Which insurance is the cheapest and is more detail?

Lamemonster

Very chim. is it something like a GPS device?

dont know what it looks like, but it would imagine it to be small and has the functions of a smart phone.

1. it will need an Accelerometer

2. it will need a GPS

3. it will need to be able to send and receive phone signals so it should contain something like a sim card.

4. it will need to be connected to a constant power source, in this case, i think it would be close to the car battery.

MSIG will install a telematic device in your car hor.

yeah. will need to go to IDAC centres to have the device installed. the process itself should take about 30mins.

Thinking of getting onto the MSIG Umax Plan.

Does anyone have prior experience with them?

with MSIG, yes. with the Umax Plan, no.

May I ask why are you considering the Umax Plan?

My understanding that it behavioural based, and you will need to install a device (which is free, can be done at IDAC centres and will take about 30mins)

My opinion is that it favours new and young drivers cos this group tend to be penalised due to their bad claim ratios. However, not all new and young drivers drive recklessly or are heavy footed.

PM if I am vague or you would like to find out more.

Yes, “own workshop” option means you have to pay higher premium and excess. But if you choose to go to their panel of authorised workshop, you do not have to pay the premium.

For most insurers, their panel workshop are general repair shop that serve all makes and models. For AXA & TM, VAG Singapore (specialised in Audi & VW) is under their panel workshop that aim to serve Audi & VW owners like me (I was told and was sold immediately). So no additional premium or excess. As the matter of fact, the premium was cheaper than MSIG that I was with previously.

That’s the difference between “own workshop” option and “panel workshop” option. Problem is, I only see this scheme for Audi & VW owners, hope they will look into getting more specialised workshop for other makes in their panel to benefit other more popular Conti car (Beemers & Merc) owners as well.

ask u guys ah.

if i sign on as "Authorised workshop", i know i can only go to the insurer panel of workshop if i hit someone.

but what if i am not at fault, and i kanna hit by someone, then i am claiming on their insurance, can I file for claims to any workshop that is not in the insurance panel?

ask u guys ah.

if i sign on as "Authorised workshop", i know i can only go to the insurer panel of workshop if i hit someone.

but what if i am not at fault, and i kanna hit by someone, then i am claiming on their insurance, can I file for claims to any workshop that is not in the insurance panel?

If claiming third party's insurance, any workshop will do. Many will want to do the repairs for you haha.

thats what i thought. my friend sent me an article on motor insurance and said got previous case where the claims denied coz the guy went to his workshop to claim on others.

but his insurer deny to payout. wtf.

Clutched

A noob question. Why don't send back to AD workshop to fix ? Insurance company don't cover ?

thats what i thought. my friend sent me an article on motor insurance and said got previous case where the claims denied coz the guy went to his workshop to claim on others.

but his insurer deny to payout. wtf.

Funny, claim against other and his own insurers deny payout?

What has it got to do with his own insurers? 

Claiming against 3rd party is staright forward, unless he lost the 3rd oarty claim and wanna revert to OD aka Own Damage, this way its not possible.

* Note:

Claiming OD first can also claim 3rd party concurrent, but outright 3rd party claim cannot revert to OD.

Funny, claim against other and his own insurers deny payout?

What has it got to do with his own insurers? 

Claiming against 3rd party is staright forward, unless he lost the 3rd oarty claim and wanna revert to OD aka Own Damage, this way its not possible.

* Note:

Claiming OD first can also claim 3rd party concurrent, but outright 3rd party claim cannot revert to OD.

the own insurer happens to the be the other party.

then they say he is supposed to be APPOINTED WORKSHOP even if claim against other pple. my friend sent me this earlier, he said it was in the strait times earlier, and the insurer is NTUC Income (sorry if there are income agents here). he noticed coz he was a car rental firm and they also kancheong spider.

car insurance for difference appointed and any workshop.

i dunno how to paste the url that will jump to that section ,its under "what if i claim on another party"

they didn't name the insurer lah (maybe coz they don't want to be sued) but it was in straits times and the insurer was ntuc income.

* Note:

OD is Own... Damage?

Is it like you parking hit a tree or a lamp post then u claim on damages on your own car?

so its on your own policy right?

the own insurer happens to the be the other party.

then they say he is supposed to be APPOINTED WORKSHOP even if claim against other pple. my friend sent me this earlier, he said it was in the strait times earlier, and the insurer is NTUC Income (sorry if there are income agents here). he noticed coz he was a car rental firm and they also kancheong spider.

car insurance for difference appointed and any workshop.

i dunno how to paste the url that will jump to that section ,its under "what if i claim on another party"

they didn't name the insurer lah (maybe coz they don't want to be sued) but it was in straits times and the insurer was ntuc income.

As far as i know, 3rd party claims doesnt have APPOINTED WORKSHOPS policy, OD yes and must be authorized workshop the can do.

Seriously i never encounter such incidents before, i done alot alot of claims before and never heard 3rd party has authorized workshop.

Income VS Income, always have problem, that said, they probably have the biggest share of motor insurance in Singapore.

Anyway for this write up, its not substantiated, its merely a page for SEO purpose. 

OD is Own... Damage?

Is it like you parking hit a tree or a lamp post then u claim on damages on your own car?

so its on your own policy right?

Yes, thats right. If damage is too high for paying outright then u can use ur insurance and pay excess.

Edited by cmcex

As far as i know, 3rd party claims doesnt have APPOINTED WORKSHOPS policy, OD yes and must be authorized workshop the can do.

Seriously i never encounter such incidents before, i done alot alot of claims before and never heard 3rd party has authorized workshop.

Income VS Income, always have problem, that said, they probably have the biggest share of motor insurance in Singapore.

Yes, thats right. If damage is too high for paying outright then u can use ur insurance and pay excess.

yeah man. better pray don't have this stupid income vs income issue later.

aww OD. okok i did have a small accident before in a car park (forgot there is a kerb in front of my parked car) will be aware of this OD claim in the future.

thanks cmcex!

Anyway for this write up, its not substantiated, its merely a page for SEO purpose. 

income vs income. get screwed. this was what happened to me. so no more income whatsoever forever.

Edited by Mkl22