Volvo Servicing

Gregwoon

hi angshng

u may want to consider SM authorised dealer (or could be resale division of SM). my friend just got his s60 fr such dealer and the car went thru SM's checks.

i don't think insurance for wowos are high. u can check ard in volvo forum. i just renewed my insurance <$900 (incl ncb protector, 55% ncb) for my 4 yr old s60. a no. of volvo owners got their insurance thru this agent. if u wan to get a quote for ref, pm me.

Wearnes motor already started selling their own car insurance (i think tie-up with AHA)

u may want to contact them directly for the pricing. wowo insurance cheap la.

(Oppss...they think only auntie/unker drive the machine)

if u get your re-sale car from dealers, u may want to go to wowo service centre and ask them for a full inspection.

cost less than S$200 (peace of mind). They will list out the itemise parts that u need to replace and the cost.

if u want cheaper servicing cost, buy yr own parts from swedishautoparts or from the guy called "Danny""

Edited by Mcf777

Hi Gregwoon

Thanks for your info. I am still looking and wanted to buy from a direct owner instead as i have heard a lot of stories about dealer.any idea how much is the warranty?I am not sure what is below market price as this is the first time i am getting a used car. Did you buy yours from a dealer? Mind sharing what are the things you research on before you commit to this particular one?like the depreciation, paper value, facelift etc?Mind sharing how much you paid for it?

I do not frequent Malaysia and as such can only look at local alternatives leh.

based on your $120 a tank and max 400km, it mean $0.3 per km or abt 6km per litre? Is yr more highway than urban driving or mixture?Heard from other forum it is 6.5-7 but it looks like yours is lower.

Hmm btw is your insurance $4k as it is turbo charged and more expensive?I am looking for sunroof model but it seems to be very limited.

Thanks thanks =)

I think he always cheong la... lol [laugh] because the turbo quite responsive.

My wife one is also about $120 a tank with 95/98... but max is 500km, ave about 460km... Typical S'pore rd 50/50 city/expressway.

Ins is 2.2k with 0% NCD from AIG... :D

Edited by Ncss

That is a very good point you made. Our cars are dangerous weapons in a way, and hence the need to ensure they remain safe in our hands. My wife has had a the V70 - old model for almost 5 years and then the new model for over 3 years. Warranty for 3 years is good and Volvo Singapore reminds you of the run out date so that you get a last service and they do try to replace anything they should before the run out date in my experience. For the last 8 years, so far for maintenance I have spent only $800.00+ total on my previous volvo and none so far for my existing. ( of course excluding tyres and battery ) SM - now called Wearnes Automotive - gives the best service - even better than Lexus. I think Volvo parts are not as expensive as BMW or Audi, but they are not cheap and so far, in my experience, they know what they are doing and will ensure problems are resolved satisfactorily. Fortunately I have never had any with my Volvos!

$800++ for servicing and parts replacement for all your volvos in the past 8 years. That's honestly very cheap. Is it because under warrant?

I'm actually looking at a v50. Anyone here got experience with a v50. I also prefer to send my car to AD for peace of mind.

Thanks.

Most dealers I've been to are very sticky with the price. My experience is u must be prepared to pay almost the price they ask for in the ad, most will not come down much.

I learnt abt this warranty frm a direct owner selling his car. Apparently u can buy the warranty frm Khang after an inspection. No idea abt the price though.

If u monitor the market for XC 90s over a few weeks, u will get a better feel of the market price and will know when u see a good deal. Mine was just before the 5 yr mark, had 110,000 km and asking price was $69,800. Market price for similar age/mileage was $79,000. I didn't even bother to bargain. Straight away put dwn deposit. I figured there is still the STA inspection, if fail can get the deposit bk. And if things breakdown, I have the $10k savings budgeted fo that.

Thanks everyone

to mcf777

I also thought insurance shld be in the range of 2-3k max but was told i am young(27) and that it is turbo charged

I really dun know how is the premium derived?DOes the age/coverage amt matterS?if old car then covered amt shld be lower right?

I went to trade assist and they say can send to do inspection but not to volvo. It is STA if i am not wrong. NOt sure if it is reliable as they dun specialize in volvo cars. and it also dun have full servicing records previously

to ncss

may i know how old is your xc90?does it have maintenance problems?How is it different from the latest xc90?Tried the new one but not sure what is the diff as i never driven the older one before.. average 460km so shld be closer to 7km/litre?hmm quite a drinker... :D Selling it anytime soon? Insurance is cheap leh.maybe i shld get more quotes

to gregwoon

I was surprised that the price is nett, even for those selling under trade assist.

As for the warranty, it is by a normal workshop?is it reliable?do they specialise in volvo?

i only started monitoring for abt a week..but i am skeptical abt buying from dealer leh coz dunno what they can do to the car.As they are middleman, price wise, i feel definitely will be higher than those from direct owner

For your one, it is defintely a good buy, low depreciation. Now the only one i saw that is more than 6.5 years already asking 64k..

i believe buying second hand is better as we only pay when it break down.EVen new car also not problem free. At least second hand breakdown we still have buffer to pay for it/=) $245K is u mean now? i test drive last wed and it is abt 220k

Depreciation now lowest is still abt 10K + ,,haiz guessed have to wait for the perfect one

Thanks everyone for sharing!

Thanks everyone

to mcf777

I also thought insurance shld be in the range of 2-3k max but was told i am young(27) and that it is turbo charged

I really dun know how is the premium derived?DOes the age/coverage amt matterS?if old car then covered amt shld be lower right?

I went to trade assist and they say can send to do inspection but not to volvo. It is STA if i am not wrong. NOt sure if it is reliable as they dun specialize in volvo cars. and it also dun have full servicing records previously

to ncss

may i know how old is your xc90?does it have maintenance problems?How is it different from the latest xc90?Tried the new one but not sure what is the diff as i never driven the older one before.. average 460km so shld be closer to 7km/litre?hmm quite a drinker... :D Selling it anytime soon? Insurance is cheap leh.maybe i shld get more quotes

to gregwoon

I was surprised that the price is nett, even for those selling under trade assist.

As for the warranty, it is by a normal workshop?is it reliable?do they specialise in volvo?

i only started monitoring for abt a week..but i am skeptical abt buying from dealer leh coz dunno what they can do to the car.As they are middleman, price wise, i feel definitely will be higher than those from direct owner

For your one, it is defintely a good buy, low depreciation. Now the only one i saw that is more than 6.5 years already asking 64k..

i believe buying second hand is better as we only pay when it break down.EVen new car also not problem free. At least second hand breakdown we still have buffer to pay for it/=) $245K is u mean now? i test drive last wed and it is abt 220k

Depreciation now lowest is still abt 10K + ,,haiz guessed have to wait for the perfect one

Thanks everyone for sharing!

please lar............there is no perfect 2nd hand car.

Actually VW servicing and repair not ex. Last time I go to Autospritzer.... But VGS is ex esp after warranty.

For Audi vs Volvo, I will get Audi since the parts are usually not expensive if u repair it outside. The VAG com is available almost for all models. For BM, I go to Boss.

Trade Assist is not a dealer - they do not buy the car off the seller and hold the car in their inventory. They only act as middlemen matching buyers and sellers and take a cut for

Admin and doing all the paperwork. As such, their prices are very much more decent than any other dealer. They do not have inventory costs and overheads. In fact, many dealers are complaining about Trade Assist as they cannot compete on price. I bought my car through Trade Assist.

Yes,

Anyone here tried Starblack services?

Was recommended by a friend on their packages, though it's not very clear if there are experienced in servicing volvos. Mentioned that they do continental cars, but mostly what I see on their site are BMWs and Mercs.

$800++ for servicing and parts replacement for all your volvos in the past 8 years. That's honestly very cheap. Is it because under warrant?

I'm actually looking at a v50. Anyone here got experience with a v50. I also prefer to send my car to AD for peace of mind.

Thanks.

I drv a V50, what're your questions?

Hi Bro out there, Just brought a 2nd S60 2.0T (2007) about 6 months.... now my front 2 absorber sound something loose when fully steering left or right....:( any bro recommend workshop for checking and replacement ? any have experience to share ...

It's not uncommon (it's like cracking your knuckles lor, no harm done), as long as it is not the "cluck cluck" sound that is due to drive shaft/CV joint failure.

Can ask Dennis of TJ Auto (located at Jalan Bukit Merah, near Queensway) to advise.

Got a quote from SM to change Timing Belt in SGD1900.

Was quoted abt $800 for timing belt change. $600 for water pump (normally change together). Excluding labou charges.

That is a very good point you made. Our cars are dangerous weapons in a way, and hence the need to ensure they remain safe in our hands. My wife has had a the V70 - old model for almost 5 years and then the new model for over 3 years. Warranty for 3 years is good and Volvo Singapore reminds you of the run out date so that you get a last service and they do try to replace anything they should before the run out date in my experience. For the last 8 years, so far for maintenance I have spent only $800.00+ total on my previous volvo and none so far for my existing. ( of course excluding tyres and battery ) SM - now called Wearnes Automotive - gives the best service - even better than Lexus. I think Volvo parts are not as expensive as BMW or Audi, but they are not cheap and so far, in my experience, they know what they are doing and will ensure problems are resolved satisfactorily. Fortunately I have never had any with my Volvos!

$800 for combined 8 years ownership is very good!! 6 yrs out of 8yrs under full warranty?

$800 is more like more average of each time I send my car in.

[;)]

Dear All

I bought a 2009 pre-owned XC60 which came with 4 x free service package as a promotion by SM Motors.

However, when I sent in for servicing, SM claimed that this free service package is only offered to the 1st car owner.

I feel that they should still honour this since it was a deal which came with the car when they sold it.

To be fair, I would like to find out whether this policy is consistent for all 2nd-hand Volvo? In fact this is still being advertised by dealers in some of the used XC60 posts.

I would be grateful to anybody who is aware and can verify this.

Thank you!

@Wtwh

yes SM motor is correct. the free servicing applies only to the 1st owner. there is written agreement on this & is not transferrable to the next owner. i hv owned 2 wowos & they come wif the agreement.

when my friend bought his wowo from another friend with remaining FOC servicing, they made an arrangement so that my friend (who bought over the wowo) will bring in the car on 'behalf' of the (ex) owner.