How to reduce air temp inside car on hot days?

Vroomtattat

I am in the thinking no one here like the "warm" feeling when you get inside your car, no.....

People pay good money to get heated seats in some other countries you know.

On a serious note, what I did on hot afternoon is to wind down window, full last the fan, & drives off. Most of the heat should decipate in 5 minutes or so.

I had a cheapo thermometer in car which max reading 70DEG C, always over shoot the max line [sweatdrop] if park under hot sun for more than 3hrs....

(solar film installed). So I install visor now and leave a gap on window. It did cool down a bit, I think 5-10DEG(better than none)

Yes, winding down the window abit helps because glass traps heat. By opening a little opening, allowed the pressurise heat to escape.

shouldn't car manufacturers dedicate some manpower to think over this for tropical countries ?

e.g. middle east, sea

Would green tech be a catalyst?

I would see the car roof top as a stationary charging stations.

Maybe next time, HDB can allocate some carparks with no absolutely no shade as conducive parking lots of electric car.

Ventilation helps but i think the car roof top is the main culprit in heat buildup.

Anyway, our tierary institutions can come out with small useful projects (or even DSO and commercialise them)

relevant to our environment and think over the insulation, material engineering, paint in rejecting heat.

solar film only works if you park for a short period of time. Anything more than a few minutes on a hot day, heat will be absorbed though the car body.

A car cover will work because heat is reflected. But its troublesome to put it on everyday. I find leaving the windows slightly open helps. Why? Hot air can escape, hot air is lighter than cold air, so it will escape through the top of the windows if left slightly open.

If the car has been under the sun for a few hours, and all the heat is trapped inside, turning on the aircon at full blast before you get into the car means trying to cool down all the hot air inside. Might be a better idea to open all the doors, let the wind blow through the car, and then turn on the air con.

Makes sense?

Well yeah i can see some logic behind it.. but i have always opted for the more conventional method of putting a Car Cover on it also to protect my car paint from getting friend due to direct sunlight.

wind down window at alternate sides at least 1/2 length down. then paste stick-its on each side of the window asking potential burglars to be a man n do the right thing [thumbsup] good ventilation plus prolly won't steal frm yr car cz u left a note thanking them for not touching your car! theres an angel in everyone of us, just undiscovered [angel]

Edited by Avant_stealth

shouldn't car manufacturers dedicate some manpower to think over this for tropical countries ?

e.g. middle east, sea

Would green tech be a catalyst?

I would see the car roof top as a stationary charging stations.

Maybe next time, HDB can allocate some carparks with no absolutely no shade as conducive parking lots of electric car.

Ventilation helps but i think the car roof top is the main culprit in heat buildup.

Anyway, our tierary institutions can come out with small useful projects (or even DSO and commercialise them)

relevant to our environment and think over the insulation, material engineering, paint in rejecting heat.

Most major car manufacturer ain't from Tropical Countries. Especially in Northern European Countries (Volvo, BMW, Jag came from), you can count the numbers of Warm days with your fingers. 25 deg, will be consider a sunny day for beach, 30 reading from Mercury, Weather warning "Don't stay out in the day unless you need to".

They actually did testing in hot climate, just not as intense due to convience seek, which may explain why a lot of Continental cars have problem in warm climate.

If so worry, buy Proton cars lah, or Tomyam manufactured car lah. Sure can withstand our climate, but I am not sure how they perform in colder countries.

Buy a car that is already very well-insulated. It helps a lot even w/o solar film.

Got such car meh? WWHich brand, just curious.

Interestingly, I read a comment on the net asking, One follow is alsking why people in Dubai Tinted their cars (AFter watching a video with Dubai road). Like everyone have tinted car.

I think the fellow from US. Some guy explain to him it is to reject heat/UV, as it can get very hot there.

Funny what we considered normal, tinted windows are associated with "rice", "MTV-ed", "rapper", for "star rides, so they can hide from public view", & "mafia" in some countries.

But I think Singapore quite mild liao, I see cars from Thailand, Truly Asia, Taiwan, China even more dark. Got mirror effect one also, which surprising quite common in Taiwan.

If not for the bloody weather, I keep my window clear. I don't like my world to be darkened. Thats why I pick low tint level for my ride, just enough should I park in the open.

Edited by Kiadaw

i think mechanical engineering should design some foldable shade (similar to umbrella providing shade for car roof and part of windscreen) that can be attached and deployed with button.

The heat wave mainly come from the material inside our vehicle like metal and plastics where occupy the most part of our interior. So to carpet our dashboard and parts expose to direct sunshine will help. At the same time get a good leather for our seat as genuine leather release faster heat then synthetics.

You know that hot gush of air when you open your car door?

How do we reduce the temp when the car is parked in the open? Do we leave gaps in the windows?

You can do that if you have window visors installed I guess.

Is there any solar powered device in the market which can be installed to provide ventilation and does it help?

my main concern is not the heat but rather the toxic chemicals released from our car interior due to the heat and UV exposure.

me most times no time to wait for car to cool down. but sometimes come out of the bloody cold office and "soak" in the car, the feeling rather shiok...

guess some of us eventually will suffer and/or die from complications of inhaling toxic chemicals in the car...years later.

<_<

The heat wave mainly come from the material inside our vehicle like metal and plastics where occupy the most part of our interior. So to carpet our dashboard and parts expose to direct sunshine will help. At the same time get a good leather for our seat as genuine leather release faster heat then synthetics.

Wouldn't a canvas (foldable umbrella) that provides a shade to car roof and windscreen be a better way to block the exposure.

(Just brainstorming) I am thinking fixing them with four poles on the windows pointing/ spreading upwards for an umbrella shade. (aka like a tree). Further design iteration may fix motor or simple gears to deploy quickly, cheaply and safely...

Many great applications/inventions that were well accepted and commercialised widely mimics nature. e.g velcro, zipper

to car owner who smokes.

don't forget to remove your lighters before you exit. under the sun, those lighter will just burst..

it happen to me before.. lucky the damage was insignificant.

so you can just imagine those heat that was build up under our weather..

for me, i just tint my car.. leave around 2 cm of opening on the windows.

it just help a little, better than nothing

thought of going jb to add those reflective tint, not sure if LTA acceptance