford mondeo and I find the heat rejection really bad. Just 2 hours under hot sun and the whole car becomes an absolute oven... take about full 10 min to cool the car down with air con full blast. When I called 3M to ask why their product is so bad, they said it's already one of their top range solar film. When I enquired about their heat rejection rate, she said it's only 40% front and 42% rear. Doesn't sound very good to be honest. And I must say I had expected more from 3M products and services.

Now I'm seriously contemplating ripping off the 3M film and installing others... even if it's those no-brand films with high heat rejection rates.

if parked under the hot sun, no solar film can prevent heat from being trapped in your car after a few hours.

even at 99% IR rejection.

There are different rating for solar film of the same brand. The rating is for all to see prior installation.

There is no attempt to mislead consumer on their heat rejection capability.

At the end of the day, can't trust branding. Must see specs

for e.g. my upgraded vkool eurospec is 77% F, 63% R IR rejection. It's free. I can live with that.

vkool have up to 98% heat rejection but cost more

There have been some good reviews on V-kool.

You can google for more information.

I have used 3 different brands of solar films in my previous and current cars, this includes the top vkool range. My personal experience is that no car will be spared of the oven heat after 2 hours under the hot sun. The simple facts are :

1) Air is trapped in the car.

2) The colour of your car has a direct relation to the rate of temperature increase. I drove black and silver coloured cars before so I know.

Just curious, u mentioned premium but ir seems very low. How much did u pay for the tint?

Oh the one Peugeot and Ford ties up is 3M, and seriously, it sux. While doing my home solar film, i got the guy to do another layer for the front windscreen and windows, but the fairly clear type still. Heat reduced significantly. But i park the car under shelter nowadays... the heat ain't good for the interior.

i guess yours must be a dark color car...

cos my a silver with never heard of solar flim (SC) supplied "FOC" by agent.

after more than 2hrs in hot sun--can still feel interior warm but cools down within first 1-2 mins

of driving off when acon turned on.

maybe interior space plays a part too- its an MPV

Solar film is not miracle film leh. :D Do ppl study science on heat transfer? The thing on conduction, convection and radiation? Regardless of anything under the sun for 2 hours, it will feel like it's been in an oven. Dun care how good a film one can produce.

I wonder if TS got do a comparison between got install film vs no film to comment it as really bad? Got take temperature of the cabin? Or is it based on butt feel? Expose the butt to the sun dan climb into the car butt naked? :D

Each individual has a different level of tolerance on heat, so based on TS comments how do we know what's bad and what's not?

Hard to say.

I parked my car in open carpark for whole day without sheds from tree or buildings.

Still feel the heat. I only have clear type film on it.

If without those films and glasses, it will be like oven. Have you ever experience, when it is hot until steering wheel also cannot hold.

Hard to say.

I parked my car in open carpark for whole day without sheds from tree or buildings.

Still feel the heat. I only have clear type film on it.

If without those films and glasses, it will be like oven. Have you ever experience, when it is hot until steering wheel also cannot hold.

Before I install any film I park my car at the carpark near my block. No trees or shelter. When I get in my car in the afternoon the interior so hot until my spectacles fog up. After installing the film the car still feels like an oven but at least not so hot till my spectacles will fog up.

this is SG... wat you expecting? cool air when you get in the car ah?

no offense...

you 1st time car owner or wat? pls dont tell me if have gotten in a car parked in the sun for 2hours.. say 30mins lah.... and the car is still cool?.... siao

but what ever... if your car needs full 10mins to cool down... either your aircon up the lorry liao or you are driving a COE car...

even after my sunny gets baked in the sun, i need no more than 30seconds to cool down... and my temp is always set at 25c....

this is SG... wat you expecting? cool air when you get in the car ah?

no offense...

you 1st time car owner or wat? pls dont tell me if have gotten in a car parked in the sun for 2hours.. say 30mins lah.... and the car is still cool?.... siao

but what ever... if your car needs full 10mins to cool down... either your aircon up the lorry liao or you are driving a COE car...

even after my sunny gets baked in the sun, i need no more than 30seconds to cool down... and my temp is always set at 25c....

I'm not a first time car owner and I know what I'm talking about.

I'm not saying that with solar film, car will be cool even under the sun. What I'm saying is the degree of infra-red penetration that causes the heat trapping. Similar to green house effect.

All my previous cars have different solar films fitted, but none as bad as this 3M film. Just to give an example, I'm able to hold the steering wheel and gear shifter with no problem for all my previous cars after a hot day under the sun... and car cools down in 1-2 min. But no way can I hold the steering wheel in my current car under similar conditions. It's just too blardy hot. And when I put my hand under the glass panel with the 3M film, i can feel the heat penetrating through. It's different from my experiences with other solar film where I can literally 'feel' the heat rejection... even the lousy no brand films give better results... and that based on my human feel.

I don't appreciate your comments because they don't hold water and you don't even know the actual conditions before you make judgmental remarks.

And no, my air-con is working great and I'm not driving a COE car.

Edited by Pool100

well, you can't help that people want to make such comments but you hit and run on your own thread without any clarification.

so which grade of 3M solar film did u get?

otherwise, you can't blame people coz you have not substantiate your complaints.. or shd i say defame to 3M

Edited by Sony

I'm not a first time car owner and I know what I'm talking about.

I'm not saying that with solar film, car will be cool even under the sun. What I'm saying is the degree of infra-red penetration that causes the heat trapping. Similar to green house effect.

All my previous cars have different solar films fitted, but none as bad as this 3M film. Just to give an example, I'm able to hold the steering wheel and gear shifter with no problem for all my previous cars after a hot day under the sun... and car cools down in 1-2 min. But no way can I hold the steering wheel in my current car under similar conditions. It's just too blardy hot. And when I put my hand under the glass panel with the 3M film, i can feel the heat penetrating through. It's different from my experiences with other solar film where I can literally 'feel' the heat rejection... even the lousy no brand films give better results... and that based on my human feel.

I don't appreciate your comments because they don't hold water and you don't even know the actual conditions before you make judgmental remarks.

And no, my air-con is working great and I'm not driving a COE car.

bro, holding steering wheel and gear may not be the best way to judge effectiveness.

My previous car with vkool, after few hours, steering wheel so hot till can't use.

my current car prior installing vkool. ie no solar film, steering wheel hot but not as hot as case above. Bearable to drive

I think the material of the steering wheel also a factor.

PS, u didn't post enough details on your thread. take a look at the replies.

most replied 'no solar film can keep heat out after few hours"

says a lot of how the general public perceived your question.

if you want a good answer, you need to provide more details.

imagine some guy just ask, my car can't start, what's wrong.

no other details.

how can this helpful community help him?