Future-Many Will Be Stuck With Overpriced Property

Gendut

It dawned on me a few months back on how rapid and surreal the rise is property prices are in Singapore.

Being an older citizen and someone who has undergone thru a few property cycles, I dread to look into my crystal ball.

But I shall not say what I see in the crytal ball but instead I shall lay down some pitfalls our younger generation may get into.

1) Why are the prices rising?

In the past, property rise wasn't as rapid as currently. If you think about it, past rises (before mid 80s) were very mild. Even back then the economy was doing well but prices didnt shoot thru the roof! There wasn't many FT importation. So the increase was mainly due to inflation, slowly growing number of citizens and HDB's supply of new units.

Currently, the biggest factor leading to escalation is the welcoming of FT. You gotta house an additional 1+ million, there is no way prices wont move.

2) Is the number of FT import increasing?

The ans is YES!. As long as we hit double digit growth. But the moment those numbers drop.....watch out! Because we are soplugged into the worlds economy that any little tremor in any market, we will get hit. China, India, Euro, US, SEA....any one of these can potentially devastate us.

But the rise in FT number can also not be sustainable. Imaging importing until 10million resisdents? Our physical constarints can never be removed. But what will happen when we hit the limit.....say 6million then stop importing? What happens to property values?

They will stagnate or slide just like the early 80s. Then what happens to our younger citizens who bought at inflated prices? They have tied up all their income into just paying the mortgage of 40+years. Once an inflation peak comes, interest rates bumps to 9% ( as it has happen previously) many will be unable to pay their interest, let alone the principal. Many will lose their roofs over their heads. Or if they lose their jobs. Or if theyre retrenched. Or if the get hit will long term illness.

Then those who are just able to barely escape all these will find their CPF nestegg empty. All of which have been used up in paying interests. They will have nothing for retirement. The govt will then cajole them to rent, sell or give it to insurance co, just so they can have something to eat.

3) Conclusion? In the future there will be many an FT going back. They will liquidate, esp during a recession. I advise citizens to pay off their mortgage asap of take the least amount of loans possible. Save those bullets for a rainy day. Save it to buy back those property being sold cheap by the returning FTs. Take back your country. When the upturn comes, rent it back at ridiculous $$$.

anyw dun underestimate the lure of singapore in the eyes of the FT wannabes...yes 1million may go but easily another few million willing to take their place....

restart the system sounds good.. [wave]

Philiphines rebooted after Marcos. Indonesia rebooted after Suharto. Beware of what you wish for. -_-

I advise citizens to pay off their mortgage asap of take the least amount of loans possible. Save those bullets for a rainy day. Save it to buy back those property being sold cheap by the returning FTs. Take back your country. When the upturn comes, rent it back at ridiculous $$$.

Can the ppl nowadays so easily pay off their mortgage? Can they easily save those bullets now? These two are contradiction. Most of the ppl even have a difficulties to save bullets, not to mention to pay off their mortgage.

Whatever Appreciation you get for your HDB flat will be a fraction of the debt your children has to bear.

Unless you are one of the millionaires in Spore.

Philiphines rebooted after Marcos. Indonesia rebooted after Suharto. Beware of what you wish for. -_-

Singapore cleaned after a few Floods ?

Restart the system...

vote out those pigs...

get at least 2/3 opposition in to transparent them...

Don't see this happening anytime soon...

I agree with your thoughts. However, the young who have just started out in the work force has not much choice. For those without even a hdb flat, they are suckered in with high price.

For those who are able, they should think about getting a job elsewhere out of this country and make a possible 2nd home. Bail out now. Perhaps they can even come back when the bubble burst catch up with this country.

When the housing price bubble burst, PM can say the same thing. You can't expect no floods, neither can you expect no property downturn.

Easy words to utter.

The fact that the population is still increasing towards 6 million, so the property market will still rise.

Want to make money, best to do it before the 6million is reached.

Once its reached, maybe by 2015, the plateau of demand will be reached. The housing will then be sustained by the newborn population. We can argue that a huge base of 6millions will also have more % of babies each year to sustain the demand for properties.

I still think that if I had money, I would buy a private property NOW, and let go for profit when the gov announced the 6milliong figure is reached!

Make some money now while the population is still growing.

I agree with your thoughts. However, the young who have just started out in the work force has not much choice. For those without even a hdb flat, they are suckered in with high price.

For those who are able, they should think about getting a job elsewhere out of this country and make a possible 2nd home. Bail out now. Perhaps they can even come back when the bubble burst catch up with this country.

Japan, especially the urban areas will be a good guide on what is going to happen in the near future.

Singapore cleaned after a few Floods ?

The floods are still on-going.

Edited by Yuan

The floods are still on-going.

strange, right? We have not had such floods for many years. Ever since the Bt Timah drains were done.

Something we screwed up or its just the monsoon this year especially heavy?

The fact that the population is still increasing towards 6 million, so the property market will still rise.

Want to make money, best to do it before the 6million is reached.

Once its reached, maybe by 2015, the plateau of demand will be reached. The housing will then be sustained by the newborn population. We can argue that a huge base of 6millions will also have more % of babies each year to sustain the demand for properties.

I still think that if I had money, I would buy a private property NOW, and let go for profit when the gov announced the 6milliong figure is reached!

Make some money now while the population is still growing.

Simon,

This is exactly the million $ question for 80% of Singaporeans : IF