Volvo Servicing

Gregwoon

i'm not sure what "normal depreciation" is anymore. our housing and automotive markets are so .. abnormal. i'm guessing you should just do the maths and check for consistency across the board.

Sorry for digging this thread up. I just happened to knock a side mirror of a 2008 volvo s60. Decided to do private settlement. Does any bro know the cost to replace the side mirror and patch a long scratch on the body at Wearnes Auto (Volvo Authorised Dealer)? The owner insists to go back to AD workshop. Thanks

Going back to Tor Kor sure kena [knife][knife][knife] . Sure will be more than the extra insurance premium that you have to pay if the other side claim against your insurer. And Wearnes also subs it out to outside workshop anyway, my personal experience confirms their painting was shitty with rust spots (on supposedly NEW doors) appearing within a year. Nothing like that from my regular workshop.

Outside workshop charges about $150 per panel for respray (maybe even cheaper), and just buy a new mirror from website like:

http://www.volvopartswebstore.com/showAssembly.aspx?ukey_assembly=235191&ukey_make=865&ukey_model=12009&modelYear=2008&ukey_category=7878&ukey_driveLine=453&ukey_trimLevel=24659

or UK website that can have the goods arriving within 3 days. Wearnes will be at least double if not triple in price for the same part. If urgent try checking with Unico in Sin Ming for the price of the parts.

Try to negotiate with the other party and perhaps compensate some cash to sweeten the deal. No point paying more for shitty repairs just because it is called "authorised".

PS - You probably can buy an entire scrap S60 for 500 dollars and give one extra mirror (and other parts) to the other driver and still cheaper than buying one mirror from Tor Kor!

It's not damage to the engine or gearbox. It's just the exterior. Parts like mirror and holder can get from distributor. Just let the outside paint workshop to settle everything. Why go thru a third person? Somemore AD. The car no longer new lah. Dun waste money lah. Tell the other party no point.

I don't think Wearnes would knock panels but wld simply replace it with new door. Expect high $k given the amount of steel that goes into a Volvo door.

Did your insurance advise you if it's a clear cut case 100% liability to you ? If not you can tell the other party that it may be 50-50 or each bear cost. Now, he still want to take the big risk to his insurance premium and go back to Wearnes?

Volvobrick is right.

considering that your volvo is 2008 (which is abt 6 yrs old) you can get the parts online at a much cheaper price. spray paint job outside is <$200.

my S60 is 2006, and i usu get the parts from either Unico (about same price as Wearnes) or online. I only go back to Wearnes for electronic or non-mechanical issues.

just an eg : wearnes price for MAF sensor is 700++ excl labour. e-bay third party + shipping is $70+. and i changed my MAF sensor from wearnes twice! then found out ebay is so much cheaper. haiz.

i suspect when they read that there is error code on sensor, they just change.... haiz.haiz.

Yoz Bro...,

the cost of side mirror selling at Wearnes is about 800++ to 1K.... (one side only). (depend if the side mirror have the auto dim function)

If a normal small dent, Wearnes have a service to "undent" it, but also depend dent size and shape. Normal cost for undent is about 25 or 30...

Thanks all bros for your comments. This is my first time ever. I'm going to the workshop today with the owner. I'll check the price first and discuss further if we should go to outside workshop :(

Hi Everyone,

For 2008 - 2011 Volvo S60.

i have the following which i ordered wrongly and looking to sell.

1. Front replacement rotor. 300mm Brembo Brake Rotors. New & Unused. Bought at $380. Willing to let go at $290.

2. Front replacement brake pads. Akebono EUR1306. New & Unused. Bought at $90. Willing to let go at $60.

Would prefer to sell as a set at $300.

Image can view at https://www.dropbox.com/s/30us51v9rr...ebono.JPG?dl=0

These would be perfect if you are going into your 60k or 120k servicing. Stock brake pads are on average $130 & rotors at least $450. so thats quite a lot of savings, not mentioning the better performance.

This setup is for the Volvo S60 T5, but would fit all 2008 - 2011 S60 variants as long as your rims can clear 300mm of rotors, normally thats 18" rims and above to be safe.

Pls contact me at 8333 33-four-five if you are interested or if you need to check if it fits your ride.

Thank you. yes.gif

Daniel

Was wondering how much it might cost to replacr a volvo s80 compressor. Car is 2007 made.

Aircon not as cold as b4. Very warm for a few mins or during idling after engine start.

Went to a workshop checl. The mechanic says compressor kaputing liao

Was wondering how much it might cost to replacr a volvo s80 compressor. Car is 2007 made.

Aircon not as cold as b4. Very warm for a few mins or during idling after engine start.

How much to do it at Wearnes? Expensive, over $1k at least. Do outside cheaper.

Can try mark kool in woodlands industrial park and make an appointment with Ah Huat. I go to him for my car aircon repair and servicing

Hope my reply does not come too late.

Try Propel Auto Parts at 28 Kranji Rd. Tel: 63681686.

They are a scrapyard specialising in Volvo.

Hi 

I have a Volvo s60 year 2008 and have problem with "Reduced Engine Performance"indicator  lighted up and the car engine stall a number of times.

The car dealer indicated some throttle problem and need to replace the part and it cost  S$2800.00

Any person face the same problem?

Where can I get the second hand part as this car is going to scrap in one year +.

Thanks.

Calvary

Hi 

I have a Volvo s60 year 2008 and have problem with "Reduced Engine Performance"indicator  lighted up and the car engine stall a number of times.

The car dealer indicated some throttle problem and need to replace the part and it cost  S$2800.00

Any person face the same problem?

Where can I get the second hand part as this car is going to scrap in one year +.

Thanks.

Calvary

Curious, what is your mileage like?

Would suggest you to go to Volvo specialised shop like Kian Teong at Sin Ming or Gary Engineering at ubi for a separate diagnostic check and quo. I normally goes to them for my 2007 S60.