MM Proposes no retirement age

Cootie-Monster

I hope he is joking. Otherwise I am gonna weep like the first guy who bought Starcraft. Do you find his comments about intellectual class disturbing? Seems to be implying FTs are here to be your manager.

There should be no retirement age: MM Lee

SINGAPORE: Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said that there should be no retirement age for workers.

He made the point at a dialogue session with over 900 senior managers, government officials and unionists on Wednesday.

The session was held in conjunction with the 30th anniversary of the Singapore National Employers Federation (SNEF).

Minister Mentor Lee got the audience in stitches when he made the bold suggestion

well, for those who enjoy working and with their colleagues, i think this is the way to go.

for me, i prefer to have more freedom.

I like the idea of no retirement.

Unlike in Japan or a lot of other countries, retirement means the company pays you a big lump sum of money for our retirement.

In Singapore, it will be just a handshake and a goodbye with no additional benefits, so why go for retirement and then worry about money then?

I like the idea where we determine when we retire and not dictate by the government.

But pls don't hold our CPF money till we die because we don't retire.

No retirement is good? It all depends...

If you have a cushy job, come to work just a few hours each day, just sit there and give advice/directions, and get paid a lot (all sounds familiar??) - sure, I also like to work until past retirement [rolleyes]

But tell that (no retirement age) to those slaving away at menial, low income jobs - and further tell them that oh, because you're older and slower, we'll pay you less - I don't think they'll be so receptive.

While what he says is true, that you need to remain active in your old age, else you deteriorate very quickly - this activity need not necessarily be working (and at reduced income - which is an insult). It could be an engaging hobby, network with peers, etc. etc.

I don't know if he ever feels a little self-conscious saying that older workers should get used to accepting lower income and younger bosses. And yet we still see a lot of old, old CEOs that hang on to their jobs, and in bad times, even retrench lower workers of around their own age. Different rules for different folks, I guess...

Edited by Sosaria

provided there are jobs for the old... expect every old folk to work in food court?

u ever seen a young undertaker?? [laugh] [laugh]

or those play band....see young ones?? <_<

Do companies still hire ppl of 62yo or more? Or are they left with the option of becoming cab drivers or become some cleaner? Or maybe sell tissue paper at hawker centers? So what if we are better educated? We still face age discrimination.

Some ppl just dun see the problems we are already facing now.

Later somebody will say since no retirement age........CPF monies YOU die than can take. [crazy]

Ho say.......easy money!!! Can have another few billions for Toad-ma-sake to lose. [shakehead]

He is talking more & more like the other M up north. Talking nonsense more & more. [hur]

This is a prelude to holding onto your CPF until you "retire" or until you die whichever comes later.

8 out of 10 workers in foodcourt are PRC now.

you only have 2 seats left .... and they might be gone soon

not to mention you still have to compete with young FT who will accept lower salary and long working hours .... then you are less competitive liao

unless there is a regulation that certain jobs, the company must hire enough old local to support the quota for FT

provided there are jobs for the old... expect every old folk to work in food court?

well, for those who enjoy working and with their colleagues, i think this is the way to go.

for me, i prefer to have more freedom.

I personally don't mind doing a consultancy kind of job in my "retirement" (oopppss... what's that??) years. At least when you take orders and go the extra mile, it is for your own profits. FREEDOM (and dignity) are most important, right!

Edited by Sosaria

You know what my neighbour was telling my mother? (they are PRC turn Citizen.)

"why is your husband still working? in china, when our children get marriaged and have children we will retire and look after their children for them."

we are worse than China.

This is a prelude to holding onto your CPF until you "retire" or until you die whichever comes later.

Yeah... no retirement may eventually mean that your CPF (intended to be YOUR money accessible upon retirement) - will no longer be accessible, except to your next-of-kin (You never retired, so how to claim the money?? :D)

Actually I prefer to work instead of retiring. Retirement will be the death of me unless I find something I really like doing. I am not much into gardening or line dancing. Do you sometimes take leave and have nothing to do? Its very boring! Ok I am not a workholic and my work is managable. Working gives people a sense of purpose and maybe looking forward to receiving a pay cheque keeps people living longer. Look at that Tiwary, once retired he dies within a couple years. Receiving that Meritous Medal of distinction is that pinnacle of his existance...then its all downhill from there. What else can he look forward to....except the ultimate equaliser...the Grand Reaper of Life....DEATH.

Edited by Zanter

Yeah... no retirement may eventually mean that your CPF (intended to be YOUR money accessible upon retirement) - will no longer be accessible, except to your next-of-kin (You never retired, so how to claim the money?? :D )

expect to see sharp rise in Houses in the far future. since that cannot take CPF, no point keep all the money hence everyone spend on Housing liao.

Our thoughts are the same on this issue. [thumbsup]

Then knowing our gahmen, , there will be changes to CPF collection date as well if such a proposal is implemented.