Your Next Police Car Model Is....

Toeknee_33

However, to meet the government's requirements.. i believe there are certain requirements needed to be approved as SPF police patrol car?

1. Must be cheap. [laugh]

I was wondering is it good or not?

However, to meet the government's requirements.. i believe there are certain requirements needed to be approved as SPF police patrol car?

IIRC, load carrying it a factor due to the equipment the patrol car must carry. Performance is secondary for normal patrol cars. Image is also important, cannot be too extravagent.

Dun think police cars are subjected to PARF, custom excise or even COE. Or all QX/ QY cars for that matter.

I have not seen the tender documents but I believe the local agent must collaborate with their principle to secure the deal at a special price. Probably some kind of fleet service committment as well eg. spare parts level, turn around time etc.

Probably some kind of fleet service committment as well eg. spare parts level, turn around time etc.

Perhaps you should see the pile of police cars at Comfort Delgro Ubi... [:p]

Just to add on past police vehicles (in blue)

Suzuki Vitara

Toyota Corolla many many

Toyota ...somepickup

Subaru Impreza

Nissan Sunny

Mazda 323

Mit Lancer

Isuzu

Daihatsu

VW Beetle

Nissan Bluebird

Nissan 120Y

Nissan 160J

Opel

Saw a Wowo V70 or V50? Forget liao, but its convfirm a V-something one. [laugh]

as long as its cheap... enough power... huge boot for all the store and equipment... look decent and serve the purpose... actually to me the best vehicle that spf had bought in recent years is the toyota hilux twin cab...

why? rugged... can store plenty of stuff... power is there... diesel... its really a multi purpose vehicle...

Unless its high way patrol, I guess literally any sedan will suffice for normal patrol.

My bet is that these cars are usually bought thru tender rather than SPF asking for specific models.

However, for highway patrol there are definitely requirements.

Wow? Korean make?

I think next time our road will be filled with korean make.....

Police car, Tp car, Taxis......

But however, nowadays private buses are normally chinese make liao.......

Really wondering where does the Japanese make went to??? [dizzy] [dizzy] [dizzy]

It marked the decline of Japanese cars, too expensive for fleets management, especially in bus industry, jap's bus making ind is far backward comparing to china & Euro in term of R&D and technology. They like giving up in this segment (Buses & Taxi).

It's a public tender.

Depending on which manufacturer want to bid and how low they want to go.

It's strategic business for some, but not worth it for others.

Certain specs have to comply, of coz.

It's a public tender.

just curious about the specs for normal patrol car or watever they call it...its not somekind of state secret right?

What would the SPF be looking at?

Performance envelope

Running Cost over distance

Mean time between failure

Sitting Capacity

Safety equipment

ICE package?

Emission

just curious about the specs for normal patrol car or watever they call it...its not somekind of state secret right?

What would the SPF be looking at?

Performance envelope

Running Cost over distance

Mean time between failure

Sitting Capacity

Safety equipment

ICE package?

Emission

My guess? The lowest bidder. Servicing & parts package included.

It's a public tender.

It will be cheaper...

Because they don't need to pay for having COE and GOVT related taxes.....

Its govt vehicles.......

My guess? The lowest bidder. Servicing & parts package included.

Not necessary. It has to be fit for the purpose. Otherwise, it's all Geely/Chery/Proton and nothing else. Which explains why SPF also has Volvo XC90, VW Tourag, LandRover

In the tender exercise, I reckon they would call for quotes from comparable cars and choose the one with the best overall score. Again not necessary based on lowest cost.

myopic

Relax lah... someone asked who dares to say Korean cars suck so I say lor...

I love the new Kia Soul, if anything... [cool]

Saw a Wowo V70 or V50? Forget liao, but its convfirm a V-something one. [laugh]

not the V but the XC70. [;)]

Cost cutting!! Luckily it is not Cherry QQ, otherwise the policemen will be very 'malu' driving it :D

Why not, if police really drive a QQ, even Ferrari also have to stop for it if they see the siren and lights flashing or else will be charge for not "waiting" for police to catch up, hahaha [laugh]