F1 road closure

Picanto

Building a circuit here is going to be a waste of $ cos it will likely be a white elephant between races unless they can sign up a motorsports club or members to hire the track for race enthusiasts to bring their rides to use the track regularly in a legal way but even if they manage to do this, I don't think it will be sustainable. Even if it gets fully utilised on weekends n Public Holidays, I don't think the rentals will cover the costs.

Look at Beijing's Bird' Nest Stadium which was used for the Olympics but it's not been utilised much since then n the costs of its upkeep is much more than whatever revenue it can bring in n the stadium is showing signs of direlict which is a shame. So be careful what u wish for, the street circuit we now have is a compromise which puts us on the tourism map n at the same time shows to the world that we are capable of hosting n attracting a world class sports event

• Praise 13

Building a circuit here is going to be a waste of $ cos it will likely be a white elephant between races unless they can sign up a motorsports club or members to hire the track for race enthusiasts to bring their rides to use the track regularly in a legal way but even if they manage to do this, I don't think it will be sustainable. Even if it gets fully utilised on weekends n Public Holidays, I don't think the rentals will cover the costs.

Look at Beijing's Bird' Nest Stadium which was used for the Olympics but it's not been utilised much since then n the costs of its upkeep is much more than whatever revenue it can bring in n the stadium is showing signs of direlict which is a shame. So be careful what u wish for, the street circuit we now have is a compromise which puts us on the tourism map n at the same time shows to the world that we are capable of hosting n attracting a world class sports event

the F1 put us on the tourist map is very lame lah. how many F1 tourists or rather if you are non F1 fans, would you even care about their news? simple, how many can tell last race was where or watch? I cant and couldnt bother. 

which map and do people read newspaper that much now? I read daily but I pick and choose the news. even for sports, i skip many. 

and i heard extended 4 years despite all these noises

If the track is good enough , dun think it will be a white elephant as what you stated ... 

You would be surprised by how difficult it is to book the track for Sepang , even on a weekday . 

Actually there are many kinds of motor sports for this dedicated circuit to use, like A1, FIA F4, F3, F2, Formula E, Le Mans, Gran Touring, GT Asia, Motor GP, and the calendar can be filled up with these events. It also creates more jobs and more income to the country.

Plus race enthusiasts in Singapore bringing the rides to use the track without going to Sepang. Maybe even Malaysians may come here and race their rides. Also, go karting events for families in the weekends. I think it is better to build a dedicated racetrack in Changi, which is near the airport too. Even if Changi is not a good choice, maybe build it within the Gardens of the Bay. At least there are still city landscape in the background, and we can promote a new way of racing, "Racing by the Garden City". Why not?

Better than the current street racing which cause so much convenience to so many people and retailers around Suntec City, although I am not really bothered by it, even if I am working there.

And this dedicated track may be a new location for MCF meetups and meet our rides. And probably a new location for my diecast group meetup as well. 

another 4 years ... huat ah !!!

F1 extended.

Can shut down the damned casinos in exchange?

the F1 put us on the tourist map is very lame lah. how many F1 tourists or rather if you are non F1 fans, would you even care about their news? simple, how many can tell last race was where or watch? I cant and couldnt bother. 

which map and do people read newspaper that much now? I read daily but I pick and choose the news. even for sports, i skip many. 

and i heard extended 4 years despite all these noises

You wrong man. I have colleagues from South Africa, Portugal and UK are not really F1 fans but they purposely go buy tickets to attend F1. They told me they going there to take lots of photos and post on their social media with a tag "wish u were here!!!". The ppl in their home town never seen a night race before. Many of them are excited and would like to come to SG to visit.

Even my Myanmar colleague. Always so cool and not bothered abt such stuff. Seeing the cars running on the track and all the vroom vroom, the view from my office building, he is also so excited. He say he will never see such thing in his home country!!!

Go check with the tourists.

You wrong man. I have colleagues from South Africa, Portugal and UK are not really F1 fans but they purposely go buy tickets to attend F1. They told me they going there to take lots of photos and post on their social media with a tag "wish u were here!!!". The ppl in their home town never seen a night race before. Many of them are excited and would like to come to SG to visit.

Even my Myanmar colleague. Always so cool and not bothered abt such stuff. Seeing the cars running on the track and all the vroom vroom, the view from my office building, he is also so excited. He say he will never see such thing in his home country!!!

That is the point my friend. If you ask those attending or have work in relation to this event, then the answer is very obvious. For example the companies that help set up the barricades and lighting, would the boss says it is a bad idea?

I am referring the majority masses like me. If they interview all the shops and offices, you will get a very clear answer. Hotels get 95% occupancy, without event they get zero? So that 25% gain during the 3 days cannot be achieve with any other events that don't affect others? This decision to extend is made by and who are the council members? Are they involved in the event one way or another? STPB is struggling to bring in events and their KPI. So, extension is 1 KPI solved?

$150 million is for organising and direct costs but when come to projected income, just add from the sky. :a-noway:

I think it's good to have F1 in Singapore as it's quite unique compared to other countries. I mean I don't even follow F1 but the activities and events surrounding it sure brings livelier atmosphere.

Imagine without F1 in our calendar, it's just another lousy weekend in Singapore - go movies, go shopping, what else??

I agree with you and let's put it this way, our calculative govt not stupid to foot 60% of the annual fee if there are no returns! Nothing political on this, just factual!!

I wish I have a share in the companies with contracts to prepare the roads, lightings, barricades, shelters leading up to the event.

Not to mention the cleaning company for the duration and after the event.

That is the point my friend. If you ask those attending or have work in relation to this event, then the answer is very obvious. For example the companies that help set up the barricades and lighting, would the boss says it is a bad idea?

I am referring the majority masses like me. If they interview all the shops and offices, you will get a very clear answer. Hotels get 95% occupancy, without event they get zero? So that 25% gain during the 3 days cannot be achieve with any other events that don't affect others? This decision to extend is made by and who are the council members? Are they involved in the event one way or another? STPB is struggling to bring in events and their KPI. So, extension is 1 KPI solved?

$150 million is for organising and direct costs but when come to projected income, just add from the sky. :a-noway:

I think it's good to have F1 in Singapore as it's quite unique compared to other countries. I mean I don't even follow F1 but the activities and events surrounding it sure brings livelier atmosphere.

Imagine without F1 in our calendar, it's just another lousy weekend in Singapore - go movies, go shopping, what else??

Where do u work? Location I mean

just try walking around those high fencing and screens. the whole damn place I also dont know how to describe. we turn our 362 days daily life upside-down just for 3 days and catering for a few jokers. 

the critical point is a purpose built race circuit at one corner does not work. look at Sepang!

spore F1 race is a lifestyle event ... not racing

there is already a karting in Kranji ... most of the time ghostown and weekend and school holiday less than 70% use

uniquely singapore

F1 lightning fast + SMRT lau kuey slow

it's fire and ice experience for tourist ... sibei song ah [laugh]