Security Guard Taking Photos??

Fishman

Just now, at about 7:45 pm at the the small road outside Parkview Suites parallel to Rochor Road, a man in security guard uniform, which I guess should be that of Parkview Suites, took a photo of my car when I was waiting for my wife. After that, he walked away quickly towards other cars around the bend. I was thinking what the heck did he do it? Is he some kind of vigilante TP or what?

Yes, it is a double yellow line, but there was absolutely no problem of traffic obstruction. Ahead of me, there were two other cars PARKED there with no driver in sight!

Just now, at about 7:45 pm at the the small road outside Parkview Suites parallel to Rochor Road, a man in security guard uniform, which I guess should be that of Parkview Suites, took a photo of my car when I was waiting for my wife. After that, he walked away quickly towards other cars around the bend. I was thinking what the heck did he do it? Is he some kind of vigilante TP or what?

Yes, it is a double yellow line, but there was absolutely no problem of traffic obstruction. Ahead of me, there were two other cars PARKED there with no driver in sight!

You said it yourself. Instead of complaining here, you might as well confront him on the spot. He wants to be vigilante TP, that's his problem. Maybe he was instructed by his condo mgt to do so, as many cars might have done the same in front of the condo, thinking there is no problem of traffic obstruction, but got farked by the residents for not taking action as it might have inconvenienced them in a way or another.

any private premises guard can lodge a report against any vehicle owner parking illegally and submit to TP for enforcement action. Normally they will take photos as evidence to prevent any allegations or dispute. I have seen these actions few times already. Very common at the small road beside bras basah

Edited by Dafansu

I might agree if one simply parked there and go away. But I was there, and his photo should show that. Is it illegal to wait at a double yellow line? I should think not...

actually when you go for basic driving you should have been told what's the definition of park. Let me re-paste this again. Under Road traffic act.

"park" means to bring a motor vehicle or a trailer to a stationary position and cause it to wait for any purpose other than that of immediately taking up or setting down persons, goods or luggage;

and

"double yellow lines" mean no parking at all times.

By stopping your vehicle and waiting for somebody you have committed an offence of illegal parking no matter if there's anybody inside.

So long as a car stopped for reasons other than dropping off/picking up pple immediately or due to traffic conditions, it's considered parking. Doesn't matter if anyone in the car or not - can only use to mitigate in the offence.

Are you sure not illegal to wait at double yellow lines? Even if this practice is prevalent in S'pore, doesn't mean it's right. I always encounter such farkers in those 2 lane road, and by waiting along the double yellow lines, they effectively take away one lane for road users. So, you tell me are these people inconsiderate or not? Technically they did not obstruct traffic too, like your case.

anybody can take photographs (at least 2) of any road offence and submit it to TP for investigation including issuance of summon.

I remember that there is a prescribed form to be completed for submission to TP.

good luck to the TS.

So long as a car stopped for reasons other than dropping off/picking up pple immediately or due to traffic conditions, it's considered parking. Doesn't matter if anyone in the car or not - can only use to mitigate in the offence.

I see. Thanks for the reminder.

At any time then, there will be at least 1000 people committing this parking offence, more during just before school dismissal...

Just as there are at least 10,000 people committing speeding offence ...driving at > 50 km/h on normal roads and > 90 km/h for expressways.

Can anyone of you say for certain you have NEVER done one of the above? Please lah.

whatever it is TS, just suay lor.....simple as that.....dun complain complain....however, u can try talking to your MP.....since it's the time already....they will definitely be more helpful.....

just dun say the word 'burn' [:p]

I see. Thanks for the reminder.

At any time then, there will be at least 1000 people committing this parking offence, more during just before school dismissal...

Just as there are at least 10,000 people committing speeding offence ...driving at > 50 km/h on normal roads and > 90 km/h for expressways.

Can anyone of you say for certain you have NEVER done one of the above? Please lah.

You have to understand that certain situations, TP will close one eye, eg. school dismissal, Friday mosque prayers, etc. And motorists are usually quite understanding in those situations too. But if you're one of the 2-3 cars that obstruct traffic? Man, if you're caught or reported, then just be prepared to be penalized and move on. No pt whining. Nobody is an angel, myself included. And I admit that I have done certain illegal traffic offences too. But the difference is that I get caught, I paid up. Are you?