Any good dentist for Root Canal Treatment?

Retrochink

can try Q&M, quite a few outlet throughout singapore.. if tight imo just extract la.. the most 100+..

RCT is done to treat the nerve in the tooth, the average cost will be 600-700(GP) and 1000-1400 (specialist) for molars. For posterior tooth u need a crown to allow for function, prior to this you need to build up the tooth which now has a large hole created as an access for the RCT, this is called a post/core. The average cost of Post/core is 100-250 and the crown should be 500-800. specialist rate should be about 900-1800 for a crown.

Not all dentist do RCT for molars as its very tedious. And you cant use medisave for this treatment, Medisave can only be used for surgical procedures.

previously mine start to bleed with a small lump at the gum, now ok already but when i floss i can go through the center of the molar. few months back my dentist actually recommend me to pull out since already cracked into two

Then pls follow dentist instruction.Crack into 2 how to repair?The joint is not there liao.maybe extract and implant.

hi bros here, my molar ( last tooth use for biting ) has been hurting very badly for the past few days [:(] and went to my neighbourhood dentist and did Xray for me saying that my nerve has been infected. But sadly they dont do RCT except extraction.

They told me to try the new Khoo Teck Puat Hospital but i just wanna ask around here if u all have any better recommendation for a good and preferably affordable dentist cos this is my first RCT and im quite tight now.

My toothache is really terrible and makes me lose my mood and appetite for anything [dead]

I appreciate any advice and help from u guys ^_^

I understand ur pain, its so painful that ur tears just came down by itself, there are several time I woke up in the midnight just to rinse mouth with ice water and eat ice....

The dentist gave me 2 choices, RCT or antibiotics, I choose the latter and very fortunately and miraclely the pain just disappeared.....

That was like 2 years back.

what is your dentist's name / contact?

my dentist gave me 2 choices also, RCT (with crowning ~ $2k total) or extraction (with implant ~$4-5k total. because it is lower tooth, the upper tooth w/o biting tooth below will spoil eventually). not given antibiotics as a choice leh.

I understand ur pain, its so painful that ur tears just came down by itself, there are several time I woke up in the midnight just to rinse mouth with ice water and eat ice....

The dentist gave me 2 choices, RCT or antibiotics, I choose the latter and very fortunately and miraclely the pain just disappeared.....

That was like 2 years back.

Is it save to go for those dentist that offer very good price for RCT? My wife experience is disastrous when she go for a dentist that offer 600 bucks plus for RCT with crowing while i did mine at another dentist for 1200 plus... After treatment tooth still pain and gum start to get black, go for another dentist, the doc say tooth already damage, need to be remove.

what is your dentist's name / contact?

my dentist gave me 2 choices also, RCT (with crowning ~ $2k total) or extraction (with implant ~$4-5k total. because it is lower tooth, the upper tooth w/o biting tooth below will spoil eventually). not given antibiotics as a choice leh.

Like me go back and check, it was at Hougang Ave 8....same thing my root was damaged and my tooth is bascially dead (can't feel cold).

Ask me extraction or do crowning? Tell me the price and then say must X ray and come for a few appointments etc... Immediately I sian but I do ask him if there is a 3rd choice...

Relunctantly he say I can take antibiotics....

Of cos now my root canal is still damaged, but at least I siam the pain and agony and save some bucks.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed and take care of my oral hygiene more.

Is it save to go for those dentist that offer very good price for RCT? My wife experience is disastrous when she go for a dentist that offer 600 bucks plus for RCT with crowing while i did mine at another dentist for 1200 plus... After treatment tooth still pain and gum start to get black, go for another dentist, the doc say tooth already damage, need to be remove.

Your wife's tooth or your tooth needs to be removed ?

Hi Dwoon , could you please pm me your dentist info. I would like to consult with him.

I'm in the midst of having mine done. Next appointment is 2 days away. RCT+ crown.

The costs is like $1K which I'm not sure if its cheap/ex..... just that the skill of the dentist is good. (he did 2 molars for me 9 years back and they're still fine)

PM me if you need the dentist info (in AMK)

Hi Dwoon , could you please pm me your dentist info. I would like to consult with him.

I did mine at Oral Maxillofacial Practice, Mount Elizabeth Novena.

Dr Leroy McCully. He is good.

Can try Ubi dental clinic, i did my root canal treatment for 550.

Not inclusive of crown right?

I did mine at Oral Maxillofacial Practice, Mount Elizabeth Novena.

Dr Leroy McCully. He is good.

Not inclusive of crown right?

Hi

It doesnt inclusive of crown.

How much did you spend on it?

I did my root canal treatment at NDC (National Dental Centre). But before that, have to go to polyclinic dentist first then they'll arrange appointment. Waited many months before I can see the specialist at NDC. Then a couple months for the RCT treatment - many stages plus check-up after procedure is done. Cost is cheap, about $600 plus. This was 6 years ago. Service was good, dentist explained procedure in details. Teeth is still good today.

But nowadays getting a appointment to see the dentist at polyclinic is 9 months, blardy ridiculous. There can be other channels to go into NDC, not too sure.

If $600 covers RCT + Crown.... that's a very good price.

Turn back the clock to Y2000, that's the price I paid.

Nowadays, dentists all increase price every year like copycat our public transport bus companies. Last time, few years only increased once.

Edited by Kangadrool

i paid $1200+ for mine just 2 yrs ago....

1/3 my molar cracked off exposing the nerve, my dentist refer me to this specialist, office based in raffles place, synergy is the name iirc. he quote me the above price, i find it too exp, went ard spore neighbourhood dentist to do. all quote me much cheaper..... but all not very confident of doing it, tell me find specialist better. i check with the singapore dentist record, only 13 or 14 are licensed specialist in root canal, call endodotist or something like tt, and the first i went is 1 of them. STILL Buey gum wan i went Q and M for final opinion, the dentist after doing new xray for me also ask me go find specialist and do, they find 1 ang mo specialist in Q and M. after checking the price i find not much diff den i went back to the first clinic and have it done.

Moral of the story, if been advised tt ur condition is really THAT bad, dun waste time and money like me le. LLST just do loh.... and oh yah, if u thinking how can i last so long with my nerve exposed, the first clinic i went when it cracked put those temporary fillings for me, 1 big layer to make it like a tooth, but slowly it wore out day by day....

I just got checked recently by a dentist that a molar teeth is dead, causing infection with serious pain and fever for few days. Imagine i also got gout attack same time!

I have been reading up on root canal and crowning and was ready to take the plunge when a colleague of mine advised me to simply go for a tooth extraction. He chose that after some research that it is bad for health. That made me think again because this is a guy that earns big salary, with expensive hobbies, and money never an issue. Then i got 2 other friends who did that.

So i would like to get opinion here if anyone choose tooth extraction for damaged tooth instead of root canal thingy, and whether all turned out well. Many tia.

Dentist usually will advice u to keep the molar, as it will seriously affect the biting, thus eating...

I think RCT and crowning is the way to go...

my ex-dentist! Finally justice is served on him. Retribution... [thumbsup]

This DR dont issue you receipt or Invoice. Everything all lump together.

Just give you a credit card slip. No head no tail

I complained to the medical board, but nothing is done.

===========================================

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/dentist-fined-15000-wrongly-telling-patient-she-could-fully-claim-medi

Dentist Sng Wee Hock has been fined $15,000 for wrongly telling a patient that the full cost of her implant could be paid for by Medisave.

Dr Sng, who works at WH Dental Surgeons, which has clinics at Punggol and Hougang, denied the charge.

The Singapore Dental Council however, judged otherwise.

It said what he did amounted to professional misconduct "because the misrepresentation made was likely to have an impact on a patient's decision to undergo the treatment".

Dr Sng was also censured and has to undertake not to repeat the offence. He has to pay 80 per cent of the council's cost incurred